We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$96
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Privilege Aluxes(Isla Mujeres)
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$236
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Ixchel Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$428
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$262
Official Hotel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Na Balam Beach Hotel(Isla Mujeres)
US$254
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$247
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Nautibeach Condos(Isla Mujeres)
US$286
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Isla Mujeres Palace(Isla Mujeres)
US$570
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$497
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Rocamar(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$93
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi(Isla Mujeres)(Great Value!)
US$103
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Casa de los Suenos(Isla Mujeres)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel D'Gomar(Isla Mujeres)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (1,587)
Filter reviews
1,587 results
Traveller rating
1,211
250
80
30
16
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,211
250
80
30
16
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsle metissageprivate yachtsteam showerthe cocoonjuan carlosplaya lindasalt water jacuzzifrench mexican fusiongolf cartsunset cruiseyacht ridemain poolpool staffmain restaurantprivate jacuzzipublic ferrysmall resort
Filter
Updating list...
936 - 941 of 1,587 reviews
Reviewed 18 June 2013

Okay...I would start by saying the place is very nice, the grounds are kept immaculate. The people are very friendly, from the restaurant staff to the check in clerks. The food is amazing, eat the fish, it is very fresh from the sea to the kitchen. We stayed in room 304, no problems, air worked excellent, room was very nice, bed very comfortable and the view you cannot beat.

We were picked up at the airport and taken to Playa Linda Dock, we then were picked up by the very comfortable yacht Cocoon owned by Villa Rolandi and taken to the hotel, it was very nice, very private and we loved it.

Now it comes the HOWEVER, we are beach people, we like the water, the hotel beach is bad, and I mean bad, there is basically no beach, I was expecting to see a white sandy beach, granted I knew it was not going to be a big area, but I expected the beach to be at least swimable, not in this case. There are grasses growing in the water so you cant see the bottom and when you step on it it feels as is there is something running in between your feet, very weird sensation, I was not a fan at all. I took one star out of five because of it. Let me point out the beach area was kept immaculate.

Now, what we did was rent the golf cart and explore the island every day, we found beautiful beaches and had a great time. Golf carts can be rented at the hotel, they just need 24h notice, sometimes less if they are not busy. While we were there it was not busy at all maybe 12 rooms occupied out of 35. Let me make a suggestion, include the breakfast in the room rate, breakast was delicious and the omelettes are amazing and very tasty.

Would I go back to Villa Rolandi? NO, we would not go back because of the beach area, would I recommend it? Yes, just because we did not enjoy the beach area does not mean other people wont. The service is amazing, the people are friendly and always we a smile.

Muchas Gracias a todos.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank DEBBIE A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

Service and hotel are incredible!! From the time we arrived at the airport to being picked up by the yacht was 1st class service!! We celebrated out engagement and coming back to get married at this hotel! We are looking forward to coming back!! You must see the whole island!! Amazing views!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Normacampuzano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2013

The good: The property - beautiful and well maintained; the pools are fantastic. The rooms -large and comfortable - can't beat the view from your bed; the decor is classy; the bathrooms are well-appointed; some of the furniture is in need of replacement or repair; A/C needs to be updated for the climate (sometimes uncomfortably warm at night). The Spa - the best relaxtion massage my husband and I have ever had; the service is the best at the hotel. Overall, A- on the property. The room cleaning service was very good and very honest. We felt good about that gratuity!

The bad: Our arrival - our plane landed in Cancun 20 minutes early. The airport taxi staff phoned Augustine (awesome car service) and he arrived immediately. Augustine phoned Rolandi to alert them of our arrival and they said it would be noon before they arrived at the port; this was at 10:45 am. They finally arrived at 12:30. We were originally told that we might have to wait 30 - 45 minutes for the yacht to retrieve us; however, this doubled that estimate. All was good since we just arrived and had great margaritas at the port bar. Upon arrival at the hotel, all seemed to be fine. Victor greeted us and went through our paperwork / took our passports. Our reservation was recorded incorrectly; however, he got that straightened out in 15 minutes or so. We were taken to our room (I agree with everyone who recommends the higher floors) where we were told that the ceiling fan was being cleaned and it would only be a few minutes; to wait in the bar and someone would get us when it was ready. This was around 1:20. We went to the restaurant to grab lunch thinking the room would be good to go by the time we finished. The restaurant service was awful; no one waited on us until my husband went to the huddle of servers and asked for service. The food came quickly and then our server disappeared. Around 3 PM (yes, > 1.5 hrs later), I left the restaurant to check with the front desk on our room, which was ready (nope, no one came to let us know as committed). It took another 15 minutes to get our check, again upon my husband having to seek it out. So, we arrived in Cancun around 10 am and got into our room after 3 PM. Day 1 - shot. The kicker - when I was unpacking I could not find our passports. Obviously in a panic I retraced that we had furnished them upon request at check-in and they were not returned. I called the front desk and was initially told they didn't have them; however, they did find them and stated they'd send them up immediately. We received them 25 minutes later. The restaurant - don't get the American breakfast option; sausage = hot dog; cinnamon toast and waffles are served cold; eggs over easy are a mystery; the fruit is awesome. Our service in the restaurant at breakfast was abysmal. We figured the 1st day was a misfire so we tipped 20% on what the breakfast would have cost had it not been included. Days 2 and 3 were no different; yet we continued to tip 20%. We didn't; however, return for our remaining breakfasts. Pool side & beach service - again, we kept to a > 20% gratuity theme throughout the entire visit hoping our service would improve, yet we always had to request service - for anything. We continued to be courteous and polite (c'mon, we Southerners, we don't know any other way) - as was the staff, but frequently asked "how hard is it to get a drink around here?".

BTW, we asked the front desk to arrange a golf cart rental for our stay and were told we had to go into town to rent one. What's up with that when others posted that the front desk handled their rental...???

The ugly - good news . . . there is no "ugly". The beauty and location of the property, the spa, and the ambience of the experience almost make up for the poor service. The trip, overall, still warrants a "4", but there are improvements to be made in customer service. We chalked the service issues up to our reservation being from a discounted Living Social voucher; 2nd class citizens.

We actually look forward to our return. We are hopeful that our service issues were a one-off and our return will remedy our poor first impression.

The island is wonderful -
- The Soggy Peso (strong margaritas and delicious ribs on Sunday night)
- Mango (great breakfasts and lunches; closes at 3 each day)
- North Beach (calm waters, great service staff, cheap chairs and umbrellas)
- Wonderful cab drivers (all gave local information and were professional / courteous)
- Golf cart, golf cart, golf cart - gotta get one - exploring the island with a cooler of cerveza is part of the fun
- Sunsets are amazing
- The Villa Rolandi side of the island is quiet with very little traffic
- Met some great people poolside; everyone is in a good mood in paradise.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank CW2nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

Villa Rolandi is a small, well run, quiet property on the charming island of Isla Mujeres.

What we liked:

1. With only 35 rooms you are afforded lots of personal, but not obtrusive attention. Everyone is friendly and knowledgeable. Our greeter, Victor, was especially helpful in getting us started.

2. There are three pools, each seeming to perform a different function. The largest pool seemed to be the center of recreation. The salt water pool was the place to relax after a long day and the smaller fresh water pool for swimming laps. All of the pools were well maintained, and a joy to use (not too hot, not too cold).

3.. The restaurant was excellent. We tried almost everything and, with a couple of exceptions were well pleased. It's a little curious, though, that there was no attempt to compliment the Italian fare with a little bit of local fare. However, that can be had elsewhere on the island. We had emailed the hotel 1 week prior to arrival stating that two of our party needed gluten free food. The chef and wait staff went out of their way to see that we were accommodated.

4. The beach is small but private. Usually there were only a few people there. No outside vendors or tourists will hassle you.

5. The Hotel is away from the busiest parts of Isla Mujeres. The street in front of the hotel is relatively quiet, which lends to a good night's sleep.

The quibbles (I stress that these are minor in comparison to the 'likes'.)

1. If you get a noisy group around the pool, as we did the last 2 days we were there, as the resort is small it is hard to get away without leaving the area. Also, if you want privacy, ask for a room on the 2nd or 3rd floor as the 1st floor rooms open directly onto the pool area. On the other hand, the 1st floor rooms allow you to wake up and jump in/out of the pool for a morning refresher.

2. Our room cleaning occurred quite late in the day, approx. 2-3pm and turndown service happened as late as 9:15pm.

Some suggestions:

1. Rent a golf cart through the front desk. There are lots of interesting things to do on Isla Mujeres and all can be reached in no more than 10-15 minutes in a cart. The cart rental fees include refueling each evening. We went one place or the other every day.

2. Get to know Victor and the owner of the hotel jewelry shop, Jorge. They both steered us to out of the way, excellent shops and restaurants. We had the best local food in a little hole in the wall (imagine plastic chairs and red and white plastic checkered tablecloths) that we would have never found if it weren't for Jorge.

3. Bring lots of sun screen.

We will definitely return to Villa Rolandi.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank outsdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

While we didn't stay at the hotel, all the girls I came to Isla Mujeres with had a spa day there. The massage was amazing!! We all had a body scrub, Swedish massage and body wrap. It was so peaceful and such a nice place! The staff even allowed us to hang out by the pool afterwards and have a drink. It was such a great place! Next time I go to Isla, I'd love to stay here too!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews