We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Cabanas Maria Del Mar(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Secreto(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Playa Arena(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Las Palmas(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Los Arcos Suites(Isla Mujeres)
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (907)
Filter reviews
907 results
Traveller rating
309
292
142
70
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
309
292
142
70
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach sideplunge poolplaya norteyoga retreatbeach bedsbeautiful beachbeachfront roompalm treesbest beach on the islandlaid backbeach locationhot waterhotel restaurantwhite sandlobby areaan umbrellaocean front
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
585 - 590 of 907 reviews
Reviewed 2 April 2010

We traveled with our three sons ages 15,14,10. We loved our room it was bigger then expected and easily slept 5. The room was spotless, showers hot we loved our patio with veiw of pool with hammock and two chairs. We payed 116/night with hotels.com. (extra 25 bucks a night for two older boys. We were a short walk from the most amazing beach, boys did some snorkeling. Staff friendly, Service good. We walked to town and ate at some fun places, Bally hoo, Jax, open air market diners were cheap. We rented a golf cart and toured the island. Had a blast. At night the place is all lit up with candles, very cool. We would go back. It is not a noisy all inclusive atmosphere. it is a quite find your own fun type of place that fit our style.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeannieMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2010

Just back from an amazing weeklong vacation with our year-and-a-half-old daughter, and we are here to defend Na Balam's honor! Despite the negative reviews, we had our highest expectations met (and we are well-traveled, picky New York lesbians!). The place itself is spectacular—low-rise, classic Mexican architecture that blends into the environment and has a serene and soulful vibe. Rooms are spacious with awesome aqua tiled floors. They were immaculate, and the cleaning staff was great. We were on the second floor overlooking the gorgeous old palms on the beach, and we could see plenty of lovely blue water from the hammock on our balcony—as well as hear the beautiful breeze and rustle of trees at night and the sweet birds in the morning and day. We slept like rocks every night, and never heard any noise from other rooms. The place is very child friendly without being overrun or annoyingly noisy from kids (there's a sweet little playground area right on the grounds); we met another couple who had been coming here for seven years without children and were very happy. We also met a really cool woman who had been coming from Texas with her son for eight years and counting.

Service was great overall. The front-desk staffers (thank you Norma, Adrianna, Faviola and Miguel!) were friendly and helpful, and though we mostly spoke Spanish, we observed them speaking excellent English with other guests. Restaurant service was basically great. The restaurant had excellent breakfasts, great beachside service and mostly good dinners—and hands down the best location in town. The beach was perfect—comfy beds, beautiful palms, sweetest umbrella guy (David).

The only way to explain the people who have written terrible reviews is that they were in the wrong place for them, and perhaps some had some really bad luck. There are plenty of ugly-American, Cancun-minded, soulless, phone-and-TV-laden places on the island (hello, Avalon!), and it seems that these complainers would be happier there (or back across the water altogether). Na Balam is a GEM. And it's an endangered species. It's getting harder and harder to find places like this that just get it. And it also happens to be in the best spot on the entire island. Plus you can snorkel right off the beach here.

However, not to be completely starry-eyed, there are a few places where we found room for a bit of improvement (based on the cost). It's not overpriced, since you're paying for something unique. That said, for the money, here are a few minor complaints:
1. The screen door to the balcony was slightly torn and coming off track and needs to be replaced. And there was no screen in the (slightly buggy) bathroom.
2. While we got two small bottles of water in the room upon check-in, that was it. It would have been nice to have them replaced daily.
3. The cribs are ancient and need to be updated. (Though they borrowed a pack-n-play from somewhere for us, so we were happy.)
4. The restaurant, while good, should have its food be a bit more bountiful for the prices (a tofu dish, for example, had three tiny pieces of tofu and the rest vegetables; it cost around $13). And service was a bit spotty.
5. It would be great to have small refrigerators in all the room (suites have them; also, the staff was very accommodating to provide ice daily).

All minor things. So go and enjoy!!

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marvao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

I'd like to clarify a few lousy reviews below as I think they're poor representations of what Mrs. Natural & I just experienced. We just came back from 9 nights - poolside room (#25) - booked with the hotel directly after they matched Expedia's $116. per night. Huge upper room with a thatched palapa roof, terrific balcony with two nice lounging chairs & a hammock, sweet view of the pool & lovely gardens. Quiet, romantic, private - perfect for what we wanted out of this much needed vacation. No TV, no phones, no internet. Perfect.

We took advantage of the daily free yoga classes, not avail on Sundays, Andrea does 9:00 Hatha-style for beginner to medium-advanced - Meg does a kick-A$$ 10:00 class for much more advanced yoga-people. That class is serious.

Bar offers 2 for 1 happy hour from noon - 2pm and again (after a shift-change) 3 to 5pm. 60 pesos for 2 excellent margaritas made with fresh limes & Cuervo Gold is a terrific price, if you ask me.
I thought the restaurant was great, as well. Food was of excellent quality, very fresh, with large portions. My wife runs a gourmet food & wine shop and is a bit discerning regarding quality. She found the breakfasts excellent. We ordered one guacamole & chips for a snack one day around lunch and didn't need to eat again until dinner. We may not have finished the whole thing. Great service.

Beach beds are just perfect for both direct sun and shaded areas with beachside waiter service from the bar & restaurant. The beach itself is exceptional with palm trees shading close to the shore of white sand. The blue Caribbean here is warm, shallow & perfectly sandy bottomed - out, perhaps 100 meters waist deep ! Almost too shallow to swim. Kindly don't bring your young kids here to possibly ruin the romantic vibe - I'm not sure they would appreciate the lack of amusements. Perhaps the finest overall beach I've yet experienced in my 9 or 10 trips elsewhere in the Caribbean. The view : Oh, baby . . .

This hotel is a bit older & quieter than many consumers might be used to which may account for some of the complaints below.
This is Mexico; not Cancun

We're definitely gonna be back again to this little gem of a resort - hopefully they will have improved with softer mattresses and wireless internet throughout the property next year WITHOUT a rate increase

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank MisterNatural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2010

great location, beach has some erosion issues, but i think all of playa norte does. amazing sunsets. the beach bar has a great view. stayed in a beachfront room, which was fine (nothing fancy), but the plumbing really was pretty bad. the hot water literally dribbled out of the spout. i have no problem roughing it, but not for $200+/night! loved the island, would definately go back, but would try somewhere else, you can go to the beach bar as a visitor.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nursiepants
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2010

Non stop flight from Minnesota 4 hours. Stayed in 2 different rooms. the first room overlooked the pool, quiet ,good showers no bugs, no complaints. Went to a different resort and then came back to Na Balam this time in with a ocean view still on the upper floor (not the rooms with the personal pool small rooms and over priced) they were having plumbing problems, after 2 days without hot water the comped us a free dinner / a bottle of wine and a couples massage, we were happy with the end result... the beach has erroded due to storms, they ( all the resorts on the carribian side have the same issues) are using white sand bags to help slow the errosion, not the most pleasing to look at, but, the food was good and the staff in the resturant are very nice. the resort overall is very quiet, great snorkling, the town is a 5 minuite walk. The resturant "Rooster" has a great lunch. Dinner and breakfast at the resort are yummy we will go back when the kids are older ...in 5 yrs or so.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thedamswede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews