We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“January Escape”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Ranked #3 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 April 2007

After the Cristmas holidays we wanted a week of relaxation and lots of Sun. We were a little nervous about 7 days at this remote location so we split the week with 4 nights at the Villa Rolandi and 3 nights at the Hilton in Cancun. The Rolandi was above our expectations and the Isle of Mujeres had plenty of restaurnats, bars, beaches and shops to explore. Result: No reason to leave the island. The Hilton was very nice but for great food, nice rooms, friendly staff, quite but nice pool and meeting other tourist, this place has to be number 1. If you go say HI to "Jesus" (our waiter for dinner) from "James Bond"-his service and personality really made our experience outstanding.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jack B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,427)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,192 - 1,198 of 1,427 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2007

Stayed 5 days--4 nights at Villa Rolandi at the end of March. The stay was absolutely perfect. Boat pickup and return to mainland was exactly on time, and a great way to travel. Staff was extremely friendly and helpful. They arranged our snorkeling trip, massages, taxicabs around the island, and van back to the airport. Service was very responsive; our air conditioning went out one evening just before we were going to sleep, and people were up to fix it immediately, and checked back to make sure we were happy. The rooms were comfortable and you have an ocean view from every angle (even from the shower!) Beach is not large, but we had plenty of space. Food was good, and service again excellent, although they tend to be slower after delivering your entree.

Hotel is just finishing a spa, which based on the tour, looks fantastic. We arranged couples massages, which I was reluctant to do because it was about what I pay in the states, but it was worth every penny! Husband gets frequent massages for back issues, and he swore it was the best sports massage he'd ever had. Mine was a true Swedish massage (not what a lot of day spas pass off as Swedish massage.) From what we could gather based on his limited English, the head masseuse has been teaching for 27 years. We also arranged for a snorkeling trip with Pablo (when you check in, they will give you information about various activities.) This was only my 2nd time snorkeling, but I felt very comfortable. Husband, on the other hand, has done commercial diving, and he also liked the guide and thought the snorkeling was good.

Before we went I read about some construction--it is ongoing as of the end of March, but we were not disturbed at all. On transportation, we did not rent a golf cart, but would have in retrospect. I purchased a map of the island that I'd read about from one of the Isla websites from cancunmap.com--best $8 I spent on the trip--the recommendations are right on!

Stayed: March 2007
6  Thank WashDCNative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2007

Villa Rolandi was a jewel of a place, on an island with alot of local flavor that was not overly touristy. The hotel setting was beautiful...every room had a view of the pool and the beach/ocean behind it. We found the room perfectly lovely and very comfortable. One of the better amenities was a small door/shelf into which the staff put our breakfast every morning at our requested time. We opened the door on the interior, carried the tray immediately to our table of the balcony, and enjoyed a tasty and delightful breakfast as we savored the sight of the brilliant blue ocean. The pool and beach areas were beautiful and never crowded (and always spotless) - definitely no fighting for a spot at the pool or the beach. A nice addition was a large salt water hot tub. Service was fantastic, but remember, you are on island time so nothing is rushed. Staff incredibly friendly. Showers are delightful....double headed and steam...plenty of hot water. Loved the high domed brick ceiling in the room, especially at night when lit by lights in each corner on a dimmer. We were on the top floor (all of two levels up) and thought that was preferrable over the others. Oh, and your own very private hot tub on each room's balcony.
We would definitely select this hotel in terms of location, over all others currently open on the island (a couple of new hotels are under construction on the same side of the island). It's quiet and peaceful. Many of the others are located near downtown or on the "north beach" which we found to be much busier when we went exploring. And downtown is only a 10 minute moped ride away from Villa Rolandi.
Food and service at the hotel restaurant was excellent (and I couldn't be pickier in terms of quality and service). The view from the restaurant was unparalleled in terms of other restaurants on the hotel. A very special and romantic touch was dinner on the beach. They will set one table there, with luminaries leading the way down the stairs to the beach, torches around the table, just a few feet from the ocean's edge, and your own personal waiter for the evening. Almost worth the trip in and of itself.
We loved exploring the island and rented a scooter which we kept for the length of time we were there. Found some wonderful local restaurants: little cuban place near the marina (best mojitos, fish, guacamole, but don't be in a hurry as they prepare EVERYTHING only once you order it); Playa Lancheros for the barbacued fish and fish tacos; Bamboo for fish tacos; beach club just down from Villa Rolandi (quarter mile at best) for mango margaritas. Would suggest you not go to Isla Mujeres without ordering a map from [...]. The map is full of recommendations in terms of restaurants, things to do, hotels, etc. It is fantastic and only $8!
I have several more great photos I would be willing to email. They were too large for the site. Let me know.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank live4travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2007

Sorry this is so long, but I like details...
This hotel was absolutely fabulous. The website does not do it justice - trust me. My husband thinks I am a bit of a "hotel snob" and I had no complaints about this one. Here's the scoop - You can probably get a cheaper rate on Orbitz (even cheaper tax than Expedia, etc - not sure how they get away with that...), but they won't treat you any different than if you booked through the hotel. The boat picked us up from the dock (included in rate) and took us to the hotel. Upon arrival, you are greeted with a drink in the open lobby. You're shown to your room and they tell you how to work everything - jacuzzi, tv (kinda tricky), steam shower, etc. The beds are soft - which is pretty much unheard of in Mexico. Also, they actually give you two big bottles of water a day, which is nice... You can decide when you want your breakfast. We never ate breakfast in the restaurant; we always had it delivered to our room - on the balcony. It is only a continental breakfast, but it was enough to get us going - coffee, bottle of water, oj, variety of breads, bowls of fruit, and french toast or pancakes. Then you get to either choose lunch or dinner - included in your rate. Take advantage of this - you each get a three course meal included. We had $150 meals each night ($20 soup, $50 steaks, etc...). They dont include drinks, but if you cant pay for drinks, you shouldnt be staying here. Apparently this is the best restaurant on the island. We had no complaints - it was fabulous every time!!! The banana desserts are to die for.
The hotel is not downtown, but we found that to be a plus. It is much less crowded and noisy - not as much riff-raff. A cab ride into town is only $5. If you rent a moped or golfcart, dont rent from the hotel. They are much cheaper down the road or in town. Check out Playa Lancheras or Playa Tiburon to swim with a nurse shark (free, but they take tips). The Turtle Farm (Tortuga) is $2pp - it's ok; we wouldnt pay more. Not worth a trip just to go down there. We didnt pay to go to Garrafon park (with snorkeling, zip line, etc) because we werent interested, but just south of that is the actual look-out and the tip of the island. It's free to check it out or you can pay $3pp to walk to the tip. We thought it was worth it, but you can decide if you're up for that.
Hope this helps for a review of the island!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
6  Thank FtWorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2007

Just got back from a week at Villa Rolandi. We really loved it and the descriptions on tripadvisor were very accurate.. This is a small, intimate resort that is perfect for getting away from it all. But, be advised.....that means that there really is not a whole lot to do. For us, that was just what we wanted....to get away from our busy New York City lifestyles and just crash.

The location is great.-- A short (and pleasant) boat ride away from the mania in Cancun. The island is peaceful and the water is beautiful. The hotel rooms are spacious, clean, comfortable, and have great views. The pool is lovely and the beach is great. The thing we liked best was that there was none of that awful getting up early to put a book or a towel on your lounge chair so that you could have a good spot by the pool - thing. (I hate that!) There were always available lounge chairs by the pool or at the beach...and we alternated, because both locations were so inviting.

Downsides? Well, I guess you can get a bit bored by the restaurant after a while. They have an extensive menu, but it did get a bit old...as did the music in the restaurant. (We really would have liked if they had some other entertainment ---low-key, of course-- in the lobby bar --- but there was no such thing.). And, it's a bit out of the way....but only a $6 cab ride to "downtown".

Choose this place if you really want a relaxing and luxurious getaway in a peaceful and beautiful spot. (Of course you can take their yacht into Cancun if you want to do something different, We just didn't see the need for that this time. ) Would I go back? Definitely!

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank vivace00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2007

We stayed at Villa Rolandi for 5 days in early Feb and absolutely loved it. We were a bit worried about staying so far from all the action, but it was not at all a problem taking taxis and it was always great to get back to the serenity of the hotel. Plus, the beach at Playa Norte is not at all what it used to be and we found the hotel beach nicer.

We would stay there again for sure. There was construction going on, but it was not noisy and did not bother us one bit. This is a gem of a place. We loved how the rooms opened right up and you have such a wonderful view while laying in bed. I would reco staying on the 3rd floor so you have the most privacy, the domed ceilings and the best view. The view while lying in bed was so amazing of the turquoise water that it almost felt as if we were on a boat. Loved it.

p.s. we toured a junior suite plus and personally i did not feel it was worth the $200 extra per night. they are newer and a bit larger, but other than that they are the same as all the other rooms and not worth the extra cash in my opinion.

  • Stayed: February 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank vmuir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2007

Really loved the hotel great small pool, beach, food, service, jaccuzi in rooms and rooms. also loved the small size of the resort

One huge strike is there is currently construction going on. The construction is an additon attached to the hotel. The construction was daily every day we where there from 9-6. The noise was many times so loud as to be infernal.

Managment claims that the additon has nothing to do with them, however view my photos and make your own determination.

In any case guests should be told when booking about the construction as it is clearly an issue. This cost villa rolandi one star and should have cost them two but we liked it so much i did not have the heart.

  • Stayed: January 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank foody2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Isla Mujeres
6.6 mi away
Dreams Sands Cancun Resort & Spa
1.3 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,185 reviews
5.2 mi away
Secrets Playa Mujeres Golf & Spa Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Peninsula
10.1 mi away
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
Hard Rock Hotel Cancun
#10 of 177 in Cancun
9,903 reviews
7.5 mi away
Le Blanc Spa Resort
Le Blanc Spa Resort
#1 of 177 in Cancun
5,947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun

Address: Fracc. Laguna Mar SM. 7 Mza. 75 Lotes 15 y 16 | Carretera Sac-Bajo, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico (Formerly Hotel Villa Rolandi)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#2 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £344 - £754 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Coveted Isla Mujeres small luxury beach hotel featuring only 35 beautiful ocean view Suites; award-winning cuisine at Casa Rolandi Restaurant; a private beach, world class service & amenities, a 5-star Thalasso Spa & its own 42-ft private luxury Yacht. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rolandi Hotel Isla Mujeres
Villa Rolandi
Rolandi Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing