We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Del Mar
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Nice hotel, great location.
Wifi is only at the reception. The old building is OK, but we would rather have stayed in the newer building.
Very good value for the money. The breakfast is cheap and you eat with a view over the caribic sea, very romantic. Close to Playa Norte (5 min. walk) and just across the street is another beautiful beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Majalentzw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 10 April 2013

We stayed a week at Posada Del Mar, March 29-April 6th. We really enjoyed our stay. We were greeted with a nice welcome & decided before our arrival to upgrade to a suite in the new section. We were in room 334. There was a small fridge, a coffee pot (which we had requested) a balcony, & very nice views of the beach, the street & the pool. Minimal noise, quiet air conditioner, & beautiful towel art!!!!
We were hungry on our arrival and chose to eat at the hotel restaurant. We only ate there the one time, was not great. Our nachos were disappointing & the fish tacos were ok. But we were in paradise!!!
The water cooler was a nice bonus to refill our water bottles.
The pool was nice, not big, and there was some sand but it wasn't enough to keep us from enjoying a very windy afternoon by the pool.
We hope to go back next year with our adult kids. We had a look at one of the "old" section rooms and think we would recommend the upgrade. The whole place just seems to need a little TLC, but the price was right, It is in an excellent location, walking distance to several excellent restaurants, car rentals, shopping, and steps from a beautiful beach!
The new building is a clean 3 - 3.5 star hotel.

Room Tip: We would recommend the new & newest buildings. We stayed in 334 and really liked it.
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dugchuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

when we arrived we were greeted by a grumpy man who told us that without our booking confirmation he couldn't check us in. we stood there dumbfounded, my husband then tried to reason with him. he asked if we could pull the confirmation up on our phone-unfortunately we did not bring our laptop or phones with us because we were on vacation. then after some time without saying anything he gave us a form to complete. it was 9 pm on Sunday 3/31. he didn't speak at all, didn't ask us anything such as what kind of room did you book or preference. once the form was completed he called a younger man over still not speaking to us. we didnt even know what was going on. the younger man asked us to come with him. i am unsure we got the room we paid for; i was just glad it was clean because earlier we visited Tulum and Coba Ruins. my husband is a really easy going person and the guy put him in a sour mood. Wednesday morning i went to the reception desk to ask for a couple beach towels and my luck it was the same jerk who gave us a hard time during our check in; he actually scowled at me.

all of the other staff we came in contact with were professional, very friendly, and helpful. the housekeeping staff are very thorough as well.

despite those incidents with the rude guy, we enjoyed our stay. the hotel has its shortcomings such as disorganized back yard; but if your looking for a inexpensive, clean room, with excellent location to sleep its a great deal. keep in mind that its not the Ritz and its priced accordingly. the hotels restaurant didn't appear to be very busy but its well worth trying.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

we stayed in the middle section-not old, not newest-very happy, ac worked well-perhaps a little noisy but helped to sleep. front desk and staff easy to get along with, other reviewers not happy with them but interact with them and they are very friendly. basic room/bathroom, but walk out to sand and the pool and then the open air bar/lounge-tough to beat, romy at the bar and jorge at the front desk make your day easier. beach across the street and great restaurants within a beer's walk. the hostel beach bar and dance floor was great fun.

Room Tip: ground floor room by the pool simplifies things a lot
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scottinbl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2013

It's hard to beat the location and price. We booked a flight/hotel package through Expedia, so I don't know exactly how much the hotel itself cost, but it was a bargain. We absolutely loved the location across the street from the beach (Playa Sol but also very close to Playa Norte), right around the corner from our favorite restaurant (Poc Chuc--so cheap and so good!), and easily accessible from the ferry (and Bally Hoo fish tacos--loved them grilled!). We stayed in the new building, and while the rooms are no-frills, we were happy with the cleanliness and the availability of a refrigerator and a balcony. I personally like a firm mattress and slept very well. On our next visit we might be curious to stay somewhere else (Ixchel and Casa Sirena piqued our interest) but not if we have to pay a lot more for it because we were perfectly satisfied with Posada del Mar. Based on the location and price alone, we might end up staying at Posada del Mar again and again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank caipirinha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2013 via mobile

Take it for what it is. A 2+ star hotel (or I Think posada is Spanien for Inn). Dont expect a five star service. That in mind I Think the prices for the rooms are a bit higher, 97$ pr night. We booked through a travelagency and we godt it a lotte cheaper, luckily. The atmosphere around the hotel are noisy, so if you are looking for a quiet place, This isnt it. Wind blowing through Doors, pianoman playing 80's wondhits and dogs backing. If we knew abort the noisy surroundings we would have picked another place. The service is top through. Due to the noise we changed rooms two times and they were understanding and helpful. The beds ARE Hard as hell...
You can walk 30 seconds and you are on the beach, we chose to walk 20 mins to find a less crowded beach.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We had another great visit at Posada del Mar in January. I will keep coming back to this hotel the location, staff and rooms are perfect for me and everyone I travel with. Is it a 5 star hotel? No, and the price reflects that. The Posada del Mar is great for a budget minded traveler who wants to be in the best location. I love the beach across from the hotel where you are not packed in like sardines like on Playa Norte. Same sand, same water but much less people. The grounds are kept clean as is the pool. We watched Romy scrubbing the sides with a scrub brush for three hours. Yes, sand gets tracked into the pool but I guess I don't consider sand to be filth on a beach vacation.

This hotel is not for everyone. One day the water quit working and once we let the staff know the problem was fixed within one hour. If small things like having your shower delayed will ruin your vacation, perhaps you should stay elsewhere for twice as much money. The Posada has a great appreciation for return customers and went out of the way to make sure our stay was perfect.

This past visit, I was lucky enough to meet Nacho, the manager. He is a very kind man and went above and beyond duty when he found out we had scheduled a Trip Advisor Social there. I hadn't notified anyone because we weren't expecting many people but somehow Nacho had found out and made sure everyone felt welcome and had a great time.


Thank you Nacho and all the hotel staff for making our last stay perfect and I will see you next month for the second visit this year!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Heather D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Mar

Address: Avenida Rueda Medina 15A, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £50 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Posada del Mar, an island tradition! The Posada del Mar is located close to the downtown area, and a short distance from the island's world famous North Beach. We have 98 rooms with ocean and/or pool view, including rooms with flat-screen TVs, mini-refrigerators and in-room safe deposit boxes. All rooms have individual air-conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, cable TV, and private bath. The relaxing friendly atmosphere, is ideal for a pleasant and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Mar Isla Mujeres
Posada Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing