We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Nice Surprise..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Lolo Lorena

Lolo Lorena
Ranked #2 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$2
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Cash Only, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Lolo Lorena will not be taking reservations until December 2015 while she is recovering from surgery. we are very sorry for any inconvenience. Dinner in a private garden around a communal table. Chef Lolo creates a different menu each night. Please tell the chef of any special needs, dislikes or allergies when you reserve and she will accommodate you
Chicago, Il.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A Nice Surprise..”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

From the outside of this restaurant it doesn't look like much. But when you go there for dinner (reservations strongly recommended), it's quite a surprise. Lola prepares all the food herself with a little help and it's fabulous. You are seated in the back, an open air type patio, with other people. So, if you don't like to dine with others, this is not the place for you. We had a 6 course dinner and every bit of it was delicious. I heard some of the other men commenting on the small portions but that's fine dining. Each dish was satisfying for us as it was soooo good. I didn't give this 5 stars as it started to rain and being outside I got a little wet. I heard she's working on this. All in all it was a fabulous meal and a great dining experience.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Pinkie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

642 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    568
    33
    22
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukie, Oregon
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“An Isla must!”
Reviewed 28 June 2014

Lolo’s is an Isla dining experience. It is not just your average dinner on Isla Mujeres. This night we toasted and celebrated what would have been Lolo’s good friend’s 60th birthday. That tells me a lot about the kind of person Lolo is, caring and thoughtful.
Caring and thoughtful is also the way L0lo prepares her food and treats her guests. Tonight was no exception. Each dish was served with an eye pleasing presentation and delectable flavors.
Lolo’s is a must, whether you are celebrating a special occasion or just want to treat yourself.
Reservations are required and it is shared seating I have met some interesting people while dining at Lolo’s.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackieinpdx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Do NOT miss this treat!”
Reviewed 24 June 2014

We came via recommendation from a friend who visited a few years before. This is an on island experience not to be missed!

We truly enjoyed our dinner company, the portions were perfect and perfectly prepared. The staff was attentive and enjoyable, and the atmosphere was incredibly romantic and calming. You are served 5 courses, ours went Bruschetta, Gnocci, Soup, Salad, Dessert, and all were perfection. Bring your own wine or beverages or order from them for very reasonable prices, I think mojitos were $5.

Unfortunately, the chef was not feeling well that night, I would have loved to have her join us as I've read other reviews that spoke very highly of her company at the end of the meals.

REALLY. THIS SHOULD BE #1 ON TA's ISLA RESTAURANT REVIEWS. (Ahem, TAers...take note here on restaurant rankings...to be debated.)

Reservations strongly recommended, we went via facebook.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank KM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oklahoma City, OK
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfect in every way.”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Amazing, beautiful birthday experience! Myself, my husband, best friend and her husband ate at Lolo's on Friday night, June 6th to celebrate my 40th birthday and her 45th. It was an incredibly special evening and absolutely perfect. We loved the garden, the candle lit tables and the trees strung with lights. We brought a couple of bottles of wine with us (which is so awesome) and they opened and poured them for us. Dinner was truly one of the most memorable, best, and most delightful meals I, or any of us, had ever had. Thank you Lolo for making our birthdays special! I'll never forget and WILL be back!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Ashlie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yet Again, Another WOW Dinner with Lolo”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Dinner with Lolo is always a delight beyond words. Behind her bakery are her courtyard, home and pool. With reservations at 8 PM, which can be made on Facebook or by phone, you sit at a communal courtyard table and are served a prix-fixed 5-6 course, broadly ranged banquet. Each plate is cleaned bare by the diners. THAT good! Lolo explains each course; her ingredients and recipes are serious cuisine but wonderfully playful. I first tried her wonders in 1998 and she is still the artist-chef. Lolo herself is a friendly, unassuming, bright, stunning and creative professional who will most likely be your friend at dinner's end. BYOB but she has champagne and mojitos. Dinner @ Lolo's is a MUST while on Isla Mujeres.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Deadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lolo Lorena also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lolo Lorena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing