We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Francis Arlene Hotel, Isla Mujeres. (2013)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Francis Arlene Hotel
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Francis Arlene Hotel, Isla Mujeres. (2013)”
Reviewed 1 February 2013

My husband and I stayed in this hotel 2 yrs. ago so we are familar with it. We enjoyed it then and so we decided to stay this yr. as well. The owner and the other workers were very helpful.
In fact when we were on our last few days, (we stayed there 2 wks.) our cleaning lady thanked me personally for the tips that we left every day. It does help when you know abit of Spanish. I'm very familar with the Island and have gotten to know a few locals as this was my 11th. time there. I would definitely recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Rm. # 6 is good as it's roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank blueeyes2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

154 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    55
    22
    15
    13
See reviews for
21
74
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2013

My boyfriend and I were on Isla Mujeres for 3 weeks in december/early january 2013. We extended our stay by a few days and had to move to a different hotel for the last three days of our trip. We chose the Francis Arlene. When we checked in we were given room number 7. It was ridiculously small, had horrible sponge painted orange walls and the bed was like a rock. There was no place to put our bags either, not even a little table or a shelf. There were about 50 mosquitos flying around too which we had to spend an hour killing. The toilet seemed like it was going to overflow the first time we flushed it so we went down to ask to be moved. The person at the front desk said they could not move us that night but we could be moved tomorrow. After the most horrible nights sleep on a bed that felt like a pile of wet sand, we finally got moved to room 8. This room was better but had very bad security as the common area patio had a window right into our room that did not have a proper lock. The room had no safe so we felt worried when ever we left the room. The bed in this room was a little bit less hard but those three nights at the francis arlene were the worst sleeps I have ever had...and I have backpacked through se asia staying in some extremely questionable hostels....

All in all the Francis Arlene is an ok hotel. We paid $75 and the quality of stay was extremely low. For $75 you can stay in a much better place downtown. I can deal with a crappy room and limited amenities but having such uncomfortable beds along side all the other stuff is just not ok. You leave the hotel feeling terrible and sore and you just dont want to return back to your room because everything is just not inviting. We will not be returning.

Room Tip: I would ask to see the room before you pay. There is no refunds. Also do not stay in room 7! even r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Flipflopyyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerardo m, Propietario at Francis Arlene Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
DEAR GUEST we certainly appreciate your comments, they help us improve our service, due to your comment , we have made changes in the room you mention, and hope to have another oportunity at least visit us. Thank you in advance
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Arrived after dark paid cash for 2 nights- before seeing the room. Our mistake- very dissapointing: lamp had black sutt and grunge, walls had grunge and cobwebs, main wall/window of room looked onto common space, door security was questionable, bed linens were clean but thin with use and foam on top of mattress just gave me the hee-be-gee-bies. Even after a stroll and dinner, room still looked unappetizing. Went down at 11:30 to front desk to tell them that it was totally unacceptable and wanted our cash back for the 2nd night.
Next day new front desk person said couldn't give a refund but would change our room.
Interior courtyard room was cleaner- and although the shower window was accessible to anyone using the stairs... we felt more secure and a bit more private.
After exploring the Island on our first day we realized that our $75 US dollars could have gotten us a bit more luxury and privacy if we ventured out of the core of tourist town. However, if you like being close to the ferry, all the tourist shops, the restaurants and bars- with the right room- Francis Arlene is an ok place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that leads to the interior courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ducaticool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gerardo m, Propietario at Francis Arlene Hotel, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you very much for your comment , my name is GERARDO, and realy appreciate your opihion and we will our best to follow your recomendations, and hope you give us another opportunity to show you the difference, and I personally make sure you have a better service
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 October 2012

I wouldnt recommend to stay at this hotel. the staff was not wellcoming and not helpfull, just wasnt nice... the room was ok and clean but it wasnt woorth it . in my expriance i wouldnt come back again.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shirshur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

I had a blast on my trip with Living Social and the hotel was nice and everyone was very accomodating. I would definitely reccommend to others. It was in a convenient location and easy access to the beach. It is a small hotel which wasn't a bad thing because it was easy to get used to everything.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mexico City, Mexico
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

We stayed at Francis Arlene for an extended weekend. The small hotel is very close to the North beach (5 minutes to walk) and on a parallel street to the main one with all its restaurants, shops and bars. Apart from a party nearby on Saturday it seems to be usually a very quite place. Staff is very friendly and rooms very clean. We had a room with ventilator and balcony on the peaceful inner courtyard. Value for money was excellent. From the Ultramar ferry you walk to 5 - 10 minutes.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have windows, room 14 has and a nice balcony on top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Chilango2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Speonk NY
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

My husband and I spent 4 days there this May. The hotel is near everything but on a quiet avenue, owners are friendly and make you feel like one of the family. They keep the place spotless. My only issue was the air conditioner was noisy. Isla Mujeres is a special place to kick back and slow down. Play Norte is beautiful! Specially enjoyed a bucket of beer watching the sun set at the Sunset grill on Playa Norte.

Room Tip: check the air conditioner for excessive noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank artful99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel D'Gomar
Hotel D'Gomar
#32 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
121 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isleno
Hotel Isleno
#17 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
112 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
400 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Francis Arlene Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Francis Arlene Hotel

Property: Francis Arlene Hotel
Address: Avenida Guerrero No. 7, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Francis Arlene Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Francis Arlene Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Francis Arlene
Francis Arlene Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing