We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Belton, Missouri
2 reviews
“Great Location”
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Wonderful hotel in a great location. We stayed pool side the first 4 nights then transferred to a Jr Suite the last 3 nights. The Jr suite was ocean front and very nice. The pool side room could of used some updates. no tv, no mini fridge, and had a musty smell. The beds are rather hard! The only thing I wished they had internet access in the rooms. I would stay their again. Love the beach and the shade from the trees. I have a 2 year old and she had a blast!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank warmweatherwoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

864 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    300
    275
    134
    67
    88
See reviews for
180
398
25
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (208)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2013

Good location and a lot potential to be a luxury hotel but with penny pinching policies and bad apples in the staff make Ramada and Motel 6 look like places fit for kings.

First, the woman at the front desk, Melania.... is in the wrong profession with that distasteful attitude and manner to talk to people. The feral cats on the property have better manners and are more polite than her, shame on her mother!!!

The hotel's policy about their beach towels is stupid and makes Motel 6 look like a rockstar for not keeping count of your towels. They act like there is a shortage on towels and you have to sign your soul over to the devil or barter your room keys for one.... and if you misplace it in the beach/restaurant (na balam property) everyone is completely useless in helping you and nobody saw anything even with waiters patrolling the beach for drink orders.... End result is forking over $30 for their nappy towel! Thank goodness I only misplaced one out of three!

We stayed in a a beach side suite with a private pool and continental breakfast included and free WiFi. The room and begging was clean, furnishings are minimal (no tv and no phones), matteess was too firm and light bulbs were out all over the place. It did have a great view from the pool BUT pool was dirty, had very poor lighting for late use, super tall damgerous steps and huge roaches roamed everywhere by pool and patio. Restaurant on site was expensive for very unimpressive food and they behave like a completely seperate entity from the hotel which means you can't charge anything to your room much less call for room service since there are no phones and you still have to go pay them... They boast about their free WiFi, which is practically non existent. Its only available in the lobby and restaurant in very small perimeters. Their continental breakfast is two slices of bread, coffee, orange juice OR fruit..... only one serving within the food group apparently! Again.... They make Ramada's unlimited continental hot breakfast look like a feast fit for kings!

Great potential but incredibly stupid stupid policies and mediocre services that are better off not offered. Speaking to the hotel manager does nothing either. This place gives quality mexican hospitality a bad name. Lame experience for a whopping $250 a night, not worth the price and definately not a five star "personal boutique beach resort" (as they like to call themselves).... Go next door and stay at the Avalon!! They share the same beautiful scenery but provide better service!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laurabm13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013 via mobile

Simply the best experience ever in Mexico. A must for the traveller who is looking for a quieter beautiful location in Isla Mujeres. I Thoroughly enjoyed the huge room with my patio on the ocean side. Wonderfully friendly people!
I'll definitely be back next year
Same time same place!

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

It’s my 5th time on Isla Mujeres-a very beautiful island. Previously, I stayed at Avalon, Ixchel, rented a condo. This time we booked 10 nights at Na Balam to give it a try. Upon discovering bed bugs the issue was reported to management. A young lady sent housekeepers to inspect during the day, they could not see anything as bed bugs are nocturnal they’re active at night unless the mattress is so infested that you’d be able to see bugs around seams. We insisted on transfer and showed the bites on legs as well as blood marks on bed sheets. Management offered newly remodeled room-no bed bugs. Next day we stopped by at the front desk to ask for compensation due to the 4 nights of negative experience to put it mildly. Front desk manager said there’re no bugs-those are ants. Ants do not suck blood. I explained that I took a picture of a squished bed bug with a blood spot around it. The young “manager” made a wry face and asked to show the picture of bed bugs I took. Playing game “if you could I would”. I do have pictures and would consider submitting it to Mexican Tourism Board. As compensation we asked to have a refrigerator we saw in a suite-they got us a little cube fridge which did not work, it took the whole day to get the old, barely working one. Also we were offered American breakfast instead of Continental. Continental breakfast was included initially: choice of fruit plate or juice with coffee or tea with toasted bread. With American breakfast we had a luxury of fried eggs on top of it. Management is absolutely unprofessional, no clue about customer service.
Stay away from Na Balam due to bed bugs!
Restaurant service is fine. At least employees at Zazil Ha are hard working people, they were doing their best; restaurant Manager seemed a responsible person.
The only really good thing is location.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank TrottingTheGlobe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We decided on Na Balam as the site of our wedding with out having visited. It just seemed to have everything we wanted and looked so beautiful. We had read some of the negative reviews and, yes, they began to scare us as we left home to visit the island before the actual wedding. But, I can say this with 100% honesty, the hotel, staff and island itself blew us away with its kindness, charm and scenery. Na Balam is simply paradise.

Everyone we interacted with from the managers to the waiters to the cleaning staff were all so warm and welcoming. They were always there when we needed them and had plenty of suggestions for us in regards to both the wedding and fun things to do on the island.

Our room was a standard beach and it was simple but very comfortable. The bed was gigantic and very comfortable. The grounds are clean and the trees and vegetation give it a cool rain forest vibe. The pool is generally empty most of the time which is what I prefer. And the beach...just look at the pictures. The water is clear and you can walk out at least 300 yards or more with out the water going more than chest high. Amazing snorkeling too over by the Avalon Reef Club. Bring snorkeling gear, you wont regret it.

Yes there are 'party' boats docked off the beach during the day but they are not loud. And yes there is a bar on one side of the hotel that does get a little loud during the day on weekends but what are you gonna do? Sip a Pina Colada (killer) and eat some ceviche, that's what!!

The continental breakfast is what it is, fruit and coffee. It's good as a starter for your day. The restaurant also has a full breakfast menu that is great. The goat cheese and tomato burrito with basil oil is a good choice.

Can't wait to return for our wedding in March. We want to try out those plunge pools and have drinks with our feet in the sand as the sun sets and until the stars come out in mass (as we did almost every night). Thank you to everyone at Na Balam for an amazing vacation in paradise.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matthew C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

For anyone worried about finding the perfect spot for a honeymoon, stop looking. It is at the Na Balam. It is also kid friendly, but also a great honeymoon spot. We did the all inclusive which was an extra $60 per person per day. It sounds expensive, but we drank and ate our fair share plus some, without ANY issues from the restaurant. Which the restaurant is beyond great. I have never eaten, nor will I ever eat again at such an amazing restaurant as this. The room we had, #7 was immaculate. The room was always clean and was better than most hotels in the States. The beach that Na Balam is on is litterally the best on the island. I'm not exagerating, it truly is. The only drawback is that it is the best beach on the island that others come over in their boats with loud music. That is the ONLY drawback to this place. We even had an issue with Expedia double booking us. It boiled down to being my fault. The hotel fixed it for us. We will be back to Na Balam on our 5 year anniversary. They even arranged for safe transportation from the airport to the hotel, even using the ferry, to ensure that we naive tourists would not get taken advantage of. We even knew the names of our drivers before we left for the trip. Well organized and they take every measure to ensure the happiness of their guests. No fitness center, but who needs one when there is the beautiful water to swim in and get your exercise?

Room Tip: I would probably recommend the upper rooms as they have a more private outside balcony where as the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Happy_Husband7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Enjoyed our stay at Na Balam, the staff is very helpful and everyone is friendly. The perfect beach is a few steps away and the grounds are lush. The room was minimalist but had everything that we needed.

A few things that could have made the stay even better, but were in no way deal breakers: a more comfortable bed, wifi in the rooms, update the tile and grout in the shower and more options for the continental breakfast.

Room Tip: Room 9, upstairs facing the beach was nice. Quiet and a nice view through the palms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,357 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
723 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
717 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
4.0 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
498 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Property: Na Balam Beach Hotel
Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing