We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic Retreat”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Shelton, Connecticut
1 review
“Romantic Retreat”
Reviewed 2 November 2009

We visited for our honeymoon, and Villa Rolandi was even better than we imagined. We could have indulged in the spa more, but enjoyed hanging out by the pool while the guys refilled our margaritas. The candlelight dinner on the beach was excellent, and certainly was popular the rest of the week.

Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KenE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,016
    221
    63
    23
    15
See reviews for
94
956
31
8
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carmel, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 October 2009

This is a gorgeous resort, that is peaceful and soothing. The rooms are romantic and the food is excellent!! The views from the rooms are breathtaking.

  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gonzo09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2009

My new husband and I had our wedding of 38 people at Villa Rolandi this past weekend and it was the best decision we have made! If you are nervous about having a destination wedding because you are not sure of what to expect, this is your place because you are garenteed a fairy tale wedding!

You MUST, MUST , MUST, use Juliette as your wedding planner! She is absolutely amazing and takes care of every single detail!

Delia, who books the rooms, helped every guest figure out their transportation to the hotel and made sure all of our guests were taken care of.

A big concern I had was who would do my hair and makeup, especially because I had never met the person who would be doing it. Ann Marie is the most experienced make up artist and hair dresser I have ever seen ( and I live in NYC!) She made me look like a model for not only the wedding, but did a totally different hairstyle and makeup for the rehearsal dinner after the trial! It really was the best I have ever looked in my entire life. I was so grateful for how lovely she was as a person as well! She made me laugh so hard the entire time we spent together!

The wait staff could not be more accomidating! They pamper you from the moment you arrive until the minute you return to the airport! They are AMAZING!

Now to the accomidations.... Rolandi is not only the most beautiful hotel I have ever stayed in, but the views from the room and the pool of the beach and sunset are breathtaking! The breakfast that is delivered to your room each morning is DELICIOUS! The french toast is the best I have ever had! The food at the hotel is the best food I have ever had! I would highly recommend a dinner for two on the beach one night! It is so romantic! The ceveche is to die for!

Our experience of Hotel Rolandi could not have been any better! If you are thinking of doing a destination wedding, DO IT HERE! You will be the happiest bride and groom ever!

I can't wait to go back! We are thinking of having our honeymoon there as well in January!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TiffanyDerby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owasso, OK
Level Contributor
50 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2009

My husband and I recently returned from a trip to Villa Rolandi in Isla Mujeres, Mexico. It was a fantastic vacation. I had read all the reviews, but I was still a little skeptical. Believe all the good reviews- they are right! We loved every minute of our 6 day stay. We booked the honeymoon package. It was well worth it. The dinner on the beach was spectacular. The massages were the best we had ever had. The food was delicious. The cleanliness of the resort was evident. The staff was constantly cleaning windows, doors, walls, and sweeping the property. We stayed in a deluxe suite. The room was large, and always kept spotless. From the friendly pick-up service at the airport, the beautiful hotel, the perfect weather, the welcoming staff, to the yummy food, we were not disappointed. This is a wonderful place to go if you are looking for rest and relaxation.

As others have said, the transfer service was easy and worth it. There is a person waiting for you at the airport to take you to the dock. The hotel's boat will be waiting to take you across the ocean to Isla Mujeres. The all inclusive meal plan is the way to go. You will not be disappointed with the food. Breakfast served in your room every morning was a nice treat. You can choose lunch or dinner with the meal plan, depending on your schedule. We had lunch or snacks served by the pool or on the beach almost every day. Everything on the menu is included in the meal plan except for drinks and gratuity. After each meal, you just ask the server to bring you the check to sign. You can leave a tip on the check when you sign it. The hotel recommended private snorkel tour was amazing. We went out in the morning before the boat tours from Cancun came over. We had the whole place to ourselves. If you want to see the island, rent a golf cart at the front desk. It is an easy way to get around the island. Make for sure you visit Playa Norte. This beach is beautiful! The market downtown is a great place to go for shopping. We payed for most things in USD. If you pay the front desk for things like tours and rentals instead of charging it to your room, you won't be charged an extra 10% per item on your hotel bill. You will be charged a $6 maid service gratuity each day. Use the safe provided in your room, because there will be staff in your room throughout the day for cleaning and turndown service.

This was a wonderful vacation, and we can't wait to go back. If you are looking for a nice, quiet place to go on vacation, you will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank motherof3OK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky Mount, North Carolina
Level Contributor
195 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

My husband and I have just returned from 4 night stay. It was all that the other reviewers have said. I would reiterate a previous reviewer's suggestion that you use the transfer service from the airport to the hotel and back. It was $100 (which they converted to pesos -1280/$1 at the time we were there) plus a 10% surcharge(which they added extra to any service that was charged to your bill but originated outside the hotel-like snorkeling, etc.) Anyway, well worth the $110.

We have stayed in a lot of nice rooms but this may have been the best. Speakers were everywhere(even in the shower) and your choice of music could be played all day through the satellite system. Speaking of the shower, it was a shower for two with faucets on opposing walls with multiple sprays and even steam.

The beach was wonderful(but small) and the service was great. They did not bother you with continuous solicitation for drinks. But when you did order something, it was brought in a timely manner and served with ice buckets to keep drinks cold. Of note, these tabs, if not signed , incurred a 15% gratuity automatically. If you signed the bill, you could put the gratuity or pay the server at the time.

One item that surprised us. We have been in Mx. before and have left gratuities for service on the pillow(left 40 pesos per day). When we checked out, 38 pesos was charged daily for maid service gratuity. Not much money, less than $10, but sometimes it was hard rounding up the pesos for each day, so would have been nice to know this. The maids did an excellent job--the room was squeaky clean----and my husband loved the "Gloria's" candy left on our pillow for turn down service.

The food was good, my husband would have liked more variety in the menu. It was a little confusing what we were allowed to order in the all-inclusive dinner. We were told by the waiters, appetizer, entree and dessert( there were soups and salads on the menu, but didn't know if we could order those). As it was, we had plenty to eat and the service was great. Gratuity is expected on the inclusive meals, we left pesos each night because we ended up getting too many from the ATM.

Speaking of pesos from the ATM-remember their peso sign(it was theirs first)looks the same as the US dollar sign on the ATM--so if you choose $200 , you're getting 200 pesos-since the ATM charges a fee for each txn, it's good to know. I ended up getting 3000 pesos which was $226 with a $6.80 international fee from my account.

We went into town one day for lunch and most of the TA-recommended restaurants were closed. We ate at Mininos--it was a restaurant on the edge of the water. My husband had the medium cerviche with seafood, and I had the small cerviche with just shrimp. Both were wonderful, The meal with gratuity was 210 pesos and the taxi round trip with gratuity was 150(60 pesos each way). We enjoyed lunch, but were not interested in souvenirs --there's not a lot to do downtown, otherwise.

As other people have mentioned, the breakfast was wonderful. It was delivered via a pass thru cupboard -- If you wanted other items that those on the tray, they could be ordered for a fee. You told the front desk each night what time to deliver breakfast the next morning.

Bottom line, this was a wonderful vacation, you won't be disappointed with Villa Rolandi.

By the way, be sure and ask for 2nd or 3rd floor!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2009

It is a quiet haven made for couples - would not recommend families going. Have a romantic dinner on the beach at sunset - you will never forget it!

It is a laid back atmosphere - so don't get upset if things take a while. Service is excellent - but can take some time.

Do venture out and get to Playa Norte - one of the best beaches I have ever been on. if you like clear, calm waters with soft sand - where you can walk out for 1/4 mile and still be up to your neck - you will love this beach.

Rent a golf cart for the week - about $300 . Getting around is not easy without a map. But it is extremely safe - so don't be shy - get out and enjoy what Isla has to offer. Great food at very reasonable prices - stop in the hole in the wall places - some of them have the best food.

There are some upscale places that have great veiws - so, if you need that you can get that also.

Nightlife is all about 1 street downtown - restauraunts and bars all in a 5 block area. You will not see the discos and bars like Cancun - nor the nasty foreigners that come along with it. Folks that live, stay and visit Isla are calm, friendly folks. If you crave the nightlife - do not stay on Isla - you will be disappointed. If you want a peaceful, relaxing romantic hotel - stay at Villa Rolandi. But do venture out and try different things on the island - you will love it!

Isla Mujeres and Villa Rolandi are hidden jewels that need to be experienced.

Just know what you are going for.
.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rdamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2009

All the other reviews have already said it best: Nice place. Very relaxing. Food and service very good. I will just add:

1. Place was pretty much empty in mid-July 2009. Only 3 or 4 other couples were using the hotel. 1 day we had the beach to ourselves. 1 day we had the pools to ourselves.

2. They have a very nice little bar off the lobby, but it was rarely open.

3. Restaurant is a beautiful open-aired deck that overlooks the water. That is the only hotel restaurant currently operating. Recommend the Ceviche appetizer (its almost a meal in itself). The Filet steak was excellent (comparable to Chicago steakhouses). But the desserts, however, were unimpressive. Also dissapointed that restaurant did not serve traditional mexican food.

4. Definitely recommend you hire the hotel's private van and boat that takes a couple back and forth from airport to hotel for $100.00 total. I booked it directly with hotel via e-mail in English. Driver will be waiting for you in airport parking lot, with your name on a sign.

5. Drink prices at hotel: Approx 3 dollars for Corona beer and 5-6 dollars for mixed or frozen drinks. Prices were not bad, but you can can find cheaper drinks on other side of island (where bars/restaurants have drink specials). VR's mojito's and margaritas were good, but their pina coladas were much better.

6. Room does have a fridge, but its stocked as a mini bar. There's still some room in to add your water, pop, etc. (or just take their stuff out, like I did)

7. Not alot of high-quality shopping on the island for tourists. Mostly trinkets and t-shirts.

8. Definitely recommend dinner on the beach. It can be set up through hotel lobby, via email, the same way you order the private van/boat. I got the hotel e-mail address from the hotel's own website.

9. Guests have access to laptop computer in lobby to check/send e-mails.

10. No need to buy map of island from private site (like others have said). Hotel lobby gives you a good map of the island for free.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mptrevino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
1.3 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,124 reviews
5.2 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
10.0 mi away
Secrets The Vine Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 175 in Cancun
5,775 reviews
11.6 mi away
Great Parnassus Family Resort
6.6 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun

Property: Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Address: Fracc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rolandi)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-winning cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing