We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Property, Great Service!”
Review of Casa de los Suenos

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Casa de los Suenos
Ranked #6 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 January 2014

This small but luxurious hotel is away from the bustle of the town, right on the water with a gorgeous pool and way spacious rooms with large balconies. The food at breakfast and dinner were both spectacular and the setting along the water was beautiful. There are hammocks and a dockside bar with music in the evening. The customer service was the best on the island. Will definitely return!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Bingenheimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (494)
There are newer reviews for Casa de los Suenos
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 494 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2014

We have spent 2 nights at this place on the 1st and 2nd of January this year. The place was dirty and run down. The service was horrible. For $400 a night you would expect some courtesy, instead waiters were pointing fingers and laughing at customers. When we asked for the minibar to be refilled we were told that we get ONLY WATER after the first day ( not that there was anything special there in the first place, water 2 cans of cheap beer and 2 cans of coke.) Once again, this was 400 bucks a night.
They made copies and of our passports and credit cards (FRONT and BACK) claiming that they need it for billing which they do through PayPal. Who knows who has our info now... BE WARE....
Also, they charge everything in US dollars. They make their own exchange rate ( which was below any bank in Mexico) and when we complained they told us:TOUGH, what you gonna do?
So anybody paying by credit card in any other currency than US.. WATCH OUT.. You will get cheated.
All together, please DO NOT GO THERE !!!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
13  Thank Wojciech F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BarManager, Owner at Casa de los Suenos, responded to this reviewResponded 26 January 2014

Normally, it’s our policy not to respond to reviews - everyone is entitled to their opinion. Also, we know that no matter what we do there will always be someone with expectations that we could never meet. Still, please read a sampling of all the other reviews of our property on this site to see if you think all the anger expressed by this guest is the norm.


We have only two comments: 1) every hotel in the world records your credit card data upon check in. It is also common practice to either hold or to make copies of the passports of foreign travelers - every hotel in the world; and, 2) our room rates are posted and billed in USD through PayPal. As the vast majority of our guests are American, this is seen by most of our guests as a benefit and not a scheme. All other food, beverage and service is listed and billed in local currency – also seen as a benefit by all those travelers who converted their home currency to pesos so that they can move freely in the country they have chosen to visit. We’re not a bank, we're a 10 room boutique hotel. If you pay us in Dollars or Euros or drachmas or pounds or krugerrands we have to take that to a bank and pay for conversion, just as this guest would have had to do…and chose not to bother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We arrived late at the Casa de Los suenos from Gatwick after a delayed 12 hour flight.
It was nighttime, raining and cold and our first impression after being dropped off by the taxi was not great, even though the hotel had did a magnificent job at organising transfers from airport to ferry to hotel.
However our spirits were soon lifted when we were escorted to our room named Harmony, which was spacious, luxurious, and very clean.
We slept in the most comfortable beds imaginable and in the morning we awoke to the most magnificent views from our balcony and we set about discovering what both the hotel and Island had to offer.
The staff were delightful and charming with a special mention for Sylvia at breakfast, JJ at the front of house, Jason who was great company at the restaurant, and special mention for Oliver and Gonzo who gave great service and great cocktails.
We ate in the restaurant over several nights and the food was top notch, and very reasonably priced
Look out for the chorizo sausage starter poached in red wine as it is simply amazing.
The hotel took care of all our needs and we wanted for nothing
The only negative experience we had was when we booked in for a massage, and the massage room is below one of the hotel toilets, so during our tranquil massage we were shocked to hear the toilet door open and everything that came after
Although we took it as being quite amusing, the masseurs were quite embarrassed
All in all, amazing place to stay, and there is no where better to unwind
The following week we stayed in a 5 star all inclusive cancun hotel, and although this was a great place to stay, we missed the individuality of the Casa de Los Suenos
We are hoping that our conference will be in Cancun next year so that we can do a return trip to this wonderful boutique hotel
5 stars out of 5

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Darren J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Stayed for two nights. Amazing view, great rooms, best service and comp. very recommended! Take a golf cart and search the island. You should take a massage at the spa. Also the restaurant is a bit pricy but very good. Worth the price.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank twolko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

Love this place, it is such a serene and beautiful resort, so quiet and so clean with amazing staff!!! The food is wonderful, lots of selection of food from authentic foods to foods with a little twist!

I would like to mention especially Gonzalo who went the extra mile to make sure that my stay was above excellent! Gonzalo is the type of person that will always go the extra mile to help you out. If you are looking for fun activities to do and to be treated like royalty, he's definitely the person to know at this resort! All together, the staff at the Casa Suenos are very friendly and everyone at this resort has such a kind heart!!! Miss you all!!!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room Abundancia, best view of the ocean!!
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amor-el-sol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We love love love this place. I'm not sure where to start. The view is AWESOME- The staff is off the charts great! The food is delicious, its so pretty your tempted not to eat it, but trust me DO!
The owners are fantastic giving people who donate the profits to charitable organizations. They have a negitive edge pool with stunning views, they will even let you use the Kayaks they have on the lower level by the ocean. I can't say enough good things about this place. It is by far a MUST experience if your in Isla Mujeres:)

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kcam1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014 via mobile

The "Casa de los Suenos" on Isla Mujeres is a nice charming hotel, situated on the south part of the island (it will therefore cost you 80 pesos for each taxi ride -one way- to the city). It certainly worths 4 stars: beautiful sea view from our room (Sol), cute small swimming pool, nice sized bedrooms with elegant déco, performant A/C system, fresh squeezed orange juice + coffee placed in front of the room each morning, evening service (not everyone like mint chocolate but the attention is there),... With some extra attention to details, it might be given another star (which would then justify the high rates, far too high for the category and the services provided). What should be improved: a bathtube, a better shower and shower curtains (the one provided is in plastic...), constant warm water, slippers needed, matching bathrobes (they do have bathrobes but they are completely dismatched), new toilet seats (it is broken in our room, quite surprising that the housekerping service does not notice). A special attention should be given to the service: the housekeeping persons are not recognizable (it feels strange to find a young guy in his jeans who is in your bedroom when you come back from a morning walk), there was dust over the higher furniture, the waiters are not smiling or attentive and can barely speak English (I can speak some Spanish but as the menu is in English, it is not easy for the communication). I did not appreciate to be reminded all the time that the service was not included (they stamp this in red on each one of your bill, including the one of the included breakfast >> first time ever that I am asked to give a tip for an included breakast!). I understand that tipping is upon each one's decision but I believe that the key to ensure a tip is to provide good service, rather that to stamp this in red on all your bills. Working in the hotel luxury industry for more than 10 years, I know exactly what 5 stars hotels look like and how much they can charge. Casa de los Suenos is a 4 stars that charges 5 stars fees.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank emercenier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
3.8 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,372 reviews
2.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
3.8 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
418 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hotel Secreto
Hotel Secreto
#9 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
Maria's Kan-kin
Maria's Kan-kin
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa de los Suenos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa de los Suenos

Address: Carretera a Garrafon | Fracc. Turquesa lote 9 A y B, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Isla Mujeres
#4 Luxury Hotel in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £144 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Casa de los Suenos 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the moment you walk through the door, Casa de los Suenos radiates tranquility, peace and a sense of "home." Whether you’re planning a family reunion, a wedding destination in Mexico or an extraordinary relaxing vacation, Casa de los Suenos is the answer to your dreams. Breathtaking views and an inviting atmosphere are the hallmarks of this beautiful boutique hotel, as with its warm and attentive staff. Casa de los Suenos staff has the time and grace to discover and fulfill their guests' needs and wishes. The property has nine suites all with ocean view and a Presidential Suite. Spa services are available everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Casa de los Suenos reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa De Los Suenos Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing