We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Absolutely Fantastic Experience!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Ranked #2 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
caputoad74
1 review
“Absolutely Fantastic Experience!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2009

Villa Rolandi was a truly an amazing hotel! It sits right on the Caribbean. To get there, you take a boat ride from Cancun, which was really fun and scenic, and only took about 15 minutes. The staff was very accommodating and super friendly. They all knew our names and what we liked to eat and drink. We attended a family wedding and reception at the Hotel that could not have been better. The restaurant served delicious and well pre-paired food. They did not serve one bad meal all week. The rooms were all clean and provided breath taking views of the water. We suggest renting a golf cart from the hotel and take it into town. Its one flat rate and you have all day and it fits 4-5 people. Town is only a few miles away for great shopping and outside bars and restaurants. We will be back and will recommend anyone visiting Cancun and La Isla Mujeres to make their reservations at Villa Rolandi.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caputoad74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    215
    60
    22
    14
See reviews for
93
925
27
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (205)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 May 2009

I loved....
1) The Chef at the restaurant is amazing. We stayed 5 days and only ate off the property once. There was noplace better to eat -- room service on our balcony several nights of our stay made things all the more romantic. A private dinner on the beach was made even more special by the attentiveness of Ariel, our waiter and Jesus the restaurant manager.
2) The staff was friendly and incredibly attentive to all our needs and requests.
3) The place was private. Hot tubs on the balcony facing the water, the pools, large saltwater spa and beachfront were available all night long,
4) I had the best massage of my life and I've had many. The spa was surprisingly gorgeous.
5) A very chic little european style bar just off the lobby was cool and sexy.
6) From the moment they picked us up in their private boat from the Playa Linda dock in Cancun you knew this was going to be different and exciting.
7) Loved that there are no children guests, so minimal screaming children (see more below).
8) The feeling of being in a luxury hotel with the of staying at your friend's beach house. I brought the wong book (something I'd already read) and found a lovely little book shelf filled with paperbacks from which to choose.
9) Proximity to swimming with the Dolphin's location next door. We got to watch them jump and play all day from the water outside the hotel.

Things that weren't so great...
1) The neighbors kept bringing their kids down to play (scream) on the beach and the staff did not want to run them off
2) The beach is not the crystal clear turquoise you see over on Cancun.
3) Minor decor issues. The doors and some furniture appear to be upgraded by insetting plywood -- odd and not consistent with the gorgeously upgraded bathroom with steam shower.
4) The gym does not deserve to be called a gym. Plan on skipping your workout.
5) They bring you around to the boat dock on the back of the property through a lagoon filled with sunken boats & the view of the property from the back is not stellar. Don't let this darken your impression of how well you will be treated and cared for here. I would have been more comfortable had I known this going in.
6) The neighborhood's a bit scary. Stick to cabs. We walked down the block and were greeted repeatedly by everone's dogs (all friendly but a bit frightening all the same when they come flying out of the bushes).

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Waytansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2009

While we did not actually stay in a room at this Hotel (we had a beach house nearby) we did frequent the restaurant and bar in the evenings. Rolandis quickly became our favorite sunset and after-hour destination on the island. Overall this property has an air of class and sophistication.

The restaurant is located on a rocky shore above the clear turquoise waters with Cancun visible in the distance. Shaded and open to cool sea breezes, this restaurant provides a very relaxing and tranquil dining experience. The sunset views are magical and there is the occasional live serenade. The staff is efficient, friendly and attentive. There is an extensive wine list and many nice selections on the menu. Try the fresh seafood salad, or one of the fresh catches of the day. All are prepared to perfection and served with island presentation. Visit more than once, and chances are the staff will remember you and your preferences. They also have a nice desert menu and drinks. And after such a fine meal with unparalleled views, you will be surprised at how much of a bargain this restaurant is. Comparable meals in the states will easy cost 50% more.

After your meal, head into the hotels' "cozy bar" for a night cap in a plush, cozy and chic environment. The cozy lounge is a great place to let loose a little and have a good time.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northeastern PA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2009

From the moment we steped onto the yacht, the worries of the world began to disapear.
This is very fine place to relax and let the world go by.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chrobpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

the perfect long weekend getaway..all the rooms have a great view, ours had a small terrace and hot tub, small but terrific beach, snorkeling a short boat ride away,numerous pools, one a thalasso therapeutic..well appointed rooms with lots of towels but what really sets this place apart is the extraordinary food. Since we had an all inclusive price we had three dinners there, everything was well prepared, with some flair. The island is worth a golf cart ride, more authentically mexican than anything else in and around Cancun. We really enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dbdbmv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2009

The restaurant is a main attraction. Great food, particularly the pasta, plus good service and an idyllic location. A continental breakfast is included and is a great start to the day (cappuccino, fresh fruit, juice and pastries). Lunch was excellent, though pricey for Mexico. A sandwich, salad and soft drinks came to 500 pesos (Can$ 50). For supper a salad, half order of pasta 2nd and main pasta or fish with wine was 1,800-2,000 pesos including the 15% mandatory gratuity. In contrast, dinner in the main town on Isla (good large Mexican meal with drinks) was under 500 pesos.

It is a beautiful location; brilliant blue waters with Cancun in the distance and nice sunsets. The pool area is very nice. The beach is small and has a very small swimming area. For snorkeling you will need to grab a taxi to Garrafon park (60 pesos) and either pay 800 pesos entry to the park or go to the small rustic beach area beside the park (Castilla) for 50 pesos and snorkel the same reef. We did see some fish, but the reef is in pretty bad shape and there is significant current. The beach at Castilla is nice and food / drinks are very reasonably priced. Lockers are available fro 20 pesos. Snorkeling gear can be hired for 60 pesos.

At Villa Roladi we had a 'deluxe suite' that was reasonably spacious and a comfortable bed. The furnishings were very dated and in need of major repair (toilet, mirrors, furniture, outdoor spa). Given that occupancy was under 70% the week we were there we can only assume that our room was typical of what you can expect. This is not what we expected for 5,500 pesos (Can$ 550) a night. It is important to note that Villa Rolandi not a 'green' hotel. Expect your towels to be changed 2-3 times per day! This philosophy is in keeping with the dated decor and needs to change.

Some staff members were great, others not so much. The cleaning staff and waiters were very friendly. Be cautious - the door to our suite was left unlocked one day and the balcony door was frequently left open. The rooms have safes - suggest you use it. While all of the the front desk staff were courteous, many were unable (unwilling) to provide basic information such as where to snorkel, what activities (other than those the hotel was offering at a premium) are suggested, where to exchange funds, how to book at the spa, etc. This was a problem with attitude and was not related to language.

Getting to and from the hotel from the airport was easy. Our small leading hotels (SLH) package included 'private transfers' that in reality were a van that we shared with a larger group of people. I belive that the hotel offers this same service at a premium.

While Villa Rolandi is a lovely in may respects, the rooms, attitudes and philosophy are in need of a major update. In our opinion it is not reasonable value for the cost and we would neither return in the near future or suggest staying there to friends.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank the_traveling_canuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2009

An excellent and well managed small individual hotel.

Tranquility and the lack of children on site, ensure a complete rest holiday.

The restaurant is well in the ten top ones of Mexico. Brilliant food.

  • Liked — Spacious, sea view direct !
  • Disliked — No Tennis/Golf/other activities.
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonWolfeee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
5.2 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
1.3 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,093 reviews
10.0 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.6 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
7.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 182 in Cancun
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5,628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun

Property: Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Address: Fracc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rolandi)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#1 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-winning cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems, Ebookers, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing