We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best beach on the entire Island, hands down!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best beach on the entire Island, hands down!”
Reviewed 11 July 2013

First if you are looking for a resort with updated fixtures, great hotel accommodations and great customer service... THIS HOTEL IS NOT FOR YOU. This hotel offers the bare minimum in accommodations and customer service. The only problem we had with the hotel was there was no phone in the room!!! We needed to call a taxi to take us to the airport. The front desk has a phone for use but only for a fee.
However if you are looking for a secluded beach with white sand and crystal/turquoise water...THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU! The location and price is unbeatable! We paid only $52 per/night! The hotel is in walking distance to a variety of restaurants and night life. We saved a ton of money because we did not have to rent a car. We took a snorkel tour and got see almost the whole island. Hands down this hotel has the best beach on the entire Island! We loved staying here. The beach was amazing, the restaurants were excellent, and it's in walking distance to downtown. We would defiantly come back. If you looking for something cheap with a great beach Cabanas Maria Del Mar is your hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    245
    180
    84
    78
See reviews for
124
316
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico, Missouri
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I spent 8 days here in September of 2012.

First I will say this... for two beach bums like us... there is no better, more convenient place than this. We walked off the tile walkway in front of our room and were literally standing on Playa Norte... our favorite beach ever. Our favorite beach bar, Chimbos, was just a few short steps away and we spent a LOT of time on that beach and in the clear blue waters. The hotel has a pool which is not huge but definitely big enough for the September crowd. I don't think we ever had to share it with anyone. The palapa overhangs and lush landscaping make this place gorgeous. The stain glass windows in the rooms make a picturesque view of the ocean at Playa Norte. Security is good too. The place is completely fenced (chain link as not to hide the view) and the gates are locked every night. The room was quaint and OK but not "luxury"... King size bed fit nicely with plenty of room on both sides and the bathroom was nice... but for the price (about $26 US a night per person) you cannot beat this place for service and location. You will spend so little time in the room it won't matter to you how big it is.

We will be going back here to this same room for a week in October of this year.

Room Tip: If you are there for the beaches.. ask for the ground floor closest to the beach. You will not be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DDreamsOfIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Olathe, Kansas
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Maria del Mar is located right on the beach. It's walking distance to everything you need, like restaurants, shopping and grocery store but far enough from downtown to get a good nights sleep. Beds are comfortable, purified water provided free of charge, staff is freindly and helpful and speaks English. We go in April when the Spring break crowds are gone. Terrific place to take the family and for a girls get away too!

Room Tip: Have stayed at this hotel 7 years in a row, each time in different rooms and all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Arthur, Texas
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Forget Ixchel, Isla Mujeres Palace, Hotel Villa Rolandi and all the new luxury boutique properties now filling up the island. For old Isla Mujeres charm there is only one Cabanas Maria del Mar, just steps from the best beach in town. In fact the nearest competition would be seven mile beach on Grand Cayman and there is very little old Cayman charm left in all the new high rise properties there. June of 2013 was about our third stay at the Cabanas Maria del Mar in many years of visiting Isla Mujeres. You just can't beat it in every category including price. The staff has always been outstanding, friendly and willing to go the extra step for you. You get old Isla Mujeres at its best. Playa Norte is just a few steps from your always clean room. If you're looking for a 5-star property this is not for you. If you want charming, clean, functional and a good value for your money - this is it. The setting is a landscaped fragrant tropical garden. There is a small pool which always seems to be too warm for cooling off but the sea is only steps away and always refreshing. We normally haggle around all over town for a golf cart but this trip for two carts, there was only a little haggling for a good deal through the hotel. When booking this property we have always had a great experience dealing via e-mail with Cabanas staffer
Clara Gamboa. She is a real delight and we always are glad to see her on arrival at the hotel. Yes, this property has not seen much updating over the years yet it retains its old island charm. One negative is that Wi-Fi is only available in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Tower rooms are closest to the beach. They used to have two beds but now have only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank romeosl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peoria, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

After we checked into the hotel, we heard several guests complain about bug bites. Three sets of travelers told us they had hundreds of bites on their legs, arms and faces. We immediately went to our room and founds hundreds of ants in both beds. We complained to the desk clerk who told us some people are more allergic to bugs. We said no, there are bugs in the beds!! The desk clerk was very rude. We immediately checked out of the hotel and found a hotel that was less expensive and there were no bugs in the beds. DO NOT STAY AT THIS HOTEL!!

Room Tip: Do not stay at this hotel. Many many families were complaining about bug bites and we founds hundred...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DianeMelanie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in beginning of June, during tropical storm Andrea. The best part of hotel was our balcony, could see the ocean when it wasn't down pouring rain! We couldn't get Internet service in our room but never had a problem connecting if we were at the restaurant. The garden was just beautiful with so many flowering trees and bushes. The pool was small but looked clean, we never made it in the pool as there was really not much time due to the non stop rain. They even had a bunch of floaties and toys for kids. The first night we came back to the hotel after being at the local bars and the whole place looked like it was closed up and locked, we were starting to panic when the night security guard came and opened the door for us. They lock the main entrance for security purposes which after the panic wore off, we appreciated the safety measures. We would definitely return to this hotel, but must say it is not for everyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pyrenese331
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Hands down, the one thing this hotel has going for it is that it is less than $70/night and right on North Beach. True, it could use a little TLC and bug management, but if you want to walk out your door and in less than 50-100 feet be on the beach, you really cannot complain. I stayed in a second-floor cabana in the pool area. In comparison to typically Mexican hotels for this price, the room was a good size - there were two double beds in my room, at least 4 feet in between them, 2 feet on the other sides, and a good six feet between the foot of the beds and the bathroom wall. The bathroom was large with a full countertop, toilet and big shower. The hot water does take a few moments to come on, but you are in Isla Mujeres, for crying out loud - everything runs on a slower time here. Admittedly, I did have a lot of bugs in my room for the first few days - there was a line of tiny black ants that constantly moved along one wall, and a fruity beverage left on my nightstand for less than an hour became the drinking hole of some swarm of tiny gnats. Of course, I don't mind bugs as long as they aren't gross and don't bite/sting - this might be more problematic for someone who does. I do not think I would have endured the week-long rain storm as well without this cabana, though. In six days, we had about 4-5 hours of total sunshine. The rooms around the pool have spacious covered patios with tables and chairs; I spent most of my vacation in this spot writing. It is nice because you can be outside, despite the downpours, look out over a lush garden and pool area, and hear the waves (at least during a storm) on the beach. Each room has a fridge and A/C, too. I wish that it was a little cheaper for the solo traveler, but gone are the super-cheap days of fifteen years ago Mexico. If I were traveling with at least one other person with whom I could share a room, this place would be my first choice for the money and location. Do not factor the "free breakfast" into your decision - it's a joke, and the only thing I took away from the toast, OJ and coffee after the first morning was the coffee.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TaraMaSue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,316 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
237 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Property: Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Priceline, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing