We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We are a middle-aged couple & went to this hotel for our honeymoon. The views, flowering plants, pools, weather and ocean were simply beautiful! It was a little slice of paradise.
The wait staff were extremely efficient and kind. They made us feel truly pampered! The food was very good but overpriced if you did not get a 'meals included' package.
Ok, so why the mediocre review if so many positives?? One word SCORPION! Getting out of my shower one morning, I was stung by a scorpion hiding in the towel on the floor! It was not the horrible pain and fear that I remember most, it is the hotel management's complete ignoring of what happened that bothers me most! I never even received a sorry or are you ok from the general manager. The only person who helped me was Rene, a maintenance man. He brought me ice and called the paramedics. Forget about any apologies from the manager, let alone any compensation offer. I couldn't believe it and I understand it's a natural environment but to say nothing to me for the last 3 days we were there left me feeling sour and resentful at checkout. We won't ever return to this hotel because of this.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Jenellrae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,362 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,037
    222
    63
    25
    15
See reviews for
95
976
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Elmwood Park, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Just returned from our 7-day stay at Villa Rolandi. Everything was first class from the yacht trip
to the dining room, staff, wonderful pools and private beach. Once again we were not disappointed. Everything was perfect. The rooms are clean and beautiful, shower and steam
were excellent. The view from our balcony was amazing while eating a delicious breakfast
and drinking coffee. This resort is very relaxing and beautiful. We will be back next year.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 94DianeC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenwich, CT
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

After a horrible winter in south western Connecticut we spent the first 2 weeks of March @ our favorite place in Mexico, the Hotel Villa Rolandi. Everything @ the Villa meets our needs for a peaceful and relaxing vacation. The rooms are beautiful, the food and drinks perfect. Transportation flawless. The staff knows what we want, often before we want it, whether it is early morning coffee, even @ 6:30 am, rolls @ dinner rather than their famous "puffy" bread or take out dessert after dinner. The grounds are so well maintained, the pools are lovely and the beach is small and quiet. Perfect for that re-charging vacation. We look forward to always returning to this little gem on the Island of Women.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank novac108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania, Usa
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Beautiful property. Great infinity pool. Wonderful food in a beautiful dining room hanging over the sea.
Property needs a little renovating. Front desk staff not the least bit helpful and often just matter if fact and even unfriendly.
10 minute taxi to North Beach which is great. Easy chair and umbrella rentals - all with drink and food service right in your chair.
Will definitely return.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lawrence I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowlett, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2014

Yacht transfer - trip over was rough (weather related) but other than that it was as to be expected. They were on time to the docks, and helped us and our luggage on and off the boat. Even had umbrellas for us to use during the downpour.

I was very much excited about this trip, but it did not start out on a good note at all.

Reception- We were told check in was at 3 pm(it was 1:30) and our room was not ready yet. The couple who had been on yacht with us and checked in ahead of us were promptly checked in and given a room....we had booked 2 months in advance, they had booked less than a week prior. We waited and waiter on our room. Around 3:15 the man working the front desk gathered his things and departed the hotel, not acknowledging that we were still waiting. At this time, I went back to desk and asked about our room as we had been ignored for over 1.5 hrs. A woman then looked down, said hold on just a moment. Momentarily she handed us our keys, and gave us no information on the resort. Nothing about the restaurant, or kayaks, or pools. Absolutely nothing. I asked about the wifi, as I had seen them give the gentleman in front of me the code and she proceeded to tell me it was down and refused to give me the password. Definitely a less than stellar start to what was supposed to be a great weekend and a wonderful hotel.

Rooms are nice and large. Bed was very hard, and I had trouble sleeping However, this tends to be the same everywhere we stay in Mexico. Shower was very large and nice. On Saturday the water was out for 3 hours during day and in the evening the water pressure was still very low, and hot water was nonexistant. Hot tub on balcony was nice and stayed warm longer if you turned it way up and left the cover on it.

Pools were nice and clean, and cold.

Beach- Very small - but clean, remote, and private

The food at the restaurant was good, but a little on the pricey side. Breakfast was included, but it would be a little better if they gave options aside from eggs.

We took a cab in and out of town, but you can also went golf carts. walking is possible, but its a long walk to just about everywhere.

Overall, I would probably stay here again, and hope that we just caught people on a bad day. It was a nice hotel, and there are some great places to eat on the island.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FigureThisOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

My husband gets mad when I tell people about this place. He thinks I'm spoiling it for us :) We have stayed here four times and love it every single time!!

First, they meet you at the airport and you are whisked away to the ferry terminal. There you are met by a private boat which carries you over to Isle Mujeres...amazing little island. You are then met at the dock by a crew ready to take your luggage. Upon check-in you are given cool towels and a welcome beverage.

The rooms are amazing. All ocean front with private balconies that have a jacuzzi on them. Go higher floor for more privacy. Bedding is so comfortable and rooms are well appointed. Pool and public jacuzzi are huge. Remember there are only 35 rooms so no fighting for a chair or beach room (although the beach is very small!!)

Food at the restaurant is top notch!!! We've had both breakfast (included when we booked through Expedia) and dinner there. AMAZING!!!! They give the best tables, the ones closest to the edge with water lapping under the dock right underneath you, to the guests staying at the resort.

Isle Mujeres one of our favorite islands and we travel a lot!!! The people are so kind and welcoming!!! There is certainly a feeling of safety and peacefulness around the whole island. They know without tourism the island would be in poor shape so they just love to welcome everyone!! Riding around on a golf cart for a day or two is a great way to see the island. Stop by the Modelorama for a drink. You just pull in on your golf cart, grab some drinks and/or snacks and keep on going.

Love, love, love this place and will return time and again!!!! Oh and don't forget to go downtown on the beach for an amazing massage!!! $35 per person for an hour. We tip them $10 each and it is worth every penny and more!!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kristi G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed here from March 13 - 17th. The transfer from the airport went smoothly. We had arranged a couple's massage on the beach our first evening. As soon as arrived the spa manager came out to greet us and provide us details. Our dinner on the beach that night was also wonderful. The property is beautify, the beach is small but quiet and never crowded. Pools are nice. The salt water pool was a bit cold though. The views are to die for! There are some updates needed. The hot tub was outdated and worn, the times we wanted to use it, the water was cold. The hot water was hit or miss when showering. The food is amazing, the staff is amazing. The included breakfast is a bit limited. Coffee, juice, fruit, baked goods but then all the dishes are variety of eggs. Eggs are wonderful for a day or two but not for 5 days in a row. It would be nice to have the option of yogurt and options other than eggs. We wished we had a coffee maker in our room. We are early risers but needed to wait until 7:30 a.m. for room service to open. For those who also wake early, it's a long wait for coffee service. We rented a golf cart in town for the full 5 days. We went into town every day for lunch and dinner (except our first night) and can't say we ever had a bad meal anywhere. We asked people who lived on the island where they eat and went to all those places, all good. We loved the island and would definitely return. Would we stay at Villa Rolandi again? We would but not without booking a special promotion. We did the book 3 nights, 4th night free, breakfast included, 20% spa, airport transport included. This makes up for the little things which really aren't a big deal at all. I would not return if this hotel becomes all inclusive. While the food here is amazing, there are so many other great restaurants to enjoy. I wish they would get rid of the hot tubs for more space on the balcony, offer coffee service earlier or coffee maker in the room and more offerings for the included breakfast. Having said that, this is a beautiful property that just needs a few improvements.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familyof6Connecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
1.3 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,133 reviews
5.2 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
10.0 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,826 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#24 of 175 in Cancun
9,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun

Property: Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Address: Fracc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rolandi)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-winning cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing