We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good place to settle in for a while.”
Review of Hotel Rocamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Rocamar
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a good place to stay for a while. The rooms overlook the sea, and the sound of the surf is always present. Wide sliding glass doors and shaded balconies give a excellent view from inside or outside. The location is downdown, so it's not far from many shops and attractions.

There is no restaurant associated with the hotel, but there are numerous restaurants nearby.

A nice quiet, though small pool, with associated lounging areas. They string tarps so you can spend time in either the shade or the sun.

A water cooler, and tea is available in the common lounge. A LAN is also available there. Service is spotty elsewhere in the hotel.

If you're looking for a full-service hotel you should choose one of the other local hotels. However, if you want to settle into the town for a while at an economic price, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Pay a couple dollars extra to get off the ground floor and overlooking the ocean. On the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aolisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (462)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 462 reviews

Reviewed 27 January 2014

Rocamar is clean, the beds are comfortable, and the location is great: it is conveniently located but not in the heart of things.

We booked an ocean view room and got room 12, which had an ocean view but was somewhat obstructed by a wall and not nearly as nice as views from other rooms. But the worst part is that it is right outside the central lounge area, and for part of our stay, there was a group of extremely loud obnoxious Americans who would sit in the lounge area talking loudly late at night and early in the morning.

We eventually got to move to a new room which was better, though you could still hear the loud guests.

The wifi was very spotty and mostly did not work in the rooms. The bathroom was a bit odd with a group of friends. There are tarp curtains to cover the windows but the door of the bathroom was hard to close on windy days.

It seems it is cheaper to book things like snorkeling, golf carts and massages through the hotel, though the massages we got were not great.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank parkplace09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for 1 night while visiting Isla Mujeres. Its set in a lovely location away from the port and has beautiful sea views. Nothing better than going to sleep and waking up to the sound of waves crashing!
The hotel is small & a little basic but doesnt lack on many things.

The pool area is lovely with lots of sunbeds (and i really do mean beds!)

The rooms are of good size - we stayed in room 19 overlooking the sea which was a twin room and both beds were a double. We found the beds too soft for our liking but not everyone will feel that way. The room had a hammock on the balcony which was just lovely!

The bathroom was good size too but here i have to make two slight bad points....1 the water pressure was not that good - temperature wise it was fine u just had to stay in the shower a bit longer than you would normally. The 2nd thing is the big horrible yellow curtain that goes round the bathroom - its just awful! it makes the whole room look bad please change them!!!

The hotel is open plan, no doors apart from the room doors, a lovely little sitting area and a little courtyard for you to leave your golf buggy/moped or car.

There's free wifi, water, tea/coffee and even a microwave for you to use if needs be. Reception had a hairdryer for me to use and the safe in the room is free too.

The negatives would not stop us staying here again as its the best place we've found :)

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view high up and got room 19 on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lau10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014 via mobile

So many choices on island but if you're on a budget, need a modern and clean room with amazing views, search no further. Its not luxurious but you have everything you need. Make sure you bring ample toiletries they don't provide much. Sick sunrise views from ocean view rooms and a hammock on your balcony to boot! Just a three block walk to the ferry makes it the best location and super convenient!

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank taritag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Nice little hotel in a great location, quiet but within a stones throw of everything you could want or need for in the commercial centre of Isla Mujeres.

Pro's: Clean, spacious, air con, hammock is great to chill on your balcony, views out to sea, tea/coffee and microwave for use in the reception/outside lounge area, swift check-in/check-out, nice sun deck with a couple of double sun loungers to use. Great for yourself :)

Con's: Spongy/soft beds (OK if you like it that way), no bar/restaurant facilitiesand it has to be asked... What is with them nasty yellow plastic curtains in the bathroom? They are made from the same material as masonry bags you'd use on a building site. If I owned this hotel they'd be the first thing to go for sure. Truly horrible.
Also I think who ever put the tiles up in the bathroom of room 19 was clearly intoxicated. They've tried to create an effect, but what they have created is quite laughable and poor in terms of workmanship.

For the cost I'd probably stay here again. Not bad for what is in reality a 2 star hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We stayed here for three nights and were pleasantly surprised how much we liked it. First of all the location is perfect-very close to town and a short walk to north beach where we snorkeled everyday. It is also a short walk from the ferry which is very important when pulling your luggage through town. Also, although it has been mentioned in other reviews, the location right on the water cannot be beat! It is amazing!!! the ocean is RIGHT outside your back door and the waves sound amazing all day. Second, it is affordable and clean. The beds are super comfy too. Third, the service is good-no complaints. Forth, the pool also has a great location also right on the water. We loved staying here and will definitely stay here again when we are back on Isla Mujeres. Thanks Rocamar!

Room Tip: get a room on at least the second floor for the best view and to avoid seeing the walking path that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rileyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

We found this place in our lonely planet travel book, when our booked accommodation didn’t turn out to be what we expected. We turned up to the open-air lobby, they showed us the room they had available and they let us check in early. The room was really comfortable and had great views. The hotel is close to everything in the town and you can hire a golf buggy from them for cheaper than on the main street. This place is really affordable and we loved listening to the ocean while going to sleep.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H_Sava
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,445 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
465 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
178 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#22 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
746 reviews
0.5 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamar

Address: Calle Nicolas Bravo y Entre Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £55 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Rocamar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable, relaxing escape in Isla Mujeres. Hotel Rocamar in Quintana Roo, Mexico. Reserve our Quintana Roo hotel online and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing