We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old Isla Mujeres Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Port Arthur, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Old Isla Mujeres Charm”
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Forget Ixchel, Isla Mujeres Palace, Hotel Villa Rolandi and all the new luxury boutique properties now filling up the island. For old Isla Mujeres charm there is only one Cabanas Maria del Mar, just steps from the best beach in town. In fact the nearest competition would be seven mile beach on Grand Cayman and there is very little old Cayman charm left in all the new high rise properties there. June of 2013 was about our third stay at the Cabanas Maria del Mar in many years of visiting Isla Mujeres. You just can't beat it in every category including price. The staff has always been outstanding, friendly and willing to go the extra step for you. You get old Isla Mujeres at its best. Playa Norte is just a few steps from your always clean room. If you're looking for a 5-star property this is not for you. If you want charming, clean, functional and a good value for your money - this is it. The setting is a landscaped fragrant tropical garden. There is a small pool which always seems to be too warm for cooling off but the sea is only steps away and always refreshing. We normally haggle around all over town for a golf cart but this trip for two carts, there was only a little haggling for a good deal through the hotel. When booking this property we have always had a great experience dealing via e-mail with Cabanas staffer
Clara Gamboa. She is a real delight and we always are glad to see her on arrival at the hotel. Yes, this property has not seen much updating over the years yet it retains its old island charm. One negative is that Wi-Fi is only available in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Tower rooms are closest to the beach. They used to have two beds but now have only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank romeosl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    243
    178
    84
    77
See reviews for
121
314
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

After we checked into the hotel, we heard several guests complain about bug bites. Three sets of travelers told us they had hundreds of bites on their legs, arms and faces. We immediately went to our room and founds hundreds of ants in both beds. We complained to the desk clerk who told us some people are more allergic to bugs. We said no, there are bugs in the beds!! The desk clerk was very rude. We immediately checked out of the hotel and found a hotel that was less expensive and there were no bugs in the beds. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel. Many many families were complaining about bug bites and we founds hundred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in beginning of June, during tropical storm Andrea. The best part of hotel was our balcony, could see the ocean when it wasn't down pouring rain! We couldn't get Internet service in our room but never had a problem connecting if we were at the restaurant. The garden was just beautiful with so many flowering trees and bushes. The pool was small but looked clean, we never made it in the pool as there was really not much time due to the non stop rain. They even had a bunch of floaties and toys for kids. The first night we came back to the hotel after being at the local bars and the whole place looked like it was closed up and locked, we were starting to panic when the night security guard came and opened the door for us. They lock the main entrance for security purposes which after the panic wore off, we appreciated the safety measures. We would definitely return to this hotel, but must say it is not for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyrenese331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hands down, the one thing this hotel has going for it is that it is less than $70/night and right on North Beach. True, it could use a little TLC and bug management, but if you want to walk out your door and in less than 50-100 feet be on the beach, you really cannot complain. I stayed in a second-floor cabana in the pool area. In comparison to typically Mexican hotels for this price, the room was a good size - there were two double beds in my room, at least 4 feet in between them, 2 feet on the other sides, and a good six feet between the foot of the beds and the bathroom wall. The bathroom was large with a full countertop, toilet and big shower. The hot water does take a few moments to come on, but you are in Isla Mujeres, for crying out loud - everything runs on a slower time here. Admittedly, I did have a lot of bugs in my room for the first few days - there was a line of tiny black ants that constantly moved along one wall, and a fruity beverage left on my nightstand for less than an hour became the drinking hole of some swarm of tiny gnats. Of course, I don't mind bugs as long as they aren't gross and don't bite/sting - this might be more problematic for someone who does. I do not think I would have endured the week-long rain storm as well without this cabana, though. In six days, we had about 4-5 hours of total sunshine. The rooms around the pool have spacious covered patios with tables and chairs; I spent most of my vacation in this spot writing. It is nice because you can be outside, despite the downpours, look out over a lush garden and pool area, and hear the waves (at least during a storm) on the beach. Each room has a fridge and A/C, too. I wish that it was a little cheaper for the solo traveler, but gone are the super-cheap days of fifteen years ago Mexico. If I were traveling with at least one other person with whom I could share a room, this place would be my first choice for the money and location. Do not factor the "free breakfast" into your decision - it's a joke, and the only thing I took away from the toast, OJ and coffee after the first morning was the coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraMaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
62 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

What makes a place the best place to stay?
1. Cleanliness - The Castle rooms were newer thus very clean and the Tower rooms are older but still a good basic comfortable room with a good bathroom.
2. Location - a stones throw from the beach, the best beach bar "BUHOS" and also the best Sunset spot. I think it also has the best strip of beach on Playa Norte with a great nixture of people loving the Sun and water. You can rent beach chairs or umbrellas for 50 pesos or sit under a coconut tree for free.
3. Ammenities - It has a chill pool in the gardens of the hotel, free mineral water fill ups, includes beach towels and it is managebly close to the Ferry Port with a 10 minute walk. They have the cheapest Golf Cart Rental called "EASY Rentals" for $580 pesos for 24hrs.
4. I've compared to Nabalam, Ixchel and Poc Na and as a matured traveller, this place has everyhting I need and less of those things that I dont need that are included in the price of a place to stay.
5. Food - Buhos is the beach bar of the hotel that is open to the public, has internet acces and your stay includes a continental breakfasdt of Toast, Juice and coffee. Take advantage of it then go for a nice lunch to MAnana on Guerero. Perfect.
6. Staff - Great!

Room Tip: Tower and Castle rooms have a sightline to the Beach because of its balconies. Take advantage of thi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MelosToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed here a year ago but I wanted to write a review after visiting the island again recently. We splurged and stayed somewhere different this time, but Cabanas is totally fine if you just want a place to shower and sleep. It is on the beach, though the view from your room (really your balcony) will probably be only a partial view of the beach. It is a very basic room in a very basic hotel, but if you want to spend all day on the beach & exploring the island, it will do the trick. The staff was pleasant, and the hotel does have a pool. They give you a complimentary breakfast ticket to take next door to a neat restaurant called Buhos which has a gorgeous view of the ocean, high palm branch ceilings, and sand floor. It's a simple breakfast of coffee, juice and toast but will get you going. There are lots of places to eat, so go somewhere else for "2nd breakfast" and see a different part of the island. It is a 5 minute walk to the beginning of the main pedestrian street and plenty safe to walk home at night.

Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank kpcharlier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
90 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We spent three wonderful days at the Maria Del Mar. The hotel is located about 300' from one of the prettiest beaches on Isla Mujeres. Their associated restaurant where continental breakfast is served is right on the beach. It is a short 5-6 block walk to the pedestrian only Avenida Hidalgo where several good restaurants and of course gift shops are located. The hotel has a nice swimming pool, however the chaise lounges leave a lot to be desired. Bring your own beach towel to put down on the mats. The rooms are large with new 9000 BTU A/Cs, TV, small refer, and very good lighting and a ceiling fan. Large bath towels were provided which in our experience in Mexican hotels is rare. Each room has a small sitting area outside with lights, fan, table and chairs. We played cards every evening. There was good water pressure and plenty of hot water for showers. Internet was a problem and we could only get on line down at the restaurant by the beach. On our last day, the router at the hotel was working, but it could be used only in the hotel lobby. We'll definitely return to Maria Del Mar. There were newer, nicer hotels on Isla Mujeres, but for the price, $210 USD for three nights, this would be hard to beat.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,306 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 839 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.0 of 5 bubbles 443 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Property: Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing