We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ask for a newer room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Posada Del Mar
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Ask for a newer room”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Our room was pretty run-down. We used a 3rd party site and booked at the last minute. We also only stayed for one night. I'm guessing if you book through the hotel, you may get a better room? We were in the older building. The doors were flimsy and no safe. Isla Mujeres is safe, but we don't travel anywhere national or international where our valuables and passports aren't "on us" or in a safe. It's not the staff we don't trust. Tourist areas attract opportunists. Posada del Mar does not offer safes, or at least not in the older rooms. The older wall unit air conditioner sounded like a train when it ran. There was a big piece of the closet door missing and a large gap around the exterior door and balcony door. The bathrooms smell because the elevation is so low. I don't think any of the hotels can help that. Just see if you can get a room on a higher floor. The rooms around the pool looked nice. The gentleman at the front desk was not all that happy to see more guests.
Based on their attitude, it seems like we tourists (or maybe just the "assertive" few) have invaded the natives space. Isla Mujeres is so beautiful and I hope to visit again, but can't help but feel we are not welcome to anyone but bartenders and waiters. The pool is nice and the hotel is directly across the street from the beach.

Room Tip: If you pay less than 700 pesos then it is a good deal. Some of the restaurants, ie JACK'S (on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank knotguilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    167
    148
    80
    65
See reviews for
140
218
16
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I have no major complaints about my stay here. I read a lot of reviews prior to booking, and had some concerns, but went for it anyway. Going in with low expectations, I have to say things were a bit better than expected. This is a very basic accommodation, nothing fancy, but room had everything I needed, was clean, and the location can't be beat. I stayed in a "deluxe" room in the "new" building (though nothing about it seemed deluxe or particularly new).

About the room: did have a slight musty smell, but I have found this to be the case in any tropical/humid area, and after the first day I didn't notice it any more. No insects anywhere. Room has a minifridge, AC and ceiling fan kept temps comfortable, tv worked but I only found 1 or 2 english-speaking channels, there is a safe in the room but you need to give a $100 (USD) deposit to get the key and the key was a bit difficult to operate.

About the hotel: small but nice pool, water coolers available so you don't have to keep buying bottled water (just buy or bring a bottle and keep refilling it for free), location is great (a short easy walk from the ferry terminal, 5 min walk from North Beach and lots of restaurants/bars nearby). I read a lot of reviews about rude front desk staff, but I did not find any of them rude. They certainly didn't go out of their way to be friendly, but I didn't have any problems and check-in/out was very fast and easy. Beach towels available from 9-5 at the front desk. Wi-fi only worked in lobby, so there were often lots of people in the lobby using their devices.

Hotel has 3 floors, and no elevators, so if you have mobility issues, you might want to request to be on the ground floor.

Overall, this hotel is certainly not bad, but I think overpriced for what it is. I imagine most hotels on Isla are similarly overpriced, but you are paying for the location, and the location is well worth it!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
boston
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent 6 nights there last week. There were 3 of us in one room. I have been coming here for almost 20 years and have seen lots of changes. This year the improvement was so noticeable. There are little sitting areas everywhere. The back yard has been planted with a large garden in the center. The room was fine, clean and comfortable. For those who complain about the front desk staff if you say hello and ask how they are it makes a world of difference.

I have stayed at most of the hotels on the island and feel that this hotel is a very good deal, It is
across from the beach, has a pool, a great location for walking everywhere, is very quiet, and very reasonable in price.

I would suggest this for anyone who has done their homework and does not expect a fancy resort.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank roryp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New England
Level Contributor
155 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

They say first impressions are important, so Posada del Mar got off to a poor start. When we showed up on checkin day at 330pm with our prepaid Orbitz confirmation, the very unfriendly gentleman at reception practically rolled his eyes, said little or nothing (several sighs though) and almost reluctantly handed over a key.

Our room on the third floor was pleasant enough, but by the pricing standards of the island overpriced by $25 to $30 per night. There was a comfortable king bed, AC that did work fine, a small balcony with a view of the ocean and a safe without a lock, which was not helpful. There was also that strange see through window and large gap between the bathroom and the room itself which we could not figure out. Upon entering there was a musty, moldy smell. However we put that down to the tropical location (we've noticed this before in the Caribbean) and an hour or two of running the ac, all but eliminated the odor.

We had drinks at the bar once (though we were told that mojitos were out of the question), swam in the pool once (though Mr Personality at the front desk refused to hand over beach towels, citing an end time for that of 4pm) and the next morning had breakfast at the restaurant onsite, which was excellent and the highlight of our stay.

We chose Posada del Mar primarily because of its location, close to our rental for the rest of our trip, which was not available for that first night, but practically next door. If a similar situation arises again, we would stay someplace else.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DuncanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

HI. we stayed here 2 weeks and had a deluxe room with air conditioning, tv, microwave and tiny fridge. Our room was lovely with a balcony that overlooked the beach and sea. Most of the staff were great, except Jorge was not helpful at first but warmed up to us. In the beginning we had wifi right in our room but after a week we had to go down to the office. Unfortunately we had no idea that the mardi gras was on at the end of our visit. One day it was soooo loud at the hotel with a sound system right in the bar running technopop at deafening decibels that we had to leave. Then they set up a stage in from of the hotel but it had a band, better music and we could stand it. There were large crowds in the street and in front of our hotel to the wee hours of the morning and trucks running the streets with boom boxes. Lots of partying. If you like to party, fine. If you don't want to party, the other end of the island would be better.
The hotel is very convenient to Playa Norte and all the downtown shops and restaurants. The pool is very nice and well kept and the place was wonderful for children.

Room Tip: We stayed in the new section as they have gradually developed the hotel over the years. It cost mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpat72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I paid extra for a "deluxe" room in which air conditioner did not work and no one ever came to fix it. Only the fan mode worked. Very weird bathroom set up. Glass panel in shower does not go to ceiling and is open for about two feet so that you can see top of person showering from the bed area, and also hear all noises and smell all smells from bathroom. Front desk was telling walk up customers room that was $90 on internet would be $150 per night.
Nice location

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MTChish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I loved this place. Good value, great location and with a bar and pool on site. The staff was totally friendly, I'm not sure what everyone is talking about with the unfriendly comments. Perhaps they should attempt speaking spanish in a spanish speaking country. It's respectful -just for starters. My Dad only speaks three words, & very poorly, but he tried and they laughed and encouraged him. The rooms were clean and the maid service was top notch. I would absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Numino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 692 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 388 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#17 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Posada Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Posada Del Mar

Property: Hotel Posada Del Mar
Address: Avenida Rueda Medina 15A, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 40 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Posada Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 98
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Hotel Posada del Mar, an island tradition! The Posada del Mar is located close to the downtown area, and a short distance from the island's world famous North Beach. We have 98 rooms with ocean and/or pool view, including rooms with flat-screen TVs, mini-refrigerators and in-room safe deposit boxes. All rooms have individual air-conditioning, ceiling fan, telephone, cable TV, and private bath. The relaxing friendly atmosphere, is ideal for a pleasant and memorable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Posada Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Posada Del Mar Isla Mujeres
Posada Del Mar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing