We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a hotel - and great for families.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Color de Verano Village Apartments
Reviewed 4 February 2011

We always stayed at Rocamar for the fantastic view but we now have a 10 month old daughter so wanted a hotel with a separate bedroom and some kitchen facilities. We toured Ixchel and Nautibeach last time we were on Isla - both beautiful - but also expensive, at $200+ USD per night.

We decided on Color de Verano and couldn't have been happier with our choice. We stayed in the 2nd floor apartment, the one with a hot tub on the balcony. The price was $125 USD per night. We paid half in advance via Western Union. I was a bit apprehensive as we've previously forfeited payment for two nights at another hotel on Isla that did not look at all like the photos we viewed before arriving. I needn't have worried - it was even better than we'd hoped.

Teresa was lovely and we appreciated her English, as we have very little Spanish. She greeted us on arrival with a bottle of wine and arranged for a high chair and pack n play in our room, which was a huge help. There was room to store our stroller right beside the door without intruding into the living room. We were offered the use of the washing machine (no dryer) but didn't need it.

The rooms look exactly as they do in the photos on her website. They are spacious and very comfortable. The bed is wonderful. We especially appreciated the Wifi and hot tub (which is cleaned and refilled for each guest). The hotel provides towels, beach chairs and an umbrella for each room, along with six bikes for the hotel. We were the only ones who used the bikes when we were there. We lugged the chairs to the beach a couple of times but later splurged on renting beach loungers. It was just too much to carry along with the baby and diaper bag and our towels.

I was amazed at the amenities Color de Verano is able to offer for the price. Separate bedroom, kitchen with everything but an oven, good coffee and sweetener provided (I brought my own Starbucks but didn't use it), satellite TV in the bedroom, wifi, beach chairs, bikes, private hot tub, shelves of books, puzzles and games for guests, and a prime location right across the road from the beach and only a few minutes walk from Hidalgo.

This is a gem of a hotel, one we've already recommended to friends and would stay at again in a heartbeat. It was absolutely perfect for vacationing with a baby. The only thing it doesn't have is the stunning view that Rocamar has. But overall, I think it is better value, and certainly better for travelling with kids.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Firefly68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (72)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 72 reviews

Reviewed 9 January 2011

We love Teresa and Color De Verano. We stayed in one of the studio apts for a week in May. Teresa and I corresponded by email and she was very easy to make plans and reservations with. She was wainting for us when we arrived, a bottle of wine was in our room as well. She was just amazing from beginning to end. We did not bring our computer and every day she let me use the hotel's to email our kids. The hotel is catty corner from the ocean and Playa Norteis a one minute walk. There is a bar/restauraunt (Jax) right next door that has the cheapest buckets of beer around. The beds were comfy, water pressure and everything was great as well. We loved the island and Color so much we decided to have our honeymoon here. We are coming back in July for our Honeymoon and staying in the penthouse this time, cant wait.

Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Kellyl28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2011

We stayed in the new studio apartment on this visit to Isla Mujeres. And again the Owners Louis and Theresa have done a wonderful outfitting the new studio apartments. the unit is quite large and has a full kitchen with a slider to the deck and the seperate bedroom and the location can;t be beat ,acrossthe street from the beach and a short walk to all the restaurants We have stayed in their other unit up island " Macax " the year before and loved it as well, it had an unbelievable living tree growing in the main floor and reaching up to 2nd floor with ceramic birds nesting in it, and the pool was a delightful ,we were able to walk down through the garden to ther dock and have our morning coffee and watch the fisherman coming in with their morning catch. very private and secure. loved both so much we have booked to stay again downtown only tis time moving up a floor.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canadiantracy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2010

Color de Verano is in a wonderful location on Isla Mujeres--on the corner of the two main streets, about a 1-minute walk to the beach. Despite this seemingly busy location, we found it to be very quiet.

For 5 nights, we stayed in the studio apartment, on the ground level, which used to be a coffee shop. It had a small front porch, a combined kitchen/sitting room (with glasses, plates, pans, etc.), a bedroom, and then a very clean and adequate bathroom. All was very beachy and nicely simple. Our only complaint about this bottom studio is that it was quite dark during the day.

However, we really enjoyed our stay here--it was so centrally located and really too cute. It was very easy to walk anywhere for breakfast and dinner, as well as to the lovely beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiredtraveler78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

We have travelled Mexico extensively and decided that Isla Mujeres would be a nice finish after a week in Merida. This rental, the Studio,was a perfect place to stay. It was well stocked, clean, comfortable, and right across from the beach. What more could one ask?
Well, the owner was there to greet us on arrival with a welcoming bottle of wine and a big smile. What a great time we had.
This is a great place to stop if you are planning a trip to the Isla!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LoveToTravelMazatlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2009

We thought Color de Verano Village apt's. were terrific! We found the location to be very good and the owners are happy to meet you needs. It's an easy walk to the beaches and town. We stayed in the Penthouse. The view is wonderful from inside the apartment and from it's large private rooftop balcony. You can see from in front of Privileges Aluxes to the end of the peninsula, which of course includes seeing the beachfront, Cancun and all the boats coming and going. You can also see behind you from the balcony and look down Lopez Mateos street and watch the kids at the school behind the apartment.

The balcony is generous. It runs in front of the apartment and along the North side all in one piece. It is equipped with 2 padded chairs with footstools, a table with 4 chairs, and two loungers, plus a hot tub. All private to the penthouse. The front portion is covered by an awing, so you can sit there comfortably any time of the day.

The Penthouse apartment is really cute with windows all around 3 sides, so you can see the ocean from everywhere in the apartment, and you can see it when you sit up in bed in the morning! We were met by the owner Teresa, who took us upstairs to introduce us to the apartment, which is four flights up. It is a small 1 bedroom apartment. There was a bottle of wine in the refrigerator, coffee with filters, and a large container of purified water. Every day we were provided with more coffee grounds. They also provide free - more water, paper towels, bath soap, large beach towels, two beach chairs and an umbrella, and bicycles if you request them and free DSL so just ask them to hook you up. There is Maid Service everyday except Sunday.

With arrangement a day ahead, they will fix you breakfast or lunch for an extra fee which varies depending on what you order. There is a full length mirror in the living room so that ladies can dry their hair while hubby is in the shower. Just bring your extension cord. There is no clock. There is usually space to park your golf cart out front on Lopez Mateos.

The only possible con to the Penthouse is the water pressure in the shower. It is minimal but you can get clean for sure, just allow a little more time for your shower. And it's not so bad taking longer because you can see the ocean while taking your shower, and there is a large built-in mirror for shaving in the shower too. Our first night we discovered we had no hot water. It was turned off, so you might want to check right away.

Color de Verano used to have a little cafe on the first floor, but closed it last spring. Now they are finishing up a couple studios in that space which we saw and they are very nice. We also saw one of the 1 bedroom apartments and it is quite spacious and is larger than the penthouse. Other than the penthouse, all the other apartment balcony's face Lopez Mateos and Privileges Aluxes, but you can see a bit of the ocean and beach from them. All apartments have air conditioning.

Jax's Sports Bar is next door so it's easy to run over for a drink or something to eat or take-out. We were there at just the beginning of high season so there wasn't any band but I hear they do have them or Kareoke sometimes. I can't comment on the noise level but have been told it isn't bad or doesn't extend much into the morning hours and it's maybe only a couple nights a week. The traffic on both streets isn't a noise issue at all, because it's mainly golf carts and scooters.

  • Stayed: December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank KansasPVgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2009

After spending 12 nights at a budget apartment, we decided to check the availability of Color de Verano for our last two nights. We stayed in the first floor apartment and enjoyed the apartment immensely. It was clean, comfy bed, and daily maid service was a real treat. All of the woodwork, tables, etc., were handcrafted by the owner. We ended both of our days with handmade icecream from the bistro on the mail level, and the service was superb every time we've ever eaten breakfast there. Probably the best on the island, in our opinion. We enjoyed our stay so much, we put our names down for next year. When we arrived home we learned the dates we wanted in 2010 were available. It didn't take us long to jump on that opportunity. We're looking forward to our visit in February/March.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Harley246
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
359 reviews
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#11 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
881 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Color de Verano Village Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Color de Verano Village Apartments

Address: Av, Adolfo L Mateos | Centro, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Color De Verano Village Apartments Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing