We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple, understated, affordable and very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Simple, understated, affordable and very nice”
Reviewed 18 February 2011

For the incredible price I can't really complain about anything. Yes, breakfast was just toast and cereal, but I wasn't expecting anything. Location is great, across from ferry, 3 blocks straight down from Playa Norte. There was some street noise, but closing the door really shut it out. We had a room on the 4th floor on the ocean side and it was perfect. If you want to see the water from your room but are worried about the noise see if you can get a 4th floor room. We thought the street view and noise was a touch of local charm actually. Such an interesting location. Next to tiny naval base, ferry & fishing docks, view of lagoon and Playa Norte, short walk to Hidalgo. We spent a bit of time on our balcony just people and boat watching. We had no issues with hotel noise, hardly saw or heard other guests. I will agree with others that the pool is useless, but it didn't bother us since we're always more inclined to the beach than a pool. I could see people using it if they put a couple hot tubs in there instead. Bahia is very minimalist, clean, well-maintained. I think if they added a little more local art and some tropical plants, the place would have the perfect aesthetic. The beds were comfy, which was a nice surprise. The staff is not overly solicitous, but we prefer that. When asked, they are happy to provide additional services if they can. We had them line us up with a golf cart rental at a good price, delivered to the hotel and picked up 24 hours later. The only other thing I could recommend would be coffee pots in the rooms. Overall, really a lovely little hotel in a cool location.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lorax76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    192
    144
    33
    15
    5
See reviews for
69
198
18
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2011

This was our first trip to Isla Mujeres.We have been to Mexico 7 other times.We always have stayed in all inclusive.This hotel was very clean with the cleaning done every morning around10 am which we loved.The room always smelled fresh.The location was wonderful.The front desk was pleasant and tried to assist you in any way we asked.We needed to change a transportation date because of weather and they made the call for us which was a huge help due to our lack of Spanish.My only surprise was they posted a sign to put toilet paper in the can.I had to work around that .we are planning our next trip back to the island.This is a trip to beat.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New London, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 February 2011

Clean rooms. Friendly Staff. Very Noisy- street noise, other patrons. Balcony over looks the street. Pool area is totally overshadowed by building, virtually non-usable. breakfast was sparse - cereal and toast. Even though the staff was very nice and helpful, would not stay here again. We like a nice pool area that leads to the beach and this was far from it. Actually would not go back to Isla Mujeres again, so many other pretty places in Mexico.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kate470
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Michel
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2011

We spent christmas days in this hotel with my family. it is one of the newer hotels in isla mujeres with a great location just next to the ferry peers. The hotel doesnt have a beach, so there is a small walk for you to do for that. Also the pool is regrettably shadowed by the building completely. As the hotel is new, the condition of the rooms was very good, it was clean and the public areas were also well maintained. And if you get your room with the view towards the mainland-side, the view is nice! However i have a few words of warning in case you are planning to go here. First of all the staff in reception, even though they are quite nice, won't do anything extra for the customer. or if they do, it is with lots of extra pulling. We had a problem in our toilet the entire time of our stay; it smelled really bad already once we opened our room door for the 1st time. they came to "fix" it for 2 times but still nothing happened. First they blamed it on us, then when the problem didnt go away, they said nothing could be done. a shame for such a new hotel to not solve an issue like that. Another interesting factor was the breakfast service. It is rather narrow but gets the job done; coffee, tea, juice, some fruit, kids' cereal, yoghurt and toast with marmelade. During our stay the toast ran out every morning multiple times, but the staff was in no hurry to get more. They waited to see if people would ask for more toast or if people kept on sitting and waiting for more. Interesting choice on their behalf. They really made us guests feel like we were big eaters, but i dont think 2 pieces of toast really qualify for that.. Also as it was high season we were wondering why the hotel was not as packed as we thought it would be, onto the account the staff kept pushing issues of discussion. All in all this hotel is a nice place to stay if you are willing to wait or ask for more breakfast and maybe look over some lacks in the rooms. As said in the beginning, location-wise its a good hotel in good shape.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tri-Li
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Mound, Wisconsin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2011

Yes, as some people have said the rooms are very sparse looking, BUT, clean and I really enjoyed it. I went to a flower shop the first day and got a big bouqet of flowers, and they lasted all 9 days. We didn't hear alot of noise, but we were facing the pool from 2nd floor. Pool should've have been made a jacuzzi, that would've been nicer, as you don't really get any sun at it, but we we're usually at the beach anyway. For the price I loved it. Looking for a deal this year, hope to find something soon. Easy walking to the beach, and a nice walk to other end of island, just take the bus back.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnybarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 December 2010

If you don't mind walking ten minutes to get to the nicest beach, this is a great place. Cafes, restaurants and shops are the only thing that seperate you from the beaches, thus the ten minute walk is an entertaining one. The staff are very friendly and accommodating. We even extended our stay! (Note: the west coast and east coast of the island are within 2-5 min from the hotel. The ocean view room offers great sunset views and looks back towards Cancun.) 2 min walk from ferry...

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 45South45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2010

A big group of us traveled to Isla Mujeres for a wedding -- most stayed at relatively pricey little B&Bs but the Bahia Chac Chi was a better fit for my budget (especially after the $65 US cab ride from the Cancun airport!).

The location is excellent. It is the tallest (5 story) building in the "skyline" -- you will see it from the ferry as you come in. The men with the bicycle carts will greet you as you exit the ferry only to be disappointed when they learn you're staying in the Bahia Chac Chi as it is literally only 500 feet from the ferry terminal.

The front desk staff are friendly and efficient but, oddly, request that you leave your room key with them if you leave the property. I've never experienced that before, but they said it was because many people lose them during their daily adventures.

Anyway -- regarding the hotel. We had a bay view room on the 3rd floor and it was excellent. The rooms have a spare, minimalist design with no artwork, with white bedding, white walls and white floors. If it sounds sparse and threadbare, it's not -- the rooms are spotlessly clean and have a European, almost sophisticated feel. There's a chair off to the side, a widescreen LCD TV on the wall and a desk/work area with a phone on the other side. The sink is in the entry area and the shower and toilet is in another room with permanently-open vent to the outside. (So keep that door closed!) The shower is fancy and has a knob that lets you select a traditional shower, a handheld wand or eight body-blasting, high-pressure jets. There's plenty of hot water.

The bed was on the firm side but very supportive and comfortable. The A/C is quiet and very effective, even in the dead of summer. We slept great.

There is small restaurant/bar/cafe in the street-level lobby but it is open-air and not terribly comfortable to hang out in in the summer. But they have water, sodas, beer and mixed drinks if you'd like something without heading down the street. They also have a light breakfast in the morning. The wireless internet is fast, reliable and free but password-protected; get the password from the front desk.

If you are a light sleeper (we're not) I would suggest requesting an interior ("pool view") room as the bay view rooms face the island's main street and there is a lot of scooter/golf cart/taxi traffic until all hours of the morning. It's usually nothing intrusive and kinds of adds to the local flavor. But the bay view rooms have nice balconies and a great view through the sliding-glass doors. And if you like to sleep in in the mornings, be aware that noise from the pool area in the courtyard is amplified and kind of echoes up the interior of the building.

We didn't spend much time hanging out in the hotel -- it was our base camp for our daily activities. If you don't need ultra luxury or pampering at every step, and just want a clean, comfortable hotel, this is a great choice. For the money, it is one of the nicest hotels I've stayed in, anywhere.

One note: the electricity in the rooms is activated by inserting your room key's keychain into a slot just inside the entry. We were there in July and the room would often get up to 85+ degrees (F) while we were gone so we jury-rigged the card slot with a grocery store discount card so the room would be cool once we got back. If you don't feel like being wasteful (we were sunburned and cranky and wanted the relief of cool sheets!) the A/C will cool it down in 20-30 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank adrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,057 reviews
0.5 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 693 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
1.5 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bahia Chac Chi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bahia Chac Chi

Property: Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Address: Mza 8, Smza 01, Avenida Rueda Medina Lote 12, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bahia Chac Chi 3*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bahia Chac Chi is set in the heart of Isla Mujeres, just steps away from downtown restaurants, shopping & entertainment, the main ferry port and the powder white sands of Isla Mujeres' North Beach. Boasting a contemporary architectonic design, Bahia Chac Chi invites its distinguished guests to enjoy its modern facilities, top of the line amenities and the magnificent views of The Mujeres Bay, the Turquoise blue waters of the Caribbean and Cancun's famous Hotel Zone skyline. The property features 25 superbly appointed Deluxe Rooms featuring flat screen TVs with cable, digital security box, complimentary in room wi-fi and fridge. A pool solarium and lobby bar. Friendly Staff to fulfill your needs and make your stay the most pleasant and memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Bahia Chac Chi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing