We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, horrible management”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 25 July 2013

First of all, the hotel is located 50 m. from the beach, which makes it ideal for those wanting to spend all day at the beach and have their room right behind their backs (like us). Our room (ground floor cabana) was big with a king size bed, very clean, but the shower had no curtain, and water was everywhere.

This would make the hotel almost idyllic, but.....It has probably the worst management i have ever seen...When you check in, they charge your credit card with a big amount (dont remember how much), just in case you damage the room. Sorry guys, but i've stayed in numerous hotels all around the world and havent seen that happening anywhere. It is insulting for the guests if you think about it...When you check out they return the amount of course (if you have behaved well).

But the surprises kept coming...The breakfast was awful (2 slices of toast, butter, marmelade, coffee, juice), and we had to take a coupon every day for that (like it was a royal breakfast or something). Milk and cereal dont cost that much, especially when they charge the room 45 euros/n, they should be providing an adequate breakfast.

And as if it wasnt enough, they also charge their beach chairs (8 euros!!) to their own guests. How lousy is that?? Thank god swimming if free..

If i knew i would had stayed somewhere else (lots of hotels in that area)!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gianna_Gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (727)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

284 - 290 of 727 reviews

Reviewed 24 July 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Cabañas Maria del Mar. We've stayed on the island several times, and while this hotel is not the most luxurious, it is exactly what we were looking for. If you want a newer, more 'American' style hotel, this may not be the right place for you. It is, for lack of better words, full of "Mexican" charm. The hotel is perfectly situated on Playa Norte, the rooms, though a little older, are quaintly appointed and immaculately clean. The beds are very comfortable, and there is plenty of hot water for showering. The pool and surrounding courtyard area are beautiful. Each room has its own balcony or patio, most overlooking the most beautiful beaches on the island. The staff is friendly, particularly the housekeeping staff. And for the very reasonable price of the room (around $50 US per night), to get a free Continental breakfast of Juice, Toast and Coffee served in their beautiful beach restaurant, was a lovely bonus. If you arrive on the island without beach towels, I would recommend you buy at least one in the downtown shops, as the hotel does not provide them. We will definitely stay at Cabañas Maria del Mar again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank merrywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you are looking for fancy schmancy this is not the place for you. It is for cool beach bums who appreciate the finer things in life, like a gorgeous beach, a beautiful sunset, and a bar with swings that is steps away. I will be returning to Maria's for the 5th time in about a week and I can't wait to be "home". Bring your beach chair and a good book (or 5), and enjoy the best beach on Isla.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jangmi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013

First if you are looking for a resort with updated fixtures, great hotel accommodations and great customer service... THIS HOTEL IS NOT FOR YOU. This hotel offers the bare minimum in accommodations and customer service. The only problem we had with the hotel was there was no phone in the room!!! We needed to call a taxi to take us to the airport. The front desk has a phone for use but only for a fee.
However if you are looking for a secluded beach with white sand and crystal/turquoise water...THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU! The location and price is unbeatable! We paid only $52 per/night! The hotel is in walking distance to a variety of restaurants and night life. We saved a ton of money because we did not have to rent a car. We took a snorkel tour and got see almost the whole island. Hands down this hotel has the best beach on the entire Island! We loved staying here. The beach was amazing, the restaurants were excellent, and it's in walking distance to downtown. We would defiantly come back. If you looking for something cheap with a great beach Cabanas Maria Del Mar is your hotel!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Melodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

My husband and I spent 8 days here in September of 2012.

First I will say this... for two beach bums like us... there is no better, more convenient place than this. We walked off the tile walkway in front of our room and were literally standing on Playa Norte... our favorite beach ever. Our favorite beach bar, Chimbos, was just a few short steps away and we spent a LOT of time on that beach and in the clear blue waters. The hotel has a pool which is not huge but definitely big enough for the September crowd. I don't think we ever had to share it with anyone. The palapa overhangs and lush landscaping make this place gorgeous. The stain glass windows in the rooms make a picturesque view of the ocean at Playa Norte. Security is good too. The place is completely fenced (chain link as not to hide the view) and the gates are locked every night. The room was quaint and OK but not "luxury"... King size bed fit nicely with plenty of room on both sides and the bathroom was nice... but for the price (about $26 US a night per person) you cannot beat this place for service and location. You will spend so little time in the room it won't matter to you how big it is.

We will be going back here to this same room for a week in October of this year.

Room Tip: If you are there for the beaches.. ask for the ground floor closest to the beach. You will not be d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DDreamsOfIsla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

Maria del Mar is located right on the beach. It's walking distance to everything you need, like restaurants, shopping and grocery store but far enough from downtown to get a good nights sleep. Beds are comfortable, purified water provided free of charge, staff is freindly and helpful and speaks English. We go in April when the Spring break crowds are gone. Terrific place to take the family and for a girls get away too!

Room Tip: Have stayed at this hotel 7 years in a row, each time in different rooms and all were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Theresa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2013

Forget Ixchel, Isla Mujeres Palace, Hotel Villa Rolandi and all the new luxury boutique properties now filling up the island. For old Isla Mujeres charm there is only one Cabanas Maria del Mar, just steps from the best beach in town. In fact the nearest competition would be seven mile beach on Grand Cayman and there is very little old Cayman charm left in all the new high rise properties there. June of 2013 was about our third stay at the Cabanas Maria del Mar in many years of visiting Isla Mujeres. You just can't beat it in every category including price. The staff has always been outstanding, friendly and willing to go the extra step for you. You get old Isla Mujeres at its best. Playa Norte is just a few steps from your always clean room. If you're looking for a 5-star property this is not for you. If you want charming, clean, functional and a good value for your money - this is it. The setting is a landscaped fragrant tropical garden. There is a small pool which always seems to be too warm for cooling off but the sea is only steps away and always refreshing. We normally haggle around all over town for a golf cart but this trip for two carts, there was only a little haggling for a good deal through the hotel. When booking this property we have always had a great experience dealing via e-mail with Cabanas staffer
Clara Gamboa. She is a real delight and we always are glad to see her on arrival at the hotel. Yes, this property has not seen much updating over the years yet it retains its old island charm. One negative is that Wi-Fi is only available in the restaurant.

Room Tip: Ground Floor Tower rooms are closest to the beach. They used to have two beds but now have only one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank romeosl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,382 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
425 reviews
0.2 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
881 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
457 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
359 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £61 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, HostelWorld, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing