We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice chilled place”
Review of Hotel D'Gomar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel D'Gomar
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“nice chilled place”
Reviewed 26 January 2014

This is a nice place to stay, yes the rooms are a bit dated and it is basic in places, but for the money it does everything you would expect. There is free coffee and water and a fridge in the breakfast area. It was a bit noisy during the day when we stayed as they are building a new ferry terminal opposite, but it didn't affect our sleep. Frank is a cool guy and was very helpful when we had any queries. Our room was a bit scruffy but everything worked and it was very handy for getting around the island.

Room Tip: Maybe ones further back from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frankie033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    20
    55
    28
    8
    10
See reviews for
15
59
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
london,Kent
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Weather dreadful over festive period and i wasn`t enjoying mainland Mexico and its filth at all..So to the island Mujeres we went for 2nd week,great ferry crossings on reliable/regular catamarans .
The hotel/b&b is clean,comfortable,with hot water and clean towels daily.It`s built on 4 stories over looking both sides of the island from level 2 upwards.Ferry port directly opposite with a current new build of terminal under way,this to incorporate shops,luggage storage,ticket offices et al.Next door to hotel D`Gomar is an extension of the same family business renting out Golf buggies for touring this wee island.They are the customery use of transport although cars are allowed!Taxies available 24/7 at little cost(they are red in colour.The hotel is also good value for money and on subject of money some of their banks do not exchange sterling/pounds,the exchange bureau at hotel will,at a slightly lower xchange rate.
Frank the owner is one of the kindest,friendliest gentlemen i have had the pleasure to meet,him welcoming and will reassure you regards island life in any way he can be helpful.Thanks to frank our holiday was saved from the filth and filthy wet weather we had,his wee hotel aging but still in great working order!Hoping to return at easter when the rain has gone else where,Hotel D`Gomar and Isla Mujeres well worth the atlantic crossing..the ancient sights and sea are lovely!

Room Tip: corner rooms 04 on all levels have front facing balcony with tv`s and fridges.Some english/usa speak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We had a lovely week here despite it raining nearly every day (and no our room didn't leak!). Frank makes you feel like part of the family and gives you hugs every day. He's also full of information about the island and is happy to chat away about anything. Location is good, on the main street across from the ferry terminal. They are building a new terminal across the road so if building works put you off staying somewhere then you have been warned (personally didn't bother us one bit and quite interesting to watch other countries building skills). The rooms are clean and spacious. The decor is a little bit 1970s but that doesn't matter to us as long as it's clean. We had the corner room on the third floor with massive bed, fridge, TV, aircon and a balcony overlooking the sea. The aircon is brilliant and we had to switch it off as got so cold. Our maid came in every day to make the bed and give us clean towels. There is an area with tables, free tea and coffee and a communal fridge which is a nice touch. About 5-10 minute walk from Playa Norte beach and a reasonable golf cart hire place downstairs. All in all a lovely stay. Frank brightened our spirits even through a week of rain!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Louise J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent a week here at the end of Dec. Our second night there it poured rain all afternoon and into the night. I thought, according to the one review, I might need a snorkel set by morning. We woke up to a completely dry room. NO water whatsoever. We were also in a corner room.

The view is great, and it is so easy to find, simply walk off the ferry and across the street. Frank is the best. He gave us numerous suggestions about restaurants and things to do. Places that were out of the way that we never would have found on our own. Definitely a great place to stay.

Gracious Frank

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Farmer1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This place reminds me of my grandfather's house in PR, clean and quaint. It's not very luxurious but if you have ever spent any significant amount of time in the islands you will feel right at home. The AC is cool and the water is hot. All of the rooms on the corners (_04) have TV's and fridges.
The location is good if you want to experience a bit more than just the beach.
It's right across the street from the ferry and around the corner from the town square where you can find all of the local food carts for lunch /dinner, or get a few things from the grocery store. The closest beach is a 3 minute walk away and Playa Norte 10 minutes. We stopped each morning to get empanisadas from the stand two streets down on our way to the beach.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tlsmith1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

We loved our stay at Hotel D'Gomar! The entire hotel was kept immaculate! We sat on our cute little balcony and watched the ferries coming and going, watched the street light up at night. It rained but we never had a problem with water in our room. Most of the time we left the windows open and enjoyed the breeze, without worrying about bugs! If it got too hot, the AC worked perfectly. Around the corner we enjoyed wonderful inexpensive massages, nearby to many restaurants with nice views and great food. We had access to a little kitchen area with coffee, microwave and purified water! We cant wait to return to Isla and stay at the Hotel D'Gomar!

Room Tip: We had the second (third) floor corner room with a great view and nice private balcony area!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunneeNj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

read many reviews and the price seemed good. well rooms are really dark and dated for sure. had a rain storm on 05/01/2013 at night and our front corner room on the second floor got flooded. everything on the floor was wet. door latch was about to fall off and not secure at all. we had booked two nights and only stayed one. got the money back for the second night and went to another hotel that we stayed at before. we would have moved if they did not even give us the money back. my wife hated this place. all she could think of was that someone may break in the room . and bed bugs crossed her mind also. we had a king bed and it was ok. but i would spend a few more dollars for a much better place . trust me on this one. i have travel to many places in mexico and this one is on the bottom of places to stay

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank nc-1traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
heredia, Gerente at Hotel D'Gomar, responded to this review, 18 May 2013
It’s unlikely that someone might break into one of our rooms since we have a night clerk checking the areas constantly at night. He stays at the main entrance much of the time and besides the island is very safe.
The main door of the rooms is strong enough so, there is no way that it falls down just for a windy rain.
That room (104) was very clean and the bed does have a new mattress. There was little water running under the door (the storm was at midnight for 2 hours) but next morning the maid came in to the room and cleaned it very well.
The room is not dark since it has 2 big windows one facing to the ocean front balcony and the other to the hall on the main coffee area (room 104 has many frequent guest ask for that room.)
The hotel was build in 1988 and was renovated in 2006 after the hurricane” Wilma” and still looks pretty good.
They did receive a $10.00 a night discount when they checked in.
That morning I did apology to them after I heard their complaints and they let me know that they were going to check out and find a different hotel. I immediately returned their money.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Francis Arlene Hotel
Francis Arlene Hotel
#27 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
154 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
242 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#18 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
222 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel D'Gomar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel D'Gomar

Property: Hotel D'Gomar
Address: Rueda Medina 150, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel D'Gomar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
20 rooms with double beds and king size. Some facing the bay of Isla Mujeres, outdoor terrazzo and free early coffee. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel D'Gomar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel d Gomar
d Gomar Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing