We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 21 June 2012

As much as i would like to keep this place secret i love this hotel and location. Quiet, clean, friendly; the best place to stay in Isla Mujeres. Don't expect to do things in a hurry and you will love it. We will definately will be returning next year (Mayan prophecy permitting!).

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Sally,
we will be glad to have you back!!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

837 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    290
    267
    131
    64
    85
See reviews for
172
388
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (201)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
DF
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2012

We were two couples, one room was quite nice, the other one trasshy. AC was broken in our room so it made a terrible noise: it was extremely hot, so we barely slept. No other room was available, so we could not move. The stone bathrooms was nice but not properly cleaned when we arrived, and did not smell well.
The courtain to the outside pathway was too short, and you could see everything from outside the room! We had to used a towel to cover the gap.
We had a late flight from Cancun, so we could enjoy the last they whole evening in the beach. There was not late check out option, neither courtesy shower to used before traveling.
The beach was nice and quite, the hotel had beatiful gardens, and the food in the restaurant was (tex-Mex) but it was ok, the same for the drinks.
All in all, a big disappointment for us, overpriced for the bad services in terms odor amenities and services we got. There are as beautiful places nearby with much better accommodations and service.

Room Tip: Make sure your AC works properly, otherwise you won't be able to sleep with the noise, or if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank CeciliaDF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
Dear Cecilia,
I'm sorry to hear you had so much trouble with your room, we are making changes to improve our services and I hope you can give is a chance to turn this around.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

A wonderfully quiet respite in Isla Mujeres' otherwise touristy, all-inclusive madness. Cool rooms-a/c included-with beautiful views onto the private beach, great restaurant, very helpful staff, reasonable price, etc. It was the perfect ending to our Rivera Mayan Vacation. Rent a golf cart or 'carrito' for $30-$50 and zip around the entire island--it's so gorgeous and you see much more of the local flavor. Thanks, front desk staff, for helping us all the way. You ladies are amazing!

Room Tip: Make sure to get a beach view, not pool view, for less 'family' noise. The balconies are lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrooklynZack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We are very happy to read you had a great vacation, we sincerely hope to see you back soon.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great room! The AC was cold enough to give you the chills. The hotel construction must have been done by the guy who did the treehouse at Disneyland.
There were iguanas running around outside and the grounds were impeccably maintained. Every room had a hammock outside and your own personal maid.

The restaurant next door (fenix lounge) that serves tapas isnt our style, so we opted for zazil ha, a beachfront restaurant with a barista that knows how to pull an espresso shot & a chef who makes world class meals that won't break the bank.

We will be back.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bah-gawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,
I'll make sure to share your comments with our Restaurant Staff, please let us know via email when are you coming back we have special discounts for our repetitive guests.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redwood City, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Na Balam is situated off the "main drag" so it is quiet and feels peaceful and secluded. The little beach is beautiful and was pretty much deserted during my stay. The rooms are huge and simply furnished. I had a room with a ceiling fan and felt no need for air conditioning. The bathroom has a stone shower with a rainfall-style showerhead that felt decadent. The room also has a nice balcony with comfortable chairs and a hammock overlooking the pool. There were, however, a few problems with my room. One of the locks on the door was broken and the remaining lock was chintzy so the room was not secure. There was also construction going on in the pool area, which I was not advised about when I booked the room and which started very early in the mornings. All in all, though, I would stay here again because I liked the setting. It is far enough from town to feel like you're somewhere private and secluded, but it's also an easy walk into town.

Room Tip: The upstairs rooms have nice balconies.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurae110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Laurae,
We are sorry for the noise during your stay, we ask the maintenance staff to start their work not s early and we will keep in mind your comments about the advice of construction.
I’ll make sure to bring this to our management in order to keep improving our services.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I've been to Na Balam many times over the last twenty years. Last trip was March, 2012 and it continues to amaze me; it's a private paradise that offers the best beach in the Yucatan.

As a guest, you can be as private as you wish, or you can party as much as you wish. Proximity to town is an easy, flat walk but you can choose the Na Balam dining experience which is haute cuisine.

The rooms are simple, but tasteful and immaculate.

Staff are warm and receptive to all requests. English spoken here.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juakeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Juakeen,
Thank you very much for keep considering our Hotel your home away from home.
We hope to see you back here.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun Valley, Idaho
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

Thanks for accommodating my new knees~ The rooms are huge! Love the beach and the walk in water~ a great location! very quiet and low key. new restaurant: fenix is a nice shady spot to cool off in the afternoon.
There was an incident on the beach in daylight~ someone stole a gals purse and key when she was out in the water....so be aware! this is a low key place~ surprised this happened!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank anita m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gabriela Z, Manager at Na Balam Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Guest,
We are happy your enjoy your vacation and we hope you come back to visit us.
thank you for the note on the purse our security staff has placed an extra effort on the beach section. Things like this are not common in our beach.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,305 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,052 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Property: Na Balam Beach Hotel
Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, LoveHolidays, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing