We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grows on you in a good way!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Posada Del Mar
Reviewed 5 March 2014

DH and I spent five nights in February in room 120 on the first floor, rear of building in a largish room with two beds. Pluses for this were easy access to everything including the sitting area with water dispenser, short cut to Hidalgo and quick hallway hike to the front desk and WiFi. The much-vilified shower stall window in the bathroom puzzles me because you only see shoulders up. Didn't bother us a jot. Our mini fridge had a disconcerting rust stripe down the front and we, too, had to find by trial and error (and the guy with the remote) a room temp we liked: 23 was perfect. Peeps do play the stupid towel game but we can out-rise most folks and we had breakfasted and changed into swim gear before 8 so found our spot under an umbrella most days, vacating around noon each day. Except for one yobo who (briefly!) thought the world wanted to listen to his country music poolside, the time next to the pool was serene. The gardens are very pretty and an older gentle man gardener made every day pleasant with his greeting and smile. Loved Jorge at the desk---so positive and full of great advice!

Since returning home, my DH has commented at least three times how our initial response to PDM was a little negative, but we quickly grew to like it very much.

PDM will not suit you if you are a control freak who wants to boast about your accommodations. It will suit you if you know how to kick back, relax and realize that anything is the sum of all its parts. We will return!

Room Tip: Don't sweat the small stuff.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FineMind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Posada Del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2014

We had booked online as a budget hotel. The room (120) smelled of mold and mildew. The room had two beds but the bathroom was blocked off with a window instead of a full wall (you could see another person showering) that didn't completely go to the ceiling. The room was stuffy. We asked for reassignment of a room and they were unable to accommodate, and refused to reimburse us. They also only provided two towels, and were off-put when we asked for more (there were three of us staying). We ended up moving to a different hotel. Our friends, who were in a different room, had on-going issues with hot water availability.

It is not worth the savings.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jennifer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

My first impression was, "work in progress", easy to see they are continuing to improve. This is our 7th year visiting the island, so we have stayed at a variety of places. Check in was easy, friendly at the desk. Our room was very clean and in good repair. The air conditioner worked great, too well as the bag boy adjusted it but took the remote when he left. Got another next day after a chilly night ;) Room location was in the "new" part, 2nd floor, (227) towards the back which made it very quiet. Romey at the bar was always friendly. Benita our maid was a sweetheart, loved the beautiful flowers & animals every day. Hotel location is fantastic right in the center of town, with in walking distance of everything. Pool was very nice and clean. Lovely beach right across the street. Pretty busy on a Sunday tho. This is the only place we have stayed that didn't offer any kind of breakfast, even at the price, which would have been nice. Even complimentary coffee and toast would be great and would bring some needed business into the restaurant. Plenty of places to eat near by too. One con: NO hairdryers- bring your own. They have a few to borrow, but were always gone. We would stay here again for sure.

Room Tip: Room #219 would be a lovely suite, we peeked in!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank utahdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Stayed here for 7 nights. We had prepaid via an online travel agent for a room in the new building. Beware when booking from websites as there are two new buildings, 1 and 2 but they are not always specified. The first room we were given #127 on the ground floor was located in new building 1. You could smell the mold and mildew from outside the room as you could even see the mold on the door...Although the room had two beds as requested, the shower was not private with one wall being a window so you could see the person showering while in the room. Was travelling with my 80 year old aunt so this did not work out. Also, the toilet paper holder was broken, as was the balcony railing for the patio and generally the room looked unclean with all the scruff marks everywhere. So, back to the reception we went and I explained in my broken Spanish about the “no privado” shower. They showed us room #130, this time located in new building 2, a little smaller but way better. Normal bathroom, with the AC, fridge,T V and very clean with a little patio with 2 chairs and a small table. Now the only funny thing was that they turned on the AC and then left us without the remote for it. So back to reception I went and was told that I would have to call them every time I wanted to change the settings or turn on/off the AC????What?? Since when do you not get a remote?!!! The receptionist was not very cooperative and said there was nothing she could do.

Okay so the next day, when they came to clean the room, I asked the maid for a remote to adjust the temp which I then hid and that was how we managed to keep it for the week. I always made sure it was out of sight when they came to clean the room.

The location was good, not too far from the ferry and close to the restaurants. You just cross the street and the beach is there, however it was not the cleanest with lots of smelly fish carcases. I was just fine at the pool which was excellent. There used to be a beach club right across the street owned by the hotel but rumour is that they did not pay the taxes so they lost the beachfront rights and the club was shut down. Back in the day, they supplied beach chairs and umbrellas free for the guests. Not anymore. You would have to go further down to rent something elsewhere.

We never had problems with hot water being on the ground floor but heard complaints from other guests that were on higher floors. Also, another guest reported his toilet flooding with their clothes getting wet so this seems to be a recurring theme based on other reviews. We discovered a crack in our toilet bowl on the 2nd day which wet the bathroom floor so we just put a towel around it and this worked out for us.

We did not eat at the hotel, except for getting some snacks and drinks at the bar which were fine, however the coffee was not good and only ready about 8:30am and I am an early riser. They did have a purified water dispenser in the hallway which you could fill up your water bottle with. They were also in the process of replacing old AC units with new one in some of the rooms so they are trying to improve things.

Quite honestly, I still cannot decide if I would stay here again...I would have to think about it.

Room Tip: Book a room in New Building 2, the ground floor seem to have less water issues.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Moqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

Posada Del Mar has an excellent location directly across from an open stretch of Playa Norte just 3 or 4 blocks up the road from the passenger ferry dock. The price is reasonable and the accommodations are what you should expect from that price: a clean bathroom with some toiletries, clean beds, sitting desk, TV and, if you pay for it, A/C. Most (if not all) rooms have balconies that can at least glimpse the ocean. There are beach chairs by the pool and chairs and beds overlooking the main beach (with the main road in between...I don't distract, it just gives more opportunities for people watching!) Penguinos, a bar and restaurant, is right on the premise also overlooking the beach.

There is wifi ONLY in the lobby - consider yourself warned - and A/C only in some rooms. Neither of these is a complain, just be prepared to relax and have a beautiful tropical breeze coming through your room!

One oddity that isn't a big issue is that the bathroom of each room is not 100% separated from the sleeping area: the shower has glass starting halfway up that looks into the room (and out to the ocean!) and the glass stops and the shower is open to the sleeping area about 3/4 of the way up. Again, not bad, just a warning!

The front desk is really only open 7am-11pm so if you have a late arrive you may have to navigate with some Spanish (you ARE in Mexico!) with the night guy who is kind but not always helpful. During the day sign out a beach towel at the front desk and return it before you leave. There are water coolers in the lobby and scattered around the first floor where you can fill bottles to bring back to your room or when you head out for the day.

Room Tip: Be in touch with the hotel a few days before you travel to see if you can choose your bed type. If...
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Good location across from the beautiful north beach. It has a Wonderful pool. Staff is very accommodating! Easy walk to restaurant street. Nice palapas and umbrellas at the pool. Rooms are very nice! The price is right. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Been to Isla Mujeres many times but somehow, I missed this gem. Right on the beach, close to Playa Norte and just about everything. I stayed in main building and it was just fine. No 5 star hotel but who wants that on the island. Very homey, Everyone was nice from Romey bartender to maids to front desk. Nice pool. Very secure safe was nice. Restaurants and bank within 2 blocks.
Location, location, location..

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cpaadmin63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
724 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
246 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
456 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Mar

Address: Avenida Rueda Medina 15A, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £50 - £121 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Posada del Mar, an island tradition! The Posada del Mar is located close to the downtown area, and a short distance from the island's world famous North Beach. We have 98 rooms with ocean and/or pool view, including rooms with flat-screen TVs, mini-refrigerators and in-room safe deposit boxes. All rooms have individual air-conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, cable TV, and private bath. The relaxing friendly atmosphere, is ideal for a pleasant and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Mar Isla Mujeres
Posada Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing