We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome grub!”

BoBo's Fish & Chips
Ranked #35 of 206 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Takeout
Description: Bobo's is famous for it local caught Fish & Chips, but the half pound, hand made Bobo Burger is the favourite of the locals, and followed closely by the "Crunchy Chicken" burger. Texans put chedder cheese on their beer battered "El Sol" fish burgers. Kids love Bobo's tortilla crusted chicken breast fingers, Yummy! Keeping in beach shape, then you might like a house made Caesar Salad with grilled chichen breast or grilled local caught fish. The French Canadians approve and testify about the correctness and high quality of the Poutine. Bobo himself eats five pounds a week of the crispy wings. The place is hip, comfortable and clean. Take-out or eat in. Clean!
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Awesome grub!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Let me start with my disclosure: the owner and I are both Canadians, who also went to rival high schools, so anything I say is tinted through those lenses...UCC rules, buddy! ;-)

Now that we have that out of the way, BoBo's is a great little restaurant/bar. it's ideal for a "pub-grub" meal: excellent burgers, wings, and especially fish and chips.

Decent beer selection, and my gf advises that thebartender pours "quite the generous (and tasty) piña colada."

The sporting types will enjoy the atmosphere, as there's usually a game on, and you may well score bonus points for wearing something with the Blue-jays on it!

Ideal spot for anything from a post-dive bite, to a quick meal/pause while shopping in Centro to an enjoyable place to relax...

I'll be back!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hugh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

397 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    266
    92
    22
    12
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooksville, Florida
Level Contributor
258 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“Our search for fish and chips led us to BoBo's”
Reviewed 2 November 2013

The beer battered fish was exactly what we wanted. Light, crispy, done inside. The tartar sauce was good, altho purchased, not made by BoBo. To get drinks you go next door, or the waiter will go next door to BoBo's drinks. We were at BoBo's for food. The chips were average but hot and cooked through. Most people came for "to go" food. We ate at one of the two small tables on the "sidewalk" on a kinds busy street. I felt if I was going to be run over, I would not see who hit me. Go for the food, take it away and it will be a happier experience. Beer during happy hour 4 - 6 is only 20 pesos. Cheapest beer in town!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Judymcsedona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
california
Level Contributor
122 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great stop”
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Always a great place to drink and eat and watch a game on TV. Brian is a great owner. Always happy to visit. Loves repeat guest. Food great, mescal tequila smooth. We will be back.

Helpful?
Thank infogal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MO
Level Contributor
512 reviews
414 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
“Back again!”
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Can't stay away from those yummy chicken wings...the garlic sweet sauce is even better than the franks hot sauce...who knew! The burgers and fries were also as good as before...you get a bit tired of fish every day...this is still our go to for good conversation with the owner, and good pub grub. Looks like he is expanding in the future and will be serving breakfast sammies as well...good luck on the expansion...

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Akumalholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Murrells Inlet, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A must visit when on Isla”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

When on Isla, you must visit Bobos and try the fish and chips! So good, The fish they used the day we went was Triggerfish! Beer prices very reasonable. Wish we found it sooner.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed BoBo's Fish & Chips also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to BoBo's Fish & Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing