We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Hidden Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Maria's Kan-kin

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Maria's Kan-kin
Ranked #21 of 38 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
bay area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Hidden Spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

We came here from Merida and were looking for a place to completely relax for the last few days of our vacation. To our surprise, the rooms were nothing like the generic hotel rooms that you'll find in traditional hotels. The room has a very simple elegance that also speaks to the minimalist tradition. They offer a nice celing fan and remote controlled air conditioner for cooldown.

The beach and dock that is located down at the bottom was amazing. The water was the warmest we felt (perhaps after the hot day or mix of tropical storm and rain), even warmer than the room's hot water (non existent), but who cares!

We stayed here on a Thursday and Friday. Nobody else occupied the hotel so we felt the seclusion of the beach was very romantic and peaceful. They offer food, and a small bar, but I would suggest going into town for food and drink. Relax here and recharge!

But, please watch out for the mosquitos, and FEFE (the calico cat) will be around to visit :) Also we had two geckos in our room...very cool.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank subscriber415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    28
    14
    12
    10
See reviews for
19
61
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2009

My family loves to visit Maria's Kan Kin for the day when on vacation.
We stay at a nearby condo and either walk or take a short taxi ride. It''s next to Casa O's and the dinners can be nearly as expensive. But the food, the location, and the service make it worth the price.
We usually go in the early afternoon and have them bring us drinks on the beach. You can rent their kayaks and equipment for a modest fee. The bathrooms are clean and artistic-- not always the case on La Isla. You can hose the sand off before a relaxing late lunch/early dinner.
We are going back in a couple of months and will certainly spend a couple of afternoons at Maria's Kan Kin.

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rp518dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, MA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2008

We (my husband and twin 14-year-olds) stayed at Maria's Kankin for 5 days in December 2007. We loved it. The hotel is located near the southern tip of the island and has a lovely beach and a fabulous view of the turquoise water, spectacular sunsets and the lights of Cancun. We had two rooms -- room #4 had a king and queen size bed in two large rooms with a garden view. Room #9 had a long hallway leading to the bedroom and large balcony overlooking the sea, beach and palm trees, draped with bougainvilla.

For most of our stay, it seemed that we had the hotel to ourselves. We were the only people eating breakfast on the terrace (the food was delicious) and usually the only people on the beach. It was quiet, clean, peaceful and beautiful. The hotel has a total of 9 guest rooms and a lovely interior garden. The open-air restaurant has about five tables and looks out on the beach. The staff was warm and friendly and helpful in every way. They have snorkeling equipment you can borrow and their beach is a good spot for seeing interesting fish. There is a long pier too.

The hotel is 35 years old. The owners purchased it about 3 years ago, and worked for 2 years to renovate it. The airconditioning worked most of the time (and they fixed it when it didn't) and we had hot water most of the time. If people are really offended by little bits of mold, cooking odors in #9 (it's above the kitchen but we had the airconditioning on most of the time and the kitchen shuts down early)and low water pressure, then they won't be happy at Maria's Kankin. It is more "Mexican rustic" than glitzy Hyatt Regency, but that is what we wanted. The room decor is simple, and you feel like you are in a small, very private compound.

We did not want to stay downtown in a hotel on one of the busy streets, and we are very glad we did not stay on Playa Norte which seemed way too crowded and, apparently, lost much of its beach to a hurricane 2 years ago.

Maria's Kankin is located near Casa O's restaurant and the fancy boutique hotel Casa de los Suenos, which has no beach. We had a wonderful vacation on Isla Mujeres and are so glad that we stayed at Maria's Kankin.

One final note: We went on a day trip to Isla Contoy with Captain Tony -- a highlight of our stay. Other fishermen can take you to Contoy, but Tony was very professional, full of information, and a great cook.

  • Liked — the view and ths staff
  • Disliked — iffy hot water and a/c
  • Stayed December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MAArlington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Down the Shore, Barnegat, NJ
Level Contributor
47 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2007

Visited Maria's January 2007. The view was beautiful. There was bsolutely no one staying at this hotel. We asked to see the rooms and they were very gracious in showing them to us. The rooms were all unique but each room had a terrible mold smell and visible mold.

  • Liked — the view
  • Stayed January 2007, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank 4Mujeres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2003

I have been to Maria's three times and would love to live the rest of my life there. This is a small, intimate, romatic resort with its own private beach. The restaurant and bar serve excellent quizine and the staff treats you like the best of families. I would recommend this place without hesitation.

Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
3.8 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
4.0 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
1.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
3.8 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
3.9 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#20 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maria's Kan-kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maria's Kan-kin

Property: Maria's Kan-kin
Address: Carretera al Parque El Garrafon Km. 4.5 | Fraccionamiento Mar Turquesa,, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 On the Beach Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Maria's Kan-kin 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marias Kankin is located on Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, Mexico. The hotel is about 50 minutes from the Cancun airport. Ferry boats also shuttle back and forth from the mainland. As the sunset looms,enjoy it inits private beach & pier take it easy and rest in any of Marias Kankin's nine (9) suites. Decked in minimalist, Caribbean-inspired decor, each air-conditioned suite is furnished with a mini-bar,coffee maker and coffee , Internet access in restaurant area ,kajaks also. Marias Kankin is located on Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo, Mexico. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Ebookers, Hotel.de and Agoda so you can book your Maria's Kan-kin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Maria`s Kan-Kin Hotel Isla Mujeres
Marias Kan Kin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing