We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful family vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 8 March 2013

We had a delightful time! We have been to Isla Mujeres many times, but this was our first stay at Na Balam. Loved it! Staff was warm and helpful. Room was comfortable and delightful. My parents stayed on the pool side, next to the beautiful pool and newly installed whirlpool, both of which were great on our one cloudy/windy day. We stayed on the beach side with our 3-year-old twins and couldn't have been happier.
I had read complaints about the noise from Phoenix Bar next door...I have to say, our room was directly next to the bar, and there was music most nights. And it was wonderful. It did go a little late on Saturday night, but the noise didn't keep up us or our children. Otherwise, we enjoyed the music on our balcony every evening (and the fire dancer who performed there!), or we went to the bar for dinner on the beach and to hear the great music. It was a benefit, not a problem!
Also, having the yoga classes on-site multiple times a day was wonderful for our family.
The hotel restaurant is great, beds on the beach are great, playground for our children was great. We were happy!

Room Tip: Beach side is a little nicer than pool side, splurge and stay on that side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Amy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (881)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

402 - 408 of 881 reviews

Reviewed 8 March 2013

We liked this hotel very much for its small size, the nice rooms (we stayed in a Ocean View Suite with Plunge Pool) and the perfect white beach in front of it. The Zazil Ha restaurant offers a decent breakfast (though, in our case at additional cost) and also lunch/dinner was very tasty. Isla Mujeres town is just a 5 minutes walk away. Overall this is a great place to spend a couple of relaxing days on the beach.

Room Tip: Even though the plunge pool is a nice thing it is probably not worth the additional cost of the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dafido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My wife and I stayed here for one night on the 28th feb 2013,we paid over £100 pounds for a deluxe ocean view room.
The hotel is in a wonderful position and the view from our room was lovely,but,the room was quite basic and didn't live up to the photographs on their website,there wasn't a chair in the room or pictures on the wall no information book just a very basic room.We paid £135 per night and was probably only worth half that.Disappointing to say the least

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank TBK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2013

This was our first yr at this location & we enjoyed our stay. We did not miss having a tv or a frig. The staff were very helpful & friendly. The rooms are basic, spacious & clean. We didn't want to venture downtown on the one very rainy night out of our entire trip so we had dinner next door at the ZaZil-Ha restaurant. Each of us raved about the great meal we had chosen which made our wet evening enjoyable. The free basic continetal breakfast, beach chairs, loungers & towels were a nice amenity. Recommend this place for a nice, relaxing, local Isla hotel on a white sandy beach.

Room Tip: Nice, basic, clean hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 100Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2013

This was our second year in a row at Na Balam and we plan to return next year. Our room was on the beach side and wouldn't trade it for anything. The first year we had a first floor room with a remodeled bathroom, the second was upstairs without the remodel. They were both fine. Breakfast was included at ZaZil-Ha which is right on the beach! The food is great! The beach is the most lovely beach I've experienced. Warm water, best location, beautiful blue color, and zero depth. I don't have any complaints with the staff. They were very good. A matter of fact they set us up with a bucket of beer with lime so we could enjoy our balcony in privacy. We also liked it because it is walking distance to all the restaurants in town. Which we walked every night. It's a very quiet, small, and comfy hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jean B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Excellent stay. Beautiful location and nice interiors, both restaurants and bars were good. The only thing I would say that there was no tv in our room, don't know if that's a good or bad thing. Wifi was restricted to communal areas which I didn't expect with the price tag of the stay. However it is a really nice place and would certainly stay again. :)

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mossleyhill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I read a lot of reviews. Rooms may need some updating, but by far you are on the best, most beautiful spot of whole island. That said, WELL worth it. Very gorgeous location. If I hadn't been staying at this resort, it's still the beach I'd have wanted to spend my time at. Great restaurant and bar. Great yoga and holistic hotel. This island is special. It's safe and truly a spot you will want to return. So glad I went!!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Astara316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
359 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £117 - £239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing