We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the food and views. Not so keen on other aspects ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Loved the food and views. Not so keen on other aspects ...”
Reviewed 2 March 2009

The restaurant is a main attraction. Great food, particularly the pasta, plus good service and an idyllic location. A continental breakfast is included and is a great start to the day (cappuccino, fresh fruit, juice and pastries). Lunch was excellent, though pricey for Mexico. A sandwich, salad and soft drinks came to 500 pesos (Can$ 50). For supper a salad, half order of pasta 2nd and main pasta or fish with wine was 1,800-2,000 pesos including the 15% mandatory gratuity. In contrast, dinner in the main town on Isla (good large Mexican meal with drinks) was under 500 pesos.

It is a beautiful location; brilliant blue waters with Cancun in the distance and nice sunsets. The pool area is very nice. The beach is small and has a very small swimming area. For snorkeling you will need to grab a taxi to Garrafon park (60 pesos) and either pay 800 pesos entry to the park or go to the small rustic beach area beside the park (Castilla) for 50 pesos and snorkel the same reef. We did see some fish, but the reef is in pretty bad shape and there is significant current. The beach at Castilla is nice and food / drinks are very reasonably priced. Lockers are available fro 20 pesos. Snorkeling gear can be hired for 60 pesos.

At Villa Roladi we had a 'deluxe suite' that was reasonably spacious and a comfortable bed. The furnishings were very dated and in need of major repair (toilet, mirrors, furniture, outdoor spa). Given that occupancy was under 70% the week we were there we can only assume that our room was typical of what you can expect. This is not what we expected for 5,500 pesos (Can$ 550) a night. It is important to note that Villa Rolandi not a 'green' hotel. Expect your towels to be changed 2-3 times per day! This philosophy is in keeping with the dated decor and needs to change.

Some staff members were great, others not so much. The cleaning staff and waiters were very friendly. Be cautious - the door to our suite was left unlocked one day and the balcony door was frequently left open. The rooms have safes - suggest you use it. While all of the the front desk staff were courteous, many were unable (unwilling) to provide basic information such as where to snorkel, what activities (other than those the hotel was offering at a premium) are suggested, where to exchange funds, how to book at the spa, etc. This was a problem with attitude and was not related to language.

Getting to and from the hotel from the airport was easy. Our small leading hotels (SLH) package included 'private transfers' that in reality were a van that we shared with a larger group of people. I belive that the hotel offers this same service at a premium.

While Villa Rolandi is a lovely in may respects, the rooms, attitudes and philosophy are in need of a major update. In our opinion it is not reasonable value for the cost and we would neither return in the near future or suggest staying there to friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank the_traveling_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,370 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,044
    222
    63
    26
    15
See reviews for
96
982
33
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (220)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
192 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2009

An excellent and well managed small individual hotel.

Tranquility and the lack of children on site, ensure a complete rest holiday.

The restaurant is well in the ten top ones of Mexico. Brilliant food.

  • Liked — Spacious, sea view direct !
  • Disliked — No Tennis/Golf/other activities.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWolfeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico
1 review
Reviewed 15 November 2008

My boyfriend and I just spent an amazing weekend at this property, we were really looking forward to this little vacation since the hotel was highly recommended by a close friend. The hotel is truly gorgeous, amazing romantic atmosphere, spacious rooms, wonderful jacuzzis and pools and breathtaking ocean, service was greath although we ran into some situations. When we got to the hotel there was no bellboy to greet us and had to carry our own lugagge to the front desk, the front desk agent saw us getting out of the taxi and didn't offer his help then we got a personalized check in which I think is faboulous although I think they need to provide a more "classy" service, don't get me wrong they did a wonderful job, however you dont want to get too "friendly" with your guest when you are supposed to provide a 4 diamond service. The ceiling of our room needed some maintenance it looked like it had humidity. they have only one restaurant which serves excellent food, and we enjoyed every dinner there because of its amazing view and romantic quite atmosphere, restaurant is open to the public but every time we ate there the restaurant was pretty quiet except for our last night when we wanted to have a memorable last dinner in this restaurant however we were really upset with the fact that they had a table of 15 people approximately (not hotel guests) celebrating a birthday, the head guy was drunk and loud and none from the staff seemed to care they were bothering the other guests, worst was when the restaurant allowed these people to bring their own stereo and started playing "Britney Spears"!!! that was it for us, we didnt even finish our dinner and went straight to our room, the following day we talked to the front desk about this issue and they didnt seem to care either.

Other than mentioned above, we spent a wonderful weekend!

  • Liked — Location and facilities
  • Disliked — Need to improve service
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PalaceMexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plano
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2008

Villa Rolandi is the most beautiful hotel my husband and I have ever stayed in. The hotel is clean, well maintained, and just lovely. The rooms are clean, well maintained and lovely as well. The resort is relaxing, has great service, great food, is quiet and exactly what a couple needs to rekindle their relationship! Absolutely loved, loved, loved this resort.

  • Liked — It's absolutely beautiful
  • Disliked — ---
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank OliviaRogers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2008

We are in our early 20's and stayed at the Villa Rolandi for our Honeymoon. This place was amazing! Everyone (meaning the locals) we ran into, both on and off the island, knew it by name because of its majesty and reputation. It is the BEST hotel on the island. The Food, the Service, and the Atmosphere combine to make a most enjoyable experience. It's a great place to get away from the hustle and bustle of Cancun, yet close enough to get into the mix when desired. The only negative thing I have to say is, DON'T go with the hotel recommended scuba instructor. Other than that, be prepared for the experience of a lifetime!

  • Liked — Everything
  • Disliked — The Hotel Recommended Scuba Instructor
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank chewey14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
elkton,md
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2008

My wife and I stayed 7 nights at the Villa Rolandi in June for our 15th wedding anniversary and it was spectacular! We have stayed all over the Carribean and have never experienced the high level of service as we experienced here.
First of all, we elected to take the airport pick-up/drop-off package which made getting to and from the airport seamless and pleasant. The boat ride to Isla was wonderful and we even saw a large sea turtle on the way. The check-in process was easy and the mimosas were a nice touch.
We stayed in a deluxe suite on the third floor. I would highly recommend going the extra yard for this. The room was incredible and the view unbeatable. The bathroom was luxurious and the double shower was a favorite.
The food at Cafe Rolandi was absolutely terrific. We are foodies and we did have some reservations about eating at one place all week but after the first few night of dining there we didn't want to go anywhere else. The Lobster Ravioli, Tuna Tatake, and Lobster Cocktail were among our favorites. If you like Ceviche then you will not be disappointed. I have never seen such large portions of ceviche in my life, and you can also get the ceviche appetizer as a snack on the beach as well. Again, the wait staff (especially Jesus) did a fantastic job all week.
The beach was small but very clean and the pools were very nice and well maintained.
My wife had I had 2 massages at the Spa and were not dissapointed. They were very professional and quite talented and the spa area was very peaceful and relaxing.
We did rent a golf cart for a day and went around the island. This is a must do and was alot of fun. If you just continuously drove around the island you could probably do it in about an hour and a half so one day of putting around is sufficient. Check out the "Conch Shell House" on the south side of the island, very cool.
If your looking for an easy, relaxing,and very romantic getaway, the Villa Rolandi is definately the place to go to.
My wife and I never vacation the same place twice but we are convinced that we will return here again someday (probably sooner than later).

  • Liked — Unbeatable Service, Great room! , A+ Restaurant
  • Disliked — Having to leave
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank orsquiggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Laramei, WY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 July 2008

My new wife and I really enjoyed Villa Rolandi. It was more than we could have hoped for in our Honeymoon.
The room was beautiful. It was always nice and cool, a comfort to walk into from the hot days. It was cleaned everyday for us, and there was always turn down service in the evening. The room was beautiful, as other reviews have described. I will let you read the other reviews for a more accurate description of the rooms.
The service was fantastic. I could tell the staff went the extra mile, from calling the tour bus to pick us up in Cancun to giving us directions to attractions on Isla Mujeres and Cancun. They also went out of their way to learn our names and learn where we were from. They also, the last night we stayed there, made a small ice cream cake piece and sang us "Happy Honeymoon" to us as we ate dinner on the beach. I could not compliment them enough.
The food at Casa Rolandi was fantastic. I do not eat seafood, but they still had a nice selection of chicken, pasta, and beef. My wife really enjoyed the fresh seafood which was made into everything from a sample platter to a soup to full meals. The food presentation was great, and it was fun to watch the preparation of the desert at our table. It was great that dinner (or lunch) was almost completely paid for, except drinks and tip. It made eating the wonderful food less painful to the wallet. :)
We also experienced a great snorkeling trip from a local guide named Lorenzo Sosa. I would recommend him to anyone interested in going to Isla Mujeres to snorkel. He ran into us in the main street downtown and offered us a great trip for the next day.
Villa Rolandi is a bit secluded on the island. My wife and I really enjoyed this aspect. It helped keep the pace a bit slower and more relaxed. It was a bit of a hassle to have to take a taxi to downtown everyday when we went there, but it was only about a ten minute ride that cost only about five or six dollars. It was worth the distance for sure. Villa Rolandi is also right next door to Dolphin Discovery, which made that afternoon nice.
I used GoAwayTravel.com to book all this with Jenn Monroe. She was very helpful and answered all my questions about the travel and transfer aspects. I would recommend them to anyone looking to book the hotel, plane, and transfer from the airport to the port where the yacht Cocoon, from the hotel, comes to pick you up.

  • Liked — The service of the staff was fantastic.
  • Disliked — Nothing comes to mind.
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank gbruyere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
1.3 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,136 reviews
5.2 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
10.0 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,836 reviews
6.6 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
10.5 mi away
Paradisus Cancun
Paradisus Cancun
#23 of 175 in Cancun
9,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun

Property: Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Address: Fracc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rolandi)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-winning cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Holiday Gems, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing