We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun place, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Don Chepo

Don Chepo
Ranked #123 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Cuisines: Mexican, Latin, Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Cheap Eats, Child-friendly
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun place, great food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014

We always go to Don Chepo - love the tacos, especially the chorizo tacos. The Mojitos are VERY good, and usually all drinks are 2 for 1. We have never had anything bad there.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank shomesue .
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    57
    25
    10
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hibbing
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We always come back to do chepo, they have been here for the long haul, their enchiladas suiza are the best, mojitos perfect, and the flan is the yummiest. Staff is so nice. Please give them a try you won't be disappointed

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank SandyfromNMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

Had tacos and 2 beers for $9 US. A little over-rated and they don't take credit cards. Had better tacos in the Colonias for 1/3 the price.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank jwistin19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Pretty good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014 via mobile

Cruised the island for the best Ceviche in town. This place had good Ceviche and not a small portion like some places. We went back for dinner, had a good (if a bit small) meal. Service was a little slow, but the outdoor seating and people watching made the time pass. Go for a few Corona's and the Ceviche midday and enjoy!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank fiveinthefamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wi.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Great meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Had a great meal on our last night on the island. After strolling down Hidalgo and looking at the menus we decided to try this spot. We were given chips and salsa and also a hot flat bread with dipping oils before the entree. Service as quick and attentive.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank relics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Don Chepo also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Don Chepo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing