We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Casa de los Suenos
Ranked #8 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Love this place, it is such a serene and beautiful resort, so quiet and so clean with amazing staff!!! The food is wonderful, lots of selection of food from authentic foods to foods with a little twist!

I would like to mention especially Gonzalo who went the extra mile to make sure that my stay was above excellent! Gonzalo is the type of person that will always go the extra mile to help you out. If you are looking for fun activities to do and to be treated like royalty, he's definitely the person to know at this resort! All together, the staff at the Casa Suenos are very friendly and everyone at this resort has such a kind heart!!! Miss you all!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room Abundancia, best view of the ocean!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amor-el-sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (503)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 503 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

We love love love this place. I'm not sure where to start. The view is AWESOME- The staff is off the charts great! The food is delicious, its so pretty your tempted not to eat it, but trust me DO!
The owners are fantastic giving people who donate the profits to charitable organizations. They have a negitive edge pool with stunning views, they will even let you use the Kayaks they have on the lower level by the ocean. I can't say enough good things about this place. It is by far a MUST experience if your in Isla Mujeres:)

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The "Casa de los Suenos" on Isla Mujeres is a nice charming hotel, situated on the south part of the island (it will therefore cost you 80 pesos for each taxi ride -one way- to the city). It certainly worths 4 stars: beautiful sea view from our room (Sol), cute small swimming pool, nice sized bedrooms with elegant déco, performant A/C system, fresh squeezed orange juice + coffee placed in front of the room each morning, evening service (not everyone like mint chocolate but the attention is there),... With some extra attention to details, it might be given another star (which would then justify the high rates, far too high for the category and the services provided). What should be improved: a bathtube, a better shower and shower curtains (the one provided is in plastic...), constant warm water, slippers needed, matching bathrobes (they do have bathrobes but they are completely dismatched), new toilet seats (it is broken in our room, quite surprising that the housekerping service does not notice). A special attention should be given to the service: the housekeeping persons are not recognizable (it feels strange to find a young guy in his jeans who is in your bedroom when you come back from a morning walk), there was dust over the higher furniture, the waiters are not smiling or attentive and can barely speak English (I can speak some Spanish but as the menu is in English, it is not easy for the communication). I did not appreciate to be reminded all the time that the service was not included (they stamp this in red on each one of your bill, including the one of the included breakfast >> first time ever that I am asked to give a tip for an included breakast!). I understand that tipping is upon each one's decision but I believe that the key to ensure a tip is to provide good service, rather that to stamp this in red on all your bills. Working in the hotel luxury industry for more than 10 years, I know exactly what 5 stars hotels look like and how much they can charge. Casa de los Suenos is a 4 stars that charges 5 stars fees.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emercenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

My wife and I spent 10 days at the hotel in early December, intent on nothing but peaceful, relaxation. We found the hotel to have some really excellent features, but many small things that unfortunately took away from the experience. Mainly we found the hotel to be torn between providing guests with a zen like relaxing environment of a boutique hotel, and trying to solicit the Happy Hour, 20 peso cerveza crowd with loud music that did NOT compliment the surroundings.

The Good

For the most part the service was excellent - especially Juan Jose, Juan Pablo, Gaston and Silvia.
Breakfast and food was excellent.
The bed, bedding and pillows - soft and luxurious.
Views and our room Sol (except the rather dire and stark bathroom).
Coffee and juice delivery to the room every morning.

The Not-So-Good & Little Things that just really take away from the boutique experience:

Dirty and not well maintained furniture - the chairs in our room were covered in a natural cotton and made of natural wood - fitting the decor....except the cotton was so filthy we had to keep it covered with a towel. The cushions on the couches in the lounges in the public areas, even the waterproof ones were all filthy and stained. The sun umbrellas were covered in so much mildew that when you sat under them to get some relief from the sun, it smelled musty and moldy.
The music - every single day this was an issue. The staff (often one of the owners) would put on a soundtrack of just horrible 80's and 90's american music that played non-stop and was WAY TOO LOUD. Guests would often turn down the volume or ask the staff to change it or turn it off. Depending on who was working, these requests were accommodated - but only lasted a short while before being turned back up. I heard enough Beach Boys and Jimmy Buffet music to last me a lifetime !!! This is Mexico, not Florida !! Juan Pablo seemed to get this, and would often change the music to something more mellow and suitable for just chilling out.
Coffee was ok at best. I saw they used Costco ground coffee, but the coffee maker was a budget unit which produced a bad cup of joe. They also served powdered creamer with the room service, and for a few days the fresh juice was actually Tang.
There was a constant flow of tourists converging on the already small pool area, taking pictures, asking for tours, trying to use the pool and having drinks by the small bar. They should really find a way to limit this, by diverting all guests to the restaurant bar below and only offering tours during certain, limited periods - because while they are trying to perhaps get new business by showing off the lovely facility, it is at the expense of those who are already paying guests trying to get some relaxation in.

Room Tip: The "Sol" unit is right beside the public bathroom. Be prepared for a lot of traffic and s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank HarrowRyan13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Can't say enough about this property! True island resort - the perfect size for those that wish for a retreat away from the tourism.. We have been multiple times and can't wait to visit again! We love Jim & Patti, Jason and Gonzo (and the entire staff) of Casa De Los Suenos! We also love how they contribute to needs of children and families on the island.. We are lifelong repeats to this resort and our friends there : ))

Room Tip: All of the suites are wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

This is my #1 pick!
The hotel is stunning!comfortable,spotless:-)
The Staff is so wonderful:-) Gonzalo is an asset to this Hotel! He takes pride in his work and loves his job. He will bend over to make your stay memorable!

Room Tip: We saw sll the rooms,everyoneis perfect. The presidential suite is breath taking:-) not a bad room i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deniseleigh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

My husband and I spent two weeks at the amazing Casa de los Suenos and can say without a shadow of a doubt, we are in love with the place. Jim and Patti are unbelievably welcoming hosts and Jason, Gonzo and the rest of the staff are stellar people who genuinely care about providing a great experience.

We are well travelled and have had the chance to stay in some of the best hotels and see many beautiful corners of the world, but the simplicity and authenticity of Isla Mujeres has kept us coming back for the past 6 years. As much as we loved the island, I can honestly say that the weeks in the incredibly comfortable, beautifully appointed and incredibly spacious (~1600 square feet) Presidential Suite has made us love the island even more. The quiet south side of the island, a gorgeous patio with a stunning view, a very large private pool and the live music wafting up from the restaurant below made for some of our favorite afternoons in memory.
Whether you want to spend your days active in the water (kayaks and snorkelling right off the doc) or in a comfortable lounge chair with a book sipping delicious cocktails, Casa de los Suenos is the place for you.

Side note (and an important one for us), the hotel supports a special needs school on the island - when you are on holiday in a truly beautiful spot in a truly exceptional hotel surrounded by absolutely amazing people AND supporting a good cause - you know you have truly found a very, very special place.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
3  Thank VancouverTheHair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
3.8 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,412 reviews
2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
3.8 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#2 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
366 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria's Kan-kin
Maria's Kan-kin
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Suenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Suenos

Address: Carretera a Garrafon | Fracc. Turquesa lote 9 A y B, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#5 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £146 - £370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de los Suenos 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you walk through the door, Casa de los Suenos radiates tranquility, peace and a sense of "home." Whether you’re planning a family reunion, a wedding destination in Mexico or an extraordinary relaxing vacation, Casa de los Suenos is the answer to your dreams. Breathtaking views and an inviting atmosphere are the hallmarks of this beautiful boutique hotel, as with its warm and attentive staff. Casa de los Suenos staff has the time and grace to discover and fulfill their guests' needs and wishes. The property has nine suites all with ocean view and a Presidential Suite. Spa services are available everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa de los Suenos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Suenos Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing