We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our new vacation spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of La Vida Dulce Casitas

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
La Vida Dulce Casitas
Ranked #10 of 34 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our new vacation spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2009

My husband and I recently returned from our first trip to Isla Mujeres. We spent our stay at La Vida Dulce Casitas, unit #2. Even though there were only two of us in the larger unit it worked perfect. The setup allowed the early riser to close the door to the back half of the unit and watch TV, have use of the half bath and kitchen without bothering the other one still sleeping. The bedroom bath has double sinks so we could get ready at the same time and with the shower being separate the humidity from it was never an issue like in most bathrooms. I loved the lighting because in addition to the electric light there were also plenty of windows and skylights to bring in natural lighting including the glass block section in the wall separating the living room and bedroom (loved it!). The amenities at La Vida Dulce far exceeded our expectations: pillow-top mattress, plush pillows, sheets & towels, free wi-fi & phone calls home, kitchenette w/microwave, pizza oven, fridge, BLENDER, coffee pot, dishes, etc. And those little things we take for granted at home like nice flushing toilets, plenty of hot water, water pressure, a/c, etc., we never gave a second thought to because we had them all at La Vida Dulce. Steve & Jeri, owners/hosts, were extremely knowledgeable about the island and everything is literally right around the corner or down a block. And even though we were staying around the corner from downtown our sleep was never disturbed by any noises. In fact, after dinner one evening my husband and I came back to our room and went up to the rooftop (there’s a nice area on the roof with chairs, plants, etc. for guests to relax) and we sat and listened to mariachi bands playing in the distance. Other than renting a golf cart one day to drive to the south end of the island we were able to walk everywhere else we wanted to go. It’s obvious Steve & Jeri put an extreme amount of thought into the design of this place in order to make it mucho comfortable for their guests. Thank you & we’ll be back!

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank candst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

92 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    85
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
18
40
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2009

but it wouldn't be fair to Steve and Jeri...who embraced me as part of their wonderful extended Iowa collection of friends and family, who come and go at La Vida Dulce! I stay there for 3 weeks in Febryuary, and by the time I left I felt as if I were leaving family behind.
This was my 12th visit to Isla Mujeres, I have stayed in many different types of accomodations on the island. This one suit me perfectly. All the previous reviews have outline the property very well, everything I needed was right there for me. I could have stayed forever! The location is great, one block off the main street, Hildalgo, and only a block or two from the beach. The orange juice man is around the corner, and the "Rib Guy" just two blocks up...this is the place to be to soak up the rhythm of life in a little Mexican seaside town.

I've already made my reservations for next year...but don't know if I can stay away that long! Stve and Jeri are wonderful and you will love La Vida Dulce...

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailMarie23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2009

My wife and I met Steve and Jerry at the end of our two week Yucatan vacation while waiting for the ferry to cross over to the island.I sure am glad it was at the end of our trip because had it been in the begining we would have spent our entier two weeks there .It was really hard to leave and go home after meeting them and truly the best part of our trip.
The rooms are absolutly the best deal and the most comfortable that we stayed in our trip.They are clean,cool,quiet and located within walking distance of shops and resturants and of course cantinas.
If you are heading that way don't miss the chance of staying with them I know you will be pleased too.This is a great little spot and I am afraid that it is going to be hard to get a reservation when the word is out but I wish them all the best and we will be back.
Thank you Jerry and Steve for your great friendship.
Gary and Laura Lester

  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank glesSanDiego
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2009

We enjoyed our 2 week stay at LVD.Very comfortable beds with wonderful air conditioned rooms,endless hot showers and once we closed our door absolutely no outside sounds could be heard. We would recomend these accommidations to anyone who needs a rest and a holiday . Definitely NUMBER 1 on our list...Murray & Terri Meyer, Greenwood B. C. Canada

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skjj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, WI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2009

I had a wonderful four week stay at La Vida Dulce (LVD) in March of '09. LVD’s location is very convenient. It’s 1-1/2 blocks from the ferry, 1-1/2 blocks from the beach and less than a block from some of the best restaurants on the island. The front portion of the building had recently been completely remodeled into two new apartments (casita’s). I stayed in the smaller of the two closest to the road - suite #1. This casita had a front living area that included a couch, chair and bar stools around a small kitchenette. At the rear of the unit was nice size bedroom with a queen size bed (pillow top mattress) and plenty of closet/dresser space. Off of the bedroom was a separate ¾ bath with fantastic water pressure and hot water in the shower. All the furnishings, fixtures and appliances in the casita were in new condition. Even though I was close to the road, traffic noise was not an issue. Much to my surprise, the room was tight and quiet. There is a door that can close off the living area from the bedroom and both areas contain separate (ductless) remote control air conditioning units - nice on those hot muggy days! Above both units is roof top patio that is available to guests for reading or sun bathing. I found myself using it often, especially early mornings for reading with a cup of Jo. Some other amenities I enjoyed were found in an outside (common) hallway between the two units, they included a phone (with free calls to the US), free drinking water and an extensive library of collected/donated books. For me the casita’s had more the feel of a B&B as the owner/operators (Steve & Jeri) live in the rear of the building and were always available for questions or issues (like needing an extra towel or key).

I’ve been visiting the island of Isla Mujeres annually for twenty years and have stayed at numerous locations over that time. La Vida Dulce is now my favorite. When it comes to price, value, and the amenities it offers, it can’t be beat for a downtown location. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BillieBobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2009

The room accomadated four of us very well Great beds,1.5 baths,large shower ,pizzaoven,micro,fridge.The hospatality was outstanding anything you need they were there to help.The beaches, retaraunts,bars,fishingdocks,shopping within blocks.Took golfcart tour of island went to garrafon park for the day eat and drink swim, snorkel all day for one price.It made for an awesome family christmas vacation.Went barracuda fishing caught a 22lbs&15lbs had it cooked at Sergios it was awesome cant wait to go back!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marshall4Iowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2009

Our trip included me, my husband and 5 year old son. We stayed in suite #2. These guys have thought of everything when in comes to extras. Real pillows, high thread count sheets, real mattresses, etc. The best thing about our suite was the layout. There's a 1/2 bath off the kitchen/dining room area. Then offf the master you have a shower and a separate bathroom with toilet and long counter with 2 sinks. It makes getting the family ready at the same time very easy. The location is walkable to everything. The price is a steal. The hosts are knowlegeable about the island and alot of fun too.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank skwakbox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 330 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Vida Dulce Casitas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Vida Dulce Casitas

Property: La Vida Dulce Casitas
Address: Calle Benito Juarez 13, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Great Central Location - Blocks from the beach & around the corner from downtown shopping/restaurants. Newly remodeled, quaintly decorated w/ton of amenities, including: high speed WIFI, cable TV, bottled water, free calls home (to US & Can), kitchenettes w/microwave/pizza oven/fridge, mini split A/C & Ceiling fans in each room. New pillow top mattresses with high thread count linens. The back unit has 1 and 1/2 baths. Units do adjoin with double dead bolt doors to accommodate renting both units as one. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
La Vida Dulce Casitas Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing