We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Have stayed 5 times over the years”
Review of Hotel D'Gomar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel D'Gomar
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Reviewed 14 April 2013

I haven't always stayed at the Gomar but more than the others. It's a very good budget hotel. I'm writing another review because I saw a nice improvement this trip. The air conditioning unit was replaced in our room with one that had the condenser unit outside on the deck. This made it nice and quite in the room. The ocean view from the room and deck and good location for the money make it a bargain. We had a king bed with a very cold refrigerator. The staff at the Gomar has been with the hotel for many years and can be very helpful. Don't hesitate to ask for recommendations and or needed services. They are building a new ferry port across the street which is going to make a nice improvement to the island. They make some noise weekdays. The higher floors at the Gomar are less noisy. We used the 2nd floor terrace to make some hot dogs for lunch to save on food cost. I see many good things happening on this island. That wasn't the case last year.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JasonRavennaOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (121)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 56 of 121 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2013 via mobile

Love Frank. Always do helpful, friendly, caring. 3rd year for us staying there. Hoping to go back in summer to see whale sharks. Location is fantastic and the staff is excellent. Carts right downstairs .

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Quartzs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013

This will be are 4th yr at Isla in March can't wait..Stay with friends at Timeshare for 2wks but then but than look forward to exploring the other areas of Isla..Last year wewe found Hotel D'Gomar ..We rent golf cart next door always at Gomar..met Frank next door at his hotel.. He helped us communicate with rental..very nice..we wanted to stay at his hotel but his 3rd floor balcony was full..we checked when it was open at the end of our stay and booked 3 extra days to stay..We fell in love..it is clean, great friendly staff, fun people watching across from ferry..felt like family as they let us park our golf cart inside every night ..We return this yr 9Mar..I am retired airline employee so dates are never secure do to standby.. But will see Frank & check when we can stay in our favorite room again..This is a value hotel with comfort,atmosphere & the great local flavor of this perfect little island..Can't wait to get there..Don & Donna

Room Tip: Front balcony rooms over street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ragdolls78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013

My brother stays at Hotel d'Gomar every year and now I know why. I had the opportunity to stay at the Hotel D'Gomar for 4 nights Feb. 4-7th. My girlfriend and I stayed in Room 204 and it was comfortable and clean. The cleaning staff is so sweet. I so enjoy people watching and the little patio area we had was perfect for this. You can take the stairs up to the roof of the hotel and I find that the sunsets from there are just spectacular. I have been coming to the island for over 10 years and some managers of other hotels on the island could take a lesson in politeness from Frank Heredia. He went out of his way to make sure we had everything we needed. He is such a gentleman and really cared that our stay at the hotel be a positive one. He let us hang out in his lobby for a long period of time with our luggage as we waited for our ferry. He is very knowledgeable when it comes to good restaurants, budget food and events taking place on the island.

Janice H.
Minneapolis, MN

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaniceH456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2013

My husband & I just spent 2 weeks at Hotel D'Gomar (Jan 25-Feb 2013), this was our 5th time staying there, first 2 times were just a few days coming over from Cancun, we fell in the love with the hotel, the island, the staff & the hotel manager Frank Heredia. Our next 3 trips we stayed at Hotel D'Gomar for the entire 2 weeks. We arrived late on our last trip & Frank had stayed around just to welcome us because we are "family". On Jan 29 it was my husbands bday, Frank was at our door first thing in the morning with a cake (he did the same for me July 9). We have done Cancun 13 times will never go back, Isla & Hotel D' Gomar always. Hotel is very clean & friendly, recommend 100%.

Room Tip: rooms at the front are the best for people watching the streets, but very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robcindyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2012

I was at this Hotel for one week , and I like it is like 2 or 3 stars hotel , was clean, nice bed, nice view from the 3 floor, hot water, airconditioner works pretty good, and the Internet is so fast but just works at the first floor, ,,, reasonable price, is close to the ferryboat, restaurants, beach,Atm, rentalcars, etc

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Verito23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Our first experience with Mexico and after having to rush around to find a hotel after our reservations for another hotel were messed up we were completely satisfied with Hotel Gomar.
The rooms were clean and the bathroom was very nice. The beds were comfortable. As one reviewer mentioned the bedcover was from another decade but nothing to worry about. There was someone at the front desk 24/7 for security. There is a nice patio area that has coffee in the morning and we used to meet with friends in the evening. Frank, the manager, is great and always friendly. Many of the other people there that we spoke to have been there many times and keep coming back. When we go back we will stay there again. Really enjoyed the first experience.

Room Tip: We didn't have a room with a fridge. They do have them and its a must for ice and other items su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Marcianito
Hotel Marcianito
#22 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
157 reviews
0.2 mi away
Francis Arlene Hotel
Francis Arlene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
156 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
Hotel Bucaneros Hotel & Suites
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
350 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Gomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Gomar

Address: Rueda Medina 150, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £42 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel D'Gomar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms with double beds and king size. Some facing the bay of Isla Mujeres, outdoor terrazzo and free early coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel D'Gomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Gomar
d Gomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing