We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very poor everything!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Ranked #11 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

They will tell you anything to get you there then not deliver on anything they promise.
AC not working. We were told to open a window.
Jacuzzi was broken. To bad.
Rooms are out dated and dank.
They just want your money so don't pay any money up front. $350 per night........ no breakfast.........just unbelievable.

Stayed: June 2014
1  Thank Estaban M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (890)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

292 - 298 of 890 reviews

Reviewed 29 June 2014

Na Balam is a beautiful 'boutique hotel' for people that love nature and want an authentic island experience. We swam in the ocean, snorkeled in the near by rocks, and relaxed on the beach. This is perhaps the best beach on the island. Everything is within walking distance of this location.

However, if you are looking for a 'standard resort' experience, you should look for a different hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Travel-run-hike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

Here's the thing, this place has the potential but seems to be lacking in some areas. My husband and I came here for our anniversary last year and although we planned to stay for 6 days, we cut it back to 3...
As others have mentioned, the lobby is nice, eclectic, different. There's a lot of construction going on around the hotel, FYI...abandoned lots and businesses too... That bar with the. Swing seats? No longer there...closed! The room itself was huge (we were beach front) and had a nice queen sized bed and hammock. The bathroom was tiny and outdated (leaking ceiling, broken tiles, unclean feeling). This place is very minimalist so there are no decorations (at least in our room), no phone, empty everything! We only ate breakfast at the hotel restaurant. Also minimalist, you get bread, coffee, fruit or juice.
Oh, and we wanted to get a couples massage, there is no spa they come to you, but couldn't because they only have one person so we'd have to take turns... And, they had to call her to come to the hotel from her house! I know, it's a diff country, diff life style, etcetera.
In short, this place is good for maybe a two day visit, as a place to stay while you explore the island, the beach itself is great, and the bar next door is a relaxing place at night.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Josie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

My husband and I stayed 4 nights at Na Balam at the end of a 10 day trip to Mexico. It was our least favourite of the 4 hotels we stayed in on our trip. The reception area is lovely and the location at the quieter end of the beach is ideal however we found the staff to be very unfriendly. The free breakfast was small and they took forever to serve us despite the fact it was low season and there were more waiters in the restaurant than guests at any one point in time. There was some building work going on while we were there so we had to listen to drills and hammers over breakfast instead of listening to the nearby waves. The staff warned us when we checked in to make sure to put all valuables in the safe however the safe turned out to be ridiculously small so we had to carry our camera, lens, ipad etc. around everywhere with us instead. The room itself was very spacious with lots of storage but also very boring - no pictures or decoration anywhere, and there were quite a few ants crawling around. I wouldn't stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LornaP103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Located on the best stretch of beach on the island! Only part that is sort of private which is a bonus as the public areas get packed! staff very helpful with setting u up with beach umbrellas etc. easy walking distance to town and can rent a golf buggy from the hotel!
Overall think is a little overpriced as the rooms are quite basic. But they have air con and are clean!!!! We stayed by the pool rather than on the beach as they were much more pricey but they did look lush!
Staff are friendly, maybe a bit slow off the mark but we didn't have any major complaints! We met lots of people that had been coming back for years and loved it! I would recommend it but try and get a discount deal online as it is a little overpriced!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Erimcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

i was booked 5 nights to stay at this hotel is Isla Mujeres. we arrived my girlfriend and i with our service animal because she is mentally handicapped, and after they told us it would be okay we booked our hotel, we paid for the stay and than we checked in and 5 minutes after our check in we were told to leave. We asked if we could stay the night because it was late we didn't know where to go but they told us 5 minutes stood in our doorstep as we packed and tried to find another hotel. the staff lied to us and was very unfriendly and rude, they told us no refund because this was Mexico and they could do whatever they want and to sue them if i wanted. I had to cancel my credit card and deal with it that way. Very disheartening they told us we could bring our service dog with us JUST to get our money than kick us out after being on the property for 5 minutes. The place did look nice our room was nice but the fact that there staff was so un true and rude to us i would NEVER recommend this to anyone ever who values even a decent staff or customer service for their guests.

Room Tip: Don't wast money to be treated like this.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank CCohen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Life slows down a bit down there just enough to realize what's important.
Perfect getaway from the rat race!!
Allowed me to disconnect from my job and technology and concentrate on my family and children.
Great food!! Great beach!! No TVs!!
Just relaxing!!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Trophysnatcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,414 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
747 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
733 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
2.1 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Na Balam Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Na Balam Beach Hotel

Address: Calle Zazil Ha 118 | Playa Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £108 - £271 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Na Balam Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The love for nature, an admiration to the Mayan culture and a concern for holistic wellness are reflected in this haven of peace and serenity. Na Balam offers you a place to enjoy the beauty of the Caribbean sea and its sunsets with personalized services and attention. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Na Balam Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Na Balam Beach
Na Balam Beach Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing