We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Kinich is a very nice hotel”
Review of Hotel Kinich

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Kinich
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Colorado
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hotel Kinich is a very nice hotel”
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Kinich again this year. We had great service while there. Although the floors didn't look dirty, our socks and feet got dirty walking on the tile floors. It is located to all North end of Isla Mujeres. It is close to all great restaurants and the Playa Norte and Sunset Grill which is our favorite place to spend our days and sometimes evenings. I did have a problem trying to get in touch with them to make a reservation and if it hadn't been for a friend who owns Sunset Grill who got in touch with the owner we wouldn't have had a reservation. So they do need to do something about the people who do their reservations. They have had staff quitting and leaving so it took awhile to get new personnel in place. I believe that is what happened. But they try hard to help you and do what you need done.

Room Tip: We always try to get the back rooms it is quieter as bars in the front area and can get noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrip55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    23
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
15
39
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
226 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Spent five nights here in March. We booked through Isla Beckons as we could not get a reply from the hotel when we used their web site or sent direct emails in both English and Spanish. We were supposed to arrive on a Thursday and stay for five days but due to poor weather our flight was delayed for 24 hours and the airline allowed us to delay our return by 24 hours as well.
We contacted the Isla Beckons who contacted the hotel and they agreed to shift our reservations one day over and didn’t charge us! That was REALLY nice. Check in was no problem but the lady at the counter only spoke Spanish however with our reservation and some pointing we got it all sorted out. The room was spotlessly clean, safe, microwave, fridge and small balcony. Our room was on the second floor and there is no elevator so if stairs are an issue get a lower floor.
We could hear hall noise when in our room but this never seemed to be a problem as the clientele at this hotel is mature individuals and I am pretty sure if there was noise the staff would rectify it.
The roof top is a nice place to watch sunset, there are some chairs up there and we had wine while watching the sunset.
Housekeeping was there everyday changing the linen and cleaning and they did an A-1 job. Air Conditioning worked wonderfully and I would not get a room with out it there. The location, one block off the pedestrian strip was great and only three blocks from the beach make this a perfect place to stay while on Isla.

Room Tip: No elevator so if stairs are an issue get a room on one of the lower floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank get_with_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grayslake, Illinois
Level Contributor
83 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This is a nice place stay. Its clean, centrally located and there is always someone at the front desk. We had a room with a balcony overlooking Juarez which made for interesting people watching by day but it was quiet overnight. They have a roof top patio that gives you almost 360 degree views of the island including sunrise and sunset. It was beautiful. They have about 6 padded loungers and a table and chairs up there. The water pressure was ok and there was hot water.

The only cons were that they have plastic mattress pads under the sheet. VERY uncomfortable in the tropics. It would also be really nice to have drinking glasses for teeth brushing with the bottled water.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jetskigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, CA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Got to stay here for a quick trip down and it is SUCH a great place! It's really reasonable and clean and in a fantastic location - the staff is wonderful and attentive. Its nice to be close to shops, restaurants and beaches. The beds are firm but very comfortable. Book with no hesitation!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IslaChicas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 October 2012

The hotel was in November 2011 quite new. The room is very clean and the staffs are friendly. The location is central, you can walk to the beach and restaurants. The price is for this category on isla mujeres very good. We would come back anytime.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amelia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mérida, Yucatan, Mexico
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2012

we went on august 12th, and we had a good time at this hotel, the beds were comfortable, the rooms with a modern decoration and AC working very good. the only thing that i didn't love was the fact that we were in the third floor and they dont have elevator, but the view on third and fourth floor is great so is worth it. The receptionists were kind and the location was close to everything. if you want to eat cheap and good go to the public market delicious food for a fair price.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padova
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

This hotel, located in the centre of the island, has spacious and clean rooms. We got a bedroom with 2 double beds, a/c, a fridge and a little terrace for a fair price. Really worth it!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daphne83Padova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
Hotel Xbulu-Ha
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Plaza Almendros
Hotel Plaza Almendros
#19 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
237 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Bucaneros
Hotel Bucaneros
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
Cabanas Maria Del Mar
#21 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
699 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Kinich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Kinich

Property: Hotel Kinich
Address: Ave Benito Juarez Mza 3, No 20, Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Kinich 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, HRS, Hotel.de, Booking.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Kinich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing