We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Plaza Almendros(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$91
US$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$275
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$260
US$236
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$729
US$709
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$80
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Kinich(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$108
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$193
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$97
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Rocamar(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$144
US$106
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maria's Kan-kin(Isla Mujeres)
US$177
US$173
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (757)
Filter reviews
757 results
Traveller rating
126
268
189
90
84
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
268
189
90
84
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscastle sectioncabana roomjuice and coffeetower roommexican hotelincluded breakfastbeach barbeautiful beachsmall poolhot waterbest beach on the islandthe main hotelpalm treesceiling fangolf cartworked greatthird floor
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
297 - 302 of 757 reviews
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This hotel was good value for money, near the beach and nice room. Unfortunatley the air conditioner was really loud so hard to sleep. Had a room on ground facing pool (57)very nice with a water jug for hot and cold water very useful and a table and chairs on the patio. Had a safe in room which is a must to be comfortable in leaving valubles in room. Beds not that comfortable but noisy A/C was a problem. No view or patio in back. Overall I would stay there again good location.

Room Tip: Make sure A?C is not too Noisy otherwise rooms are adequate near pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montrealer86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

The room on the ground floor was big but the decoration was really old-fashioned and ugly and the room smelled of very strong chemical cleaning products. At check-in we were made to sign separately for each item we received (remote control for the TV, key for safety box, beach towels) which is rather inefficient and not customer-friendly. The patio was nice but the swimming pool was rather dirty. Continental breakfast was included in the price but it was a big disappointment! it was only a cup of coffee, 2 slices of toast and a diluted tetrapak orange juice! When I asked to have some milk they told me that I had to pay it separately!! Wifi is only available at the bar across the street. The location was nice though, right in front of the beach.
So for the price we paid I was expecting a bit more.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Despina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2013

I enjoyed my stay at the Maria Del Mar and Isla Mujeres. I stayed in the bottom floor Cabanas rooms. I think all of the reviews are pretty accurate, regardless of where the site the review is posted. I looked at all of them and there were no surprises when I checked in and saw my room. The hotel was like staying at grandma’s house. It was clean, but it was older. The decorations were not up to date. The bathroom was not new. And the beds and electronics were a couple of decades old. But you have a great beach right out the door and that is where you spend most of your time. The staff was nice, but not in a hurry, or overly anxious to go the extra mile. If you went to the bar area, you were not waited on until you asked for something. The bar is the only place for Wi-Fi at the hotel, but you are on vacation right? The beach was wonderful, but it is not as private as it is advertised. It is not really crowed, but the street ends at the beach/hotel and that is where a lot of people from other interior hotels meet. Everything for the most part was within walking distance and easily accessible.
As for Isla Mujeres…. It is not a party island. It is a place to relax. So don’t expect dancing in the streets or much dancing in business’ or on the beach. It is not modernized like Cancun in anyway. You hang out at the beach and go eat at night. There are some tours you can do to fill the day. And a word of caution… if you go on anything that requires a boat, take something for motion sickness. Like the majority of the people I ran across, I have never gotten motion sickness in my life, but the small boats and consolidation of them in some areas had people hanging their heads overboard everywhere. After that, your day is shot. So be safe and take the pill before you go. Don’t take the chance.
As for the money exchange…. TAKE PESO’S and get them before you go. Let me say again… GET PESO’S BEFORE YOU GO!!!! Their exchange rate at the hotels, restaurants, shops, and bars is horrible. You will lose up to 2.5 pesos per usd. And they have mastered tacking on additional fees. If you want to put anything on a credit card, they will convert to the lowest exchange rate and then tack on 5-6% usage fee for the card. As for shopping and food… It’s pretty much the same as you get anywhere else in Mexico. However, I found the prices to be higher than expected. It was very hard to find any meal, including breakfast, that was not highly priced. You could find three tacos and two beers for 85-90 pesos. But you do get tired of tacos after a while. The mixed drinks were high also. Most full meals were close to $10usd or more. Some ran close to $15-$20usd. The shops want your business, but you will not get quite the bargain you are expecting. Everyone wants to sell you Cuban cigars, but be careful because a lot are fake and overpriced. There is a place on the corner close to Hidalgo Street that is a Havana cigar club. Go there. Good prices and you know they are real.
So, would I go back to the Maria Del Mar and Isla Mujeres? Yes…. If I want to relax and hang out at the beach. The whole island felt safe and was at a slow pace. And everyone was nice. I met people from all over the world and had a great time talking to them. If you are looking for dancing and parties at night, or if you are looking for great diving and tours, you might want to go someplace else. And if you want to be pampered and waited on, don’t go to Isla Mujeres or the Maria Del Mar.
So after reading the reviews of the island and most of the hotels, I would say that they are pretty much spot on. You will find those who had a bad experience and you will find those that saw the island with rose colored glasses. I think that is true of most place people go. I would say the majority rules in this case. Have fun.

Room Tip: I stayed at the Cabanas bottom floor. Right next to pool and it was clean and quiet.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Scott Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

The hotel has 24 hour manned service and were incredibly efficient when I checked out at 5.00am. You do have to give your credit card details as a deposit - they do not take any money from your account and return your details when you check out.

The rooms have air conditioning, a tv, a fridge and large beds. The view was amazing - looking over the sea and the rooms were clean and tidy.

There is a bar and restaurant - you receive a token for your continental breakfast each morning and the bar/ restaurant is on the beach with a perfect view of the sunset.

This part of the beach is the best, however, slightly spoilt by the day trips that come every day - the boats sit in the sea from 11-3ish and slightly block the view, this is a tiny point though and the beach is fantastic- white sand and clear turquoise sea.

Room Tip: This is a great place to travel alone or in a group.
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank l1l1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Fellow Travelers,
The reviews you read about CMDM are fairly accurate. It is a basically clean, no frills, quiet place to sleep in Isla Mujeres. How much time do you really spend in your room anyway? One thing to consider though.....yes, it is technically beachfront, but it does not include the use of any chairs/beds/umbrellas on the beach!! So, work that 100-300 pesos per beach day for those amenities into your budget. Here's a propina for you though.....walk down towards the Avalon on Zazil Ha until you come to the beachfront restaurant/bar/club called Fenix on the left hand side of the bridge. You can use the beds/umbrellas there as long as you spend 200 pesos eating and/or drinking at the club. This is also a great place to hang out as there is always a breeze coming off the Caribbean and there is fun snorkeling on the right side of the bridge out close to the rocks. Lots of fish (take stuff to feed them), clear shallow water, and in the afternoon you can watch all of the people wade in from boat tours who paid to snorkel there!!! This is a great place to meet locals and visitors from all over the world.....very laid back with live music in the afternoons.....there's even a chiropractor/masseuse right there next to the club on the beach for those of you who need more than mere alcohol to relax......uno mas Dos XX con limon por favor....aaaahhhhhhhhhh................ask for Jorge.......

Room Tip: Try the cabanas rooms near the pool, nice porch with clothesline to hang wet stuff.....
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmsmith20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews