We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't beat this location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #12 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

Awesome place! There was no TV, Phone, wifi or Fridge in our room and we loved it! They do yoga a few times a day and the location is right in Playa Norte beach. The restaurant staff are extremely friendly and helpful. If you want basic, beach front accom. This is great! The only down point was the club/band/bar next door. The bass is annoying but at least it doesn't go ALL night.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lovemcb007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (895)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

310 - 316 of 895 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Large rooms on the most perfect beach, or just across the street if not in a beachfront room. Crystal blue waters and white powder sand. Loads of beach lounges and umbrellas - great beach side service.

Friendly staff. Great food expect for breakfast which is really let down by the toast (cold, stale? and hard) - everything else okay. Wifi in lobby only. Would definitely stay here again. Isla Mujeres idyllic.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovetotravel3122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

LOVE na balam -stay there EVERY time i come to Isla - usually twice a year for at least a week every time - i am an extremely loyal repeat customer - always stay beachside - i called to secure exactly which room i was in and was informed that the upstairs beachside rooms (with the upgraded bathrooms) are now considered "suites" and cost additional - has anyone else experienced this? i am really confused and a bit disappointed. i did want double beds since my friend is staying for half of my 10 day stay but i would have been fine bunking in a queen if it meant the nicer, upgraded bathrooms, which are only in select beachside rooms.

anyone else been told that upstairs rooms are now considered suites and cost additional?

Room Tip: higher floors are my preference since i am a single girl and will be alone for half of my trip but i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anissa a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We recently stayed at Na Balam for our first visit to Isla.

The good - The beach views are fantastic. The on site restaurants are good and the staff at the restaurants are pretty top notch. Occasionally we had some slow service but we were on vacation so we didn't mind. The mojito at Zazil Ha was the best I've ever had. My mom had a massage on the beach by the Phoenix and loved it. Early mornings are a good time if you like it quieter.

The not so good - the room was fine, it was what I expected. Clean, nothing spectacular but fine. There was an issue with the hot water/cold water. It was difficult to regulate. At times, cold water would not come out of the sink so you'd be brushing your teeth in hot water. The shower was also tough to regulate. You could have it on the temp you like and then it would change drastically. Not deal breakers, just something to note. A fridge in the rooms would be a nice touch. I have heard that you can request them but just having them in there would be nice. More hooks in the rooms would allow you to hang up your towels, etc. The pool is small and there are only 4 beach loungers available. The ocean is gorgeous but if you like to swim in the pool this could be an issue. Many times all 4 chairs were being used.

The bad - the front desk staff was, for the most part, disappointing. When we checked in there was a younger guy there and he was very nice. He brought our bags to our room which from reading other reviews is a rare occurrence. Otherwise they were not front desk worthy. The first example is when on our second day we decided not to have our room cleaned. We went to the front desk to ask if we could get the 2 bottles of water that the cleaning lady leaves in your room. Yessica (she's a real treat) said no you only get those if your room is cleaned. We went back and forth a little bit just wanting 2 bottles of water and she stood with her no. Later when we went back to our room there were 2 bottles of water on the table. Not sure if she had a change of heart (I highly doubt it) or if someone overheard her. The next example was when we had to request an extra washcloth for our room. There were 3 of us and the cleaning lady would leave 2. The front desk said they didn't have any. We tried to find the cleaning lady to get one and weren't able to find one on her cart either. This happened every day. We gave up after the 3rd day. If the front desk could communicate with the cleaning lady how many guests are in a room that would solve this issue. Next example is when I asked the front desk if they had any snorkel equipment I could rent and he said no but there is a dive shop down the street you could buy some from. I said I'm only here for a week and I really don't want to buy any. There is a nice beach area to snorkel and it would be nice to have that available for guests. He didn't offer any other ideas of where I could rent any. The last example is when we checked out. Lucky us, Yessica was at the desk again. She said do you have your beach towels? We said no we left them in the room. She said you are suppose to bring them when you check out. My mom said we were never told that and Yessica said yes you were. So we said do you want us to go get them and she mumbled no under her breath. After that we asked if she could call us a taxi. She pointed outside and said there are some out there. That was it. No "Thank you for staying with us" nothing. So that is how we left. Very disappointed. Such a beautiful location and a few lacking customer service skills are ruining it for some visitors. Not sure I would stay here again because of the lack of hospitality from the front desk. The other things I could over look but not the rudeness of front desk staff.

We found out the restaurants are not affiliated with the hotel which makes sense because the staff at the restaurants are top notch and the front desk staff are so not.

The final straw for us was the way Yessica treated us on our check out. Completely rude and no gratitude at all. She does smile and appear friendly at first but then she will turn on you very quickly. If you can get past the front desk and are ok with very basic amenities this is a beautiful location. I would rate this property as average but due to Yessica I feel it warrants a Poor rating. I'm still baffled that we weren't even thanked for staying with them or wished a good trip home or a given a good bye or anything. Good Luck!

Room Tip: We had a Room 5 which is on the second floor. We liked being on the second floor and this room is a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Annie1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Hotel with great beach (If not the best!) in Isla Mujeres. First time- Always stayed in Villa Rolandi.
Always opting for upscale boutique hotels- This time decided to see "what else is out there?"
Na Balam came with a recommendation- What a pleasant surprise.
Clean room (#21) felt like upscale "tree house"- Rustic with our own hammock (all pool side have them) no TV, radio, telephone- The perfect shut down! Yoga classes all day-tried it !
Bring toiletries- very limited offered.
Front DESK staff- needs help and serious training on handling knowledgeable travelers.
Restaurant staff will warm up to you- ALL very nice and helpful. Food is decent.
Great location.

Room Tip: The "Beach front" rooms- looked fine. Loved the pool side "Upscale treehouse" b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerlaTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We escaped Cancun and stayed one night here! Much more to our liking. The hotel is nothing to fancy. But it is clean and has the great beach and nice restaurant on site! Cute cats! Rent a golf cart and enjoy this lovely island. This was my second trip and I can't wait to go back!! Ferry ride is easy. This island is very relaxing and beautiful !!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sailgirl2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Our large group of 25 was excellently cared for at Na Balam. We found the rooms to be beautiful and the yoga palapas are clean and well-supplied with props. But it's the staff that really made our stay there superb - each staff member was caring, attentive, efficient, and professional. This is our third yoga retreat at Na Balam and we'll be back next year!

Room Tip: The deluxe suites are superb with private decks and plunge pools. The poolside rooms are, for the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yoginiliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
1,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
445 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
736 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
369 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £113 - £253 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing