We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bugs and flees in bed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bugs and flees in bed”
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We arrived at night to spend a planned 4 nights stay at Maria del Mar. After one hour my wife & I were attacked, by bugs & flees in the bed. Front desk was closed then. We waited outside the room till morning and checked out immediately. Stayed at near by motel with no bugs for one night, unfortunately we had to cut our vacation trip since my wife is allergic to Mosquitoes bite so rushed back to Los Angelus to get medical treatment. My wife spent 4 days in the hospital,
it was disastrous night & trip for me & my wife

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mike c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

699 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    245
    180
    84
    78
See reviews for
124
316
37
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Goodfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

4 years ago I stayed at Ixchel with my family. September 2012, my wife and I took our honeymoon and stayed at Privilege Aluxes. July 2013, we took a "Baby-Moon" as we are expecting this fall. I can say honestly that we truly enjoy Isla Mujeres as it is quaint, safe, and beautiful. Playa Norte is an amazing beach. The cafes and restaurants on the island are superb; our favorite part is trying different places to eat and people watching. We love going farther into the island and being a part of the rich Mexican culture. We feel like the island is very safe and unlike mainland Cancun, you can walk outside your hotel/resort and feel safe. The snorkeling is good, the water is turquoise blue, and the sunsets are gorgeous. All and all, Isla Mujeres is a great place to vacation! Now to the hotel...

We enjoyed a wonderful 7 night stay at Cabanas Maria Del Mar. I have stayed at Privilege Aluxes and Ixchel in the past, and although Cabanas was not as luxerious, the stay was still superb. I even believe that the location of Cabanas is the best on the entire Island; surely better than Privilege because Cabanas's beach is located directly on Playa Norte. We would have liked a little more options with the continental breakfast but the toast, orange juice, and coffee/green tea was sufficient to get the day going. The service at Buho's was good. Again, I cannot stress the location of this hotel as being one of the best on the island. We were right on Playa Norte, a short distance to some great snorkeling (we brought our own snorkeling gear), and a nice walk from Hidalgo where the restaurants are. We liked being somewhat removed from Hidalgo as it can be festive and noisy fairly late into the night. The lobby of Cabanas was serene, the staff were pleasant albeit somewhat shy, the grounds were well kept. My wife and I appreciated the quaint feeling of the hotel. The sun is intense so when we wanted to get in some shade we found the pool area to be perfect for lounging around and reading. There are four hammocks around the pool and about 4 sets of poolside cots with plenty of shade. There was an open room area close to the pool that had magazines and books available to read. Each afternoon our room was cleaned and she did an excellent job. The room was somewhat bare but there was everything we needed- king bed, table with two chairs, two night stands, and patio. The small fridge was cold and kept our drinks cold. The safe was handy. We were in room 15, on the main floor, and 100 feet from the beach. We didn't have to climb any stairs and were literally footsteps from Buho's (where breakfast is) and Playa Norte. There were large dispensers of purified water (one right outside of our room) which was cold and very nice to have. The bathroom was tiled well. The shower head could probably stand to be replaced but it spewed a sufficient amount of water with adequate pressure for all of our showers. We did not have a problem with hot water; in fact, it was too hot and hard to get cooler. Nonetheless, at the price we paid, we felt like it was very nice!

Overall, it was a great stay. Again, I don't think we were robbed of any less of an experience by staying at Cabanas instead of Privilege or Ixchel. In fact, those beach areas were packed. Cabanas has a large beach area and because it is a smaller hotel, there was a whole lot more space. And, again, arguably the best location on Isla Mujeres/Playa Norte.

We did miss Privilege's breakfast buffet and would recommend that Cabanas updates its breakfast situation. Not the location but the foot.

We would definitely stay there again and in the same room which was so handy. Great value for the money!

Room Tip: Room 15 was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Layne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Majorca, Spain
Level Contributor
49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Cabanas Maria

Landed at Cancun Airport. When you pass immigration and the luggage control and get out of the first sliding door there is a money exchange to your left. Change some money there if you are travelling with Euros or other common currencies in order to obtain Pesos , the Mexican currency. If you have already USD with you , there is no need to change as at all the touristic places nearby such as Cancun, Isla Mujeres and Cozumel USD is accepted and change is given back in Pesos. Prices throughout Mecixo are always quoted in Pesos , even if the writing with a sort of USD symbol lets you first think of a USD price list. Echange rate in July 2013 was 15 pesos/1 Euro.

We chose USA Transfer to get us in a private shuttle from Cancun Arport to Isla Mujeres and later from there to Cozumel and back to the airport. We organized the transfer through per website by email in advance and had their voucher with us.They have greeters outside the airport, so we quickly found the right person and within a few minutes we were in our Minivan and on our way to the ferry . Check out their very competitive prices. It is heaven if you are travelling with a lot of luggage and want to get quickly to your final destination.

The port of Juarez is a little port and you are dropped right in front of the alley which leads to the embarking site. You purchase the tickets right there (12 USD round trip to Isla Mujeres with ferries leaving every 30 minutes) and bell boys help you with the luggage and accept whatever you pay them ( make it 1 USD per luggage piece). At the pier there is another money exchange booth which had a better exchange rate than the one at the airport so do not hesitate to exchange even at small sites as usually they do not take any additional commission so you can compare the exchange rate very easily.

The ferry takes 20 minutes to Isla Mujers and you can either sit inside with air-condition for enjoy the turquoise sea from the open roof-top.
When you arrive, just step out and walk to the street where taxis are waiting to drive you to the hotel (40 pesos).

The Cabanas de Maria Mar are in Calle Carlos with Lazo at Playa Norte. Some 80 steps to the left is the beach. This is the quiter side of the island with a nicer beach to chill whereas the “ferry” side offers more restaurants, shopping and small supermarkets.

The hotel itself is a compound built like a horseshoe with small terraced houses and a small pool and small garden in their centre. Each house has two storeys and two rooms are sharing the common terrace on each floor.
Rooms are clean, equipped with ventilation, air-condition , fridge and safe. Furniture is basic and shows its age but beds had good, firm matrasses . Bathroom had a big shower and was sufficiently equipped. All in all no luxery but a functional accommodation for your beach holiday or whale shark encounter (which was our purpose).

Breakfast is served at Buro´s open-air restaurant at the nearby beach and includes two slices of French toast with butter and jam free of charge. Additional plates such as pancakes, yogurt or scrambled eggs are extra and have to be paid in cash (either USD or Pesos). At Buro´s you also get WLAN for free as guest of Cabanas Maria but the signal can be very weak. There is no internet at the room or the reception available.

The beach at Buro´s is a beautiful sandy white beach with picturesque palm trees where you can rent either the classical plastic sunbeds with umbrella (150 pesos for 2 sunbeds and one umbrella per day – and for each of the three receipts you get a coke or sprite for free) or teak beds with curtains to spend the day.

Another relaxing activity is driving around with a golf cart which can be hired at the reception for 40 USD for a day (9:00 – 5:00pm). Just follow the main road at the ferry pier and without need of a map you get on a round circuit with nice stops such as a turtle protection center, dolphin place (don´t go) , scenic points and many beaches. You can do the tour in an hour if you don´t stop anywhere for long but more relaxing to get the cart for a day, Bring your driving licence!!!

We enjoyed great snorcheling with whale sharks and mantas and had dinner at various restaurants. We can recommend Ronaldi´s (Italian food), Compadres (opposite Ronaldi´s) which offers simple but delicious Mexican food and Oliva , a great open-air place in a garden setting offering Mediterreanian food.

We really enjoyed our stay and moved than to Cozumel which we did not like at all and wished we would have prolonged our stay in Isla la Mujeres instead. We would again stay at the Cabanas as it is the nicest place on the island, on the best beach and conveniently within walking distance to the restaurants, ferry pier and shops.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kokukan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2013

First of all, the hotel is located 50 m. from the beach, which makes it ideal for those wanting to spend all day at the beach and have their room right behind their backs (like us). Our room (ground floor cabana) was big with a king size bed, very clean, but the shower had no curtain, and water was everywhere.

This would make the hotel almost idyllic, but.....It has probably the worst management i have ever seen...When you check in, they charge your credit card with a big amount (dont remember how much), just in case you damage the room. Sorry guys, but i've stayed in numerous hotels all around the world and havent seen that happening anywhere. It is insulting for the guests if you think about it...When you check out they return the amount of course (if you have behaved well).

But the surprises kept coming...The breakfast was awful (2 slices of toast, butter, marmelade, coffee, juice), and we had to take a coupon every day for that (like it was a royal breakfast or something). Milk and cereal dont cost that much, especially when they charge the room 45 euros/n, they should be providing an adequate breakfast.

And as if it wasnt enough, they also charge their beach chairs (8 euros!!) to their own guests. How lousy is that?? Thank god swimming if free..

If i knew i would had stayed somewhere else (lots of hotels in that area)!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gianna_Gi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We really enjoyed our time at Cabañas Maria del Mar. We've stayed on the island several times, and while this hotel is not the most luxurious, it is exactly what we were looking for. If you want a newer, more 'American' style hotel, this may not be the right place for you. It is, for lack of better words, full of "Mexican" charm. The hotel is perfectly situated on Playa Norte, the rooms, though a little older, are quaintly appointed and immaculately clean. The beds are very comfortable, and there is plenty of hot water for showering. The pool and surrounding courtyard area are beautiful. Each room has its own balcony or patio, most overlooking the most beautiful beaches on the island. The staff is friendly, particularly the housekeeping staff. And for the very reasonable price of the room (around $50 US per night), to get a free Continental breakfast of Juice, Toast and Coffee served in their beautiful beach restaurant, was a lovely bonus. If you arrive on the island without beach towels, I would recommend you buy at least one in the downtown shops, as the hotel does not provide them. We will definitely stay at Cabañas Maria del Mar again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank merrywench
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

If you are looking for fancy schmancy this is not the place for you. It is for cool beach bums who appreciate the finer things in life, like a gorgeous beach, a beautiful sunset, and a bar with swings that is steps away. I will be returning to Maria's for the 5th time in about a week and I can't wait to be "home". Bring your beach chair and a good book (or 5), and enjoy the best beach on Isla.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jangmi74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2013

First if you are looking for a resort with updated fixtures, great hotel accommodations and great customer service... THIS HOTEL IS NOT FOR YOU. This hotel offers the bare minimum in accommodations and customer service. The only problem we had with the hotel was there was no phone in the room!!! We needed to call a taxi to take us to the airport. The front desk has a phone for use but only for a fee.
However if you are looking for a secluded beach with white sand and crystal/turquoise water...THIS IS THE HOTEL FOR YOU! The location and price is unbeatable! We paid only $52 per/night! The hotel is in walking distance to a variety of restaurants and night life. We saved a ton of money because we did not have to rent a car. We took a snorkel tour and got see almost the whole island. Hands down this hotel has the best beach on the entire Island! We loved staying here. The beach was amazing, the restaurants were excellent, and it's in walking distance to downtown. We would defiantly come back. If you looking for something cheap with a great beach Cabanas Maria Del Mar is your hotel!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melodie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
389 reviews
0.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,319 reviews
0.1 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
849 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
449 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cabanas Maria Del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cabanas Maria Del Mar

Property: Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Address: Avenida Carlos Lazo 1, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Cabanas Maria Del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Ebookers, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Cabanas Maria Del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cabanas Maria Del Mar Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing