We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Twice for breakfast”
Review of Rooster Cafe

Rooster Cafe
Ranked #9 of 209 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
USA
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Twice for breakfast”
Reviewed 26 May 2012

Torta Rustica was very satisfying. A different take on a quiche-like pastry. It had Swiss cheese, ham, spinach and peppers in it and the side of potatoes were delish too. Next day I saw a couple split this and that was wise as it is huge and filling. Dear heart had the Isla Omelet which had mushrooms, cheese and onion in it - he raved about it. The wait staff here is very friendly and they were doing a brisk business both mornings we were there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank workfortrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,084
    301
    74
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shelbyville, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“MMMMM”
Reviewed 21 May 2012

Gazpacho and lobster tacos -- yes! Very nice, relaxed atmosphere. My companions had curried chicken salad, specialty tea. Everything was very good.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Judy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Just awful, but it seemed like an off day....”
Reviewed 20 May 2012 via mobile

We wanted to try this place since they had good reviews and a good menu. Unfortunately on the day we went they had just "gotten a new system" and nothing was quite right. I waited 20 minutes for a smoothly and another 40 for gluey oatmeal (donor try the oatmeal!). My boyfriend got a Benedict an his food was actually pretty good. The waiter kept bringing people the wrong food or bring food to those who had already eaten. After waiting some time to pay, we went inside to pay our bill and our waiter tried to seat us for our meal. Hopefully they pull it together and get their system under control.

Helpful?
Thank slobeachgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, District of Columbia, United States
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“huge breakfast”
Reviewed 17 May 2012

We loved this place. Delicious eggs benedictine served many different ways. Fresh juice. Lovely servers and strong air conditioning! We ate here 3 times during our week stay. Not cheap, but big portions.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
md
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“good lunch!”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

went with a group and tried variety of things--all good. Lunch special of tacos and beer an excellent deal!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jstrande
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rooster Cafe also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Rooster Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing