We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loved the view!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Rocamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Rocamar
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Ligonier, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Loved the view!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I stayed here for a week in the middle of January. This hotel was in a really good location! Had a problem finding the place when we got off the ferry... Every person we asked where the hotel was sent us all different directions! E-mailed the hotel before we got to mexico for directions and they never answered back. Walk off the ferry dock, walk straight up the hill about 3 blocks... its right behind the church. Right smack on the rocky coast. Our room was on the second floor, #13. On the corner. I would say it was the best view. Room was clean, people really nice. Don't expect any breakfast here, all they give you is coffee. So walk down the street a block and eat breakfast at Q-Bravo. Yum yum food is great and owner is very nice. This hotel had a nice pool that was never crowded. Walk 10 minutes down the beach to a great bar called the Fenix. Good music during the afternoon. Stop and have a really good lunch. Drink the margaritas and crawl back to the hotel!! More Island advice... take a calculator to figure out the money difference. A few times we realized we were taken.. by just a few dollars here and there, it adds up. Grab some of the mexican food from the venders on the town square in front of the super market. You can eat for as little as $2 and the food is better than most restaurants. Go to the grocery store and in the bakery you can buy sweetbreads.. Yummy breakfast rolls that go great with your coffee, as you sit on your balcony in the morning taking in the beautiful view! I would go back here in a heartbeat! Linda and John from Ligonier,Pa.

Room Tip: Room #13. Best view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Linda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

433 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    197
    63
    22
    12
See reviews for
49
240
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (133)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2014

My husband and I spent two week on Isla Mujeres. We stayed in this hotel and enjoyed our vacation a lot. The hotel is very quiet, clean, small and guest-friendly. Our room is on the 3rd floor with ocean view/street view/sunrise-sunset view. I like the sound of ocean waves. Wifi in the room is not very good, but we did watch Netflix show once in a while.

This hotel locates in downtown. You can walk to ferry dock, restaurants, shops easily.

Room Tip: pay extra to get 3rd floor rooms with good ocean view
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Coupeville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakersfield, California, United States
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

this hotel is within walking distance of the ferry, restaurants, store, and the beach. The bathroom is a bit odd, having a plastic shower curtain for privacy because the walls are glass. Overall I enjoyed the property, it is clean, has wifi, and a pool. Room 18 was very nice, it is 2nd floor and a big balcony.

Room Tip: you have to carry your luggage up stairs, no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denise W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
68 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

I chose this hotel for the ocean view, pool, the modern decor and the price. Upon arrival I wasn't disappointed. It was a short walk into town and the view of the sunset was pure bless. However I found it hard to sleep as the sound of waves crashing against the walls below were too loud. I was on the first floor and I doubt the top floor would be any different. I unfortunately had 24 hours of heavy rain during my 2 nights stay so ended up stuck inside with a broken TV but thankfully WIFI was working which was a life saver. The hotel is about 10 mins walk to North beach. Now that I have seen it, I think next time I will pay more to get that North beach view which is absolutely stunning!

Room Tip: The higher floor the better
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scldn2hk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coupeville, Washington
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014

This is a good place to stay for a while. The rooms overlook the sea, and the sound of the surf is always present. Wide sliding glass doors and shaded balconies give a excellent view from inside or outside. The location is downdown, so it's not far from many shops and attractions.

There is no restaurant associated with the hotel, but there are numerous restaurants nearby.

A nice quiet, though small pool, with associated lounging areas. They string tarps so you can spend time in either the shade or the sun.

A water cooler, and tea is available in the common lounge. A LAN is also available there. Service is spotty elsewhere in the hotel.

If you're looking for a full-service hotel you should choose one of the other local hotels. However, if you want to settle into the town for a while at an economic price, this is a great choice.

Room Tip: Pay a couple dollars extra to get off the ground floor and overlooking the ocean. On the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aolisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Rocamar is clean, the beds are comfortable, and the location is great: it is conveniently located but not in the heart of things.

We booked an ocean view room and got room 12, which had an ocean view but was somewhat obstructed by a wall and not nearly as nice as views from other rooms. But the worst part is that it is right outside the central lounge area, and for part of our stay, there was a group of extremely loud obnoxious Americans who would sit in the lounge area talking loudly late at night and early in the morning.

We eventually got to move to a new room which was better, though you could still hear the loud guests.

The wifi was very spotty and mostly did not work in the rooms. The bathroom was a bit odd with a group of friends. There are tarp curtains to cover the windows but the door of the bathroom was hard to close on windy days.

It seems it is cheaper to book things like snorkeling, golf carts and massages through the hotel, though the massages we got were not great.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank parkplace09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dagenham, essex
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 January 2014

Me and my friend stayed here for 1 night while visiting Isla Mujeres. Its set in a lovely location away from the port and has beautiful sea views. Nothing better than going to sleep and waking up to the sound of waves crashing!
The hotel is small & a little basic but doesnt lack on many things.

The pool area is lovely with lots of sunbeds (and i really do mean beds!)

The rooms are of good size - we stayed in room 19 overlooking the sea which was a twin room and both beds were a double. We found the beds too soft for our liking but not everyone will feel that way. The room had a hammock on the balcony which was just lovely!

The bathroom was good size too but here i have to make two slight bad points....1 the water pressure was not that good - temperature wise it was fine u just had to stay in the shower a bit longer than you would normally. The 2nd thing is the big horrible yellow curtain that goes round the bathroom - its just awful! it makes the whole room look bad please change them!!!

The hotel is open plan, no doors apart from the room doors, a lovely little sitting area and a little courtyard for you to leave your golf buggy/moped or car.

There's free wifi, water, tea/coffee and even a microwave for you to use if needs be. Reception had a hairdryer for me to use and the safe in the room is free too.

The negatives would not stop us staying here again as its the best place we've found :)

Room Tip: We asked for a sea view high up and got room 19 on the 2nd floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lau10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 370 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 678 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 230 reviews
0.4 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Rocamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Rocamar

Property: Hotel Rocamar
Address: Calle Nicolas Bravo y Entre Abasolo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Rocamar 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An affordable, relaxing escape in Isla Mujeres. Hotel Rocamar in Quintana Roo, Mexico. Reserve our Quintana Roo hotel online and get instant confirmation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), HostelWorld, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Rocamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing