We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel El Caracol
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Kinich(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Xul-ha(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Hotel Marcianito(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Los Arcos Suites(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Isleno(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Osorio(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Hotel Las Palmas(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
1
4
3
3
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1
4
3
3
10
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2012

I put a few photos to show the state of my room at this hotel. As you see the place looks old and nott too clean. The sheets were clean though and there was a cleaning lady who did a very quick cleaning every day. Very central location too.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2011

For starters this place was absolutely filthy. The floor hadn't been swept, or at least not very well at all. There was a cigarette butt in plain sight against one of the walls, and black dirt and large dust bunnies were everywhere. The bathroom absolutely reeked, and a quick inspection revealed why: There was mold EVERYWHERE. All over one wall, up on the ceiling, etc. When I pulled back the top sheet it was obvious from what I found that the sheets had not been changed since the last hotel guest was there.

More minor: Stated there was cable TV, but it isn't. There are 4 channels, and they barely function. There is a common area for cooking, but like the room it was disgusting. The hotel is next to a disco club or something, and the music gets very loud and goes until very early in the morning. They advertise they have Internet, but they don't (or didn't when we were there).

Staff were fairly unhelpful. When I didn't use them for our whale shark expedition, they were very pouty and cold for the rest of our stay.

With the plethora of other accommodations on the island, this should be your "only if desperate" choice, and even then you might consider trying to camp on the beach instead.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 1Dad1Kid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2011

Stayed here for 2 weeks (until my deposit ran out) in January. It definitely did not live up to its web site. The whole place (rooms, communal kitchen, and lounge areas) need a thorough cleaning and garbage pick-up. It was not at all quiet - next door a disco ran all night on the week-ends and the restaurant nearby played loud music until after midnight. Even ear plugs did not work. It was not a pleasant place to stay. It was closer to hostel accommodations rather than a hotel. The only good thing was the coffee shop (Aluxes) next door - great coffee!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank solotraveller2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I read very few about this hotel and wanted to have a try.
Very well located, you're in the middle of everything: The main tourist street is a few steps from the Caracol door. The owner looks a bit like Beatlejuice but he is very kind and gives a good welcome. The rooms are no very big, but we had enough space for 3 people (2 doble beds). It was a bit dark in the room, but it also means a bit fresher... so we kind of did with it. They tried to decorate the room... it is not that nice but at least they tried something ! ;-). Bathroom was clean but not really nice either, a bit old I bet.
Air conditioning is optional, but TV worked well.
Far enough for 1 night, for broken students : 150 pesos per person.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maxifrod2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews