We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Functioal chic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
chicago, il
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Functioal chic”
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

This boutique hotel is great for the price. My husband and I have been here 4x, and are going back april 2013 with our family and friends. Excellent attentive staff, extremely clean and modern lobby and pool area, the rooms are immaculate, up to date finishings, but basic linen. The locatiin is awesome. Short walk from the ferry, safe as it is just next to the naval base. Includes basic continental breakfast. We like staying at non inclusive hotels on the island because food is inexpensive and easily accessible.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ikandi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    144
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
69
198
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hertzliya, Israel
Level Contributor
43 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We had a lot of thinking of which hotel to pick at "Isla". we were looking for something close enough to reach the beach and yet not on a crowd place.
the dimensions of Isla are misleading - this place is tiny.

The Bahia hotel is couple of minutes walk from the ferry deck, 5-10 to the beach and to the main street (Hidalgo st.).
breakfast has bread with marmalade and butter, cereal and yogurt and it was more than enough for us.

The rooms are spacious, and we liked the pool view for its quiet. The bed was very good.

And if all of these are not enough to persuade you, on top of it was the staff of the hotel - they were very nice and ready to help us on any question or problem that we had. it was fun to hear their tips for the area and their recommendations were very helpful for us.

We even met the owner at Playa del Carmen later and he recognized us and called us from behind - we gave him our truly appreciation again.

**Don't think twice - that's the place for a perfect vacation!**

Room Tip: pool view seems to be more quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shlomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Conyers
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2013

This hotel is absolutely wonderful. Staff is always super friendly. Rooms are always cleaned daily to a sparkling shine. Only hotel we stay at when we are in Isla Mujeres. There are others on the island that are fancier, cheaper, offer more amenities....but if you want a safe, clean, comfortable and close to town place to lay your head then Bahia Chac Chi is for you. Love this place, thanks for always making us feel welcome and at home.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KLMLSM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband and I stayed here during New Year's 2013 and spent 5 days on the island. The hotel is very close to the ferry and a short walk to the popular north beach and village center restaurants. The island has a small town feel with some of the most fresh and flavorful food I've ever had. We enjoyed the village celebration with a live band on New Year's Eve. On New Year's Day, we rented a golf cart and drove to the south point of the island to see the ocean cliffs, iguanas, and temple ruins. The day after, we took a bus excursion out to the ancient Mayan ruins at Chichen Itza. Our room was simple and beautiful with an amazing view of the bay and sunset. There is some road noise and noise from the hallways could affect light sleepers. The staff is very friendly and helpful. I would stay here again in a heartbeat!

Room Tip: Pay the few extra bucks for the bay view. It is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Megan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
181 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

I spent a week at another location and then moved to Bahia for the second part of my stay. Wow! I can't believe in all my trips to Isla that I had never tried this hotel. The front desk staff are TOP NOTCH - beautiful English, so helpful, respectful, courteous, and ready to go above and beyond to help their customers. I will definitely stay here again.

The hotel itself is simple - the rooms are clean, tidy, and have all the necessities. Housekeeping does a good job. The shower was huge and beautiful and the king bed was very comfortable. The ocean view rooms are the best because you can watch the sunsets and boats. I did not try the breakfast, but I know it was included in my stay. Location is perfect - just on the edge of el centro, so no taxi is required at all, whether that is to/from Ultramar, Playa Norte, or shops/food on Hidalgo. Pricing is affordable and again, the customer service is superb - this is truly a differentiator. I can't say enough how kind and generous the reception staff were. One interesting item to note about the hotel is that they do conserve energy. The room key also controls access to lighting/air conditioning - so, if you leave your room, the lights/air automatically go off. It doesn't take long to cool once you return, but is a nice energy saving feature for them.

I would have rated Bahia Chac Chi a "5" except for the reasons below - otherwise, they were fantastic!

- Wifi internet works well in the rooms and also in the reception area. However, it disconnects each session very quickly so I was constantly having to re-enter a password in my room which was frustrating.

- Along with the beautiful sea room view comes a lot of noise from the street. This is not the fault of the hotel but it would be great if the sliding glass doors had more noise reduction to them.

- The bathrooms have open venting to the inner hotel hallways so there is no heat control, less privacy and more noise.

- There is no sign to put on your door to let housekeeping know when you'd like privacy.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are the best to watch the sunsets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SuburbtoSuitcase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

We recently staed at the Bahia Chac Chi for the first time for 2 weeks over Christmas and the New Year. The staff at t his hotel are wonderful and take the lead from the wonderful and very professional manager Juan Carlo. Always pleasant and kind. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and could not give a higher recommendation. The rooms are clean and well maintained with extras like the alligator, mermaid and other wonderful characters that the cleaning staff made out of our towels and linens. We loved it there and we love Isla Mujeres.
We also received exceptional service from Paradise Transfers. They waited for us after our luggage was delayed getting picked up due to a very congested airport. They emailed and confirmed a return pick up at Puerto Juarez and were always at our service and very pleasant. It was wonderful to see our name on a sign waiting to transfer us to and from our hotel after a long flight and 'crazy' airport experience. Well worth the very fair transfer price. The drivers were absolutely top notch!

Room Tip: Pick a bay facing room. The view is spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacobjacobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Faribault, Minnesota
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Depending on who you are that is... if you need a place close to the ferry and the beach and the downtown bar scene, but don't want your pants pulled down over the price, this is the place. if you don't plan on spending too much time in your room, but still want sa friendly staff available whenever you might stumble home, this is the place. if you like to watch the sunset from your room, this is the place... if you are married to some uppiddy, suburban, crabby b*%ch that went to Vassar and wouldn't know a good time if it bit her, you might want to spend a little more to have less fun.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ohhhmexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,054 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Chac Chi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Chac Chi

Property: Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Address: Mza 8, Smza 01, Avenida Rueda Medina Lote 12, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bahia Chac Chi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Chac Chi is set in the heart of Isla Mujeres, just steps away from downtown restaurants, shopping & entertainment, the main ferry port and the powder white sands of Isla Mujeres' North Beach. Boasting a contemporary architectonic design, Bahia Chac Chi invites its distinguished guests to enjoy its modern facilities, top of the line amenities and the magnificent views of The Mujeres Bay, the Turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean and Cancun's famous Hotel Zone skyline. The property features 25 superbly appointed Deluxe Rooms featuring flat screen TVs with cable, digital security box, complimentary in room wi-fi and fridge. A pool solarium and lobby bar. Friendly Staff to fulfill your needs and make your stay the most pleasant and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bahia Chac Chi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing