We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pork chops on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Fredy's

Fredy's
Ranked #63 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pork chops on the island!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

Best pork chops on Isla Mujeres....no make that any where. I have never tasted pork chops this good. Better than steak. You don't want to leave the island without trying this dish. And Fredy and his family are super nice. You will enjoy dining at Fedy's.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    49
    19
    10
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food watch how much your charged”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Great food, loved the baked shrimp with cheese sauce. Owner was friendly, trying to please his customers. I felt like we were over charged about $10.00 from my calculations of what we ordered. I proubly should have questioned the bill....but O'well
Good food, just check your bill.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeleeDallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Try the ceviche! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

We stopped by Fredy's on a whim and were uber surprised at how delicious our meal was!

The drinks were strong and the ceviche was the best on the island- and we tried A LOT!

The chicken cheese and mushroom fajitas were mouth watering!

A must try for dinner!!!!

Helpful?
3 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2014

Fredys is another place that we have been coming to for at least 10 years. Our two favorite meals are the pork chops and shrimp, which we end up ordering most of the time. We have always had good service and enjoy visiting with Fredy every year.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mimsNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Groton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“The absolute BEST pork chop!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

Sometimes it seems weird to me that a small restaurant on Isla Mujeres serves the best pork chop l have ever had. But during my recent dinner at Fredy's, l was once again served the absolute best pork chop ever! I also love that the meal comes with a baked potato and freshly steamed vegetables, not the typical beans and rice. It feels like a home cooked meal to me. I have had the boquinete (hogfish) at Fredy's in the past, which is always fabulous, but it was not available on this particular evening. Fredy only serves fresh fish, so if the fishermen don't catch it....he won't have it.
Fredy and Ana are delightful people, and have a gift for making their customers feel special. Ana also makes a great margarita!
Don't miss dining here while visiting Isla....they are closed on Tuesdays, though, so plan accordingly.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank leeleemil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fredy's also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Fredy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing