We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a Gem”
Review of Marina Paraiso

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Marina Paraiso
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Cumberland, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a Gem”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Best mistake I've ever made. Being a delivery captain your plans change often. I had no intention of making a stop in Isla Mujeres but found this little gem that made it a pleasant surprise. More then reasonable dock fees considering the facility is beautiful, well maintained, and very we'll staffed. Chepo the Dockmaster is useful, knowledgeable, and honest ( a commodity ). The restaurant is great, try the grouper roll. The bartender Martine is entertaining and capable. Brad and his staff are new I'm told but they seem to have the recipe for a successful oasis.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_Christopher14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, General Manager at Marina Paraiso, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Thank you so much for your review for Marina Paraiso! Your review made me smile. Brad is a licensed sport fish captain & I remember the days of deliveries & crossings. They don't always go as planned. I too remember being "stuck" places & really enjoying them. We are very happy that your unexpected trip to Isla & your stay at Marina Paraiso were so enjoyable. We thank you for your kind compliments about our facility & our Marina Paraiso Team. We do hope your travels will bring you back for another visit!

My best regards,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    43
    13
    6
    3
See reviews for
22
79
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the Marina last month, just as Brad and Tiffany were completing the finishing touches on relocating Barlito to the grounds. We were there with friends and between us had the opportunity to view and stay in all of the rooms and they were all very nice and clean with local accoutrements that we appreciated. All of the staff was exceptionally friendly and helpful and we met incredible and interesting people just by hanging out at the bar for awhile. That is also where we chose to enjoy our morning coffees. As I write about it, I miss it so much.

We stayed in a King room and while billed as an ocean view - the best view of the ocean was through the bathroom window. This bothered us not. Our balcony faced the marina, was very private and a lovely place to lounge and seek shade when needed. Another friend was in the suite with the kitchenette which was similar to our room, but included a futon - lounging area and kitchenette. This would make an awesome little apartment! Another friend was in the garden room, in a rather odd location on the street side of the hotel. VERY private, with his own little garden area in front. Smallest room, but really cute.

There is a good size pool which we enjoyed and the breakfasts were great. They bake their bagels on site, and if you get the panini (which is on a multi grain bread baked there, not panini bread - still quite good) I suggest splitting it with a friend, it is giant. Thanks to everyone there for such an awesome to place to be for the week. We can't wait to come back and see you guys again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shannon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, Manager at Marina Paraiso, responded to this review, 20 April 2014
We loved having you at Marina Paraiso! Thank you for saying you loved being with us in such a nice review for TripAdvisor! We do apologize for the rain on your special Irish holiday but we were glad to have some Irish in the house for St. Patty's Day! If you come back the same time next year, you bring the lucky charms & we will have some green beer to celebrate at the palapa bar! We look forward to your next visit!

Fondly,
Tiffany
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
86 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We are cruisers and visited Marina Paraiso before the change of management. We loved the venue, the cool bar and the delicious menu. It has changed, some might say for the better but not in my opinion. Before it was relaxed and the menu with local food was good. Now, it is obviously a much tighter run ship and with a very American flavour. I have no objection to American things but we are in Mexico! Now, everything is under scrutiny and there are rules for visiting boaters and their dingies. None of the changes were made clear to the staff or the guests so you can end falling foul of the rules without being aware of it. I may be imagining it, but no one seems as relaxed as before. Shame, because the place itself is lovely with a great pool. The menu largely consists of calorie intense cheese laden food which contrasts sadly with the excellent Mexican food from before. Many people will love the new regime but we won't be back.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank blackthornwinter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, General Manager at Marina Paraiso, responded to this review, 23 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share your feelings about Marina Paraiso & our new management. Marina Paraiso has always had rules but you are right they were not followed or enforced until the new management took over. Marina Paraiso is a hotel & marina with a dive shop, it is a private resort. There are no restrictions for our guests of either the marina or hotel other than some reasonable rules like no glass by the pool, we ask that you keep your dog on a leash & clean up after it, no swimming after 9pm, no smoking in the rooms, if you want to bring your own food or drink you are asked to do so at the boaters picnic area or your room. These really just ensure a nice environment for our guests.

Now if you are not staying at the hotel & you are anchored out in the Bay, you are correct, we do have rules for people that are not guests of Marina Paraiso that we are now enforcing. It just doesn't seem fair that our guests can't sit in the guest lounge or use the showers because non-guests are using them. Marina Paraiso is not a public dock or landing for people to go into town, shower or use the internet. We are open to people paying to dock at the dingy dock up to three hours &/or eating or drinking here. In the last week, we have had a dinghy from an anchored boat chain their dinghy to our dock for an entire day. Making it impossible for our clients to dock to come eat & drink. I think it is very reasonable as managers to think that this is not good for our business & paying clients. So yes, we are enforcing rules for visiting boaters & their dinghies. Our priorities are to our paying marina, hotel & dive shop guests.

Barlito is our new restaurant at Marina Paraiso Hotel. We are thrilled to have the number one restaurant on TA on Isla Mujeres for over two years serving breakfast, lunch & dinner 7 days a week. We are sorry you missed out on all our salad options on the menu. Barlito has become quite known for their healthy options & homemade baked goods made fresh daily with no preservatives. We have some more hearty options like paninis, lasagna & meatloaf all made with the freshest Mexican ingredients with an American influence. Our menu is still developing as we train the existing staff on our recipes & menu items. Right now, we do have loaded nachos made with fresh chips & wonderful chicken & vegetable fajitas and we will be introducing more Mexican classics & seafood. We only opened Barlito at Marina Paraiso Hotel on February 25th, it has been less than a month. We have been very happy with our progress & will continue to serve high quality food & service to our clients.

We do appreciate your honesty & respect your decision to go elsewhere. We know that Marina Paraiso Hotel may not be the destination for everyone but we will continue to strive for our goals of top notch customer service, consistency & high level of quality care for our clients.

My best regards,
Tiffany Wareing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Small place (12 rooms?), we had a 'pool view' room, which meant ground floor room with a patio door that opened out onto the pool. The outdoor restaurant area was next to the pool and the bar was at the end of the pool. Beyond the pool was the dock for the dive centre (which is what I was there for) - idyllic!
If you're there to dive then this place is excellent (and so are Paradise Divers), if not, the pool is nice but the beaches are a bit of a hike.
Rooms were clean, air conditioning worked and was pretty quiet, bar was very convenient and friendly, staff also. We had a great week there!
Oh - I see one reviewer whinged about the WiFi. Yes, it only works at the bar - so go have a beer to check your email and stop moaning....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishtrousers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, General Manager at Marina Paraiso, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review for Marina Paraiso Hotel. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. We are located just out of town just a little over a mile from North Beach. As you mentioned, our wifi is only available at the bar, restaurant, guest lounge & pool. Some people do use it off their balconies. We have been working with our local provider to have it in all the rooms & have been impatiently waiting for quite some time. Island time might be fun when you are on vacation but can be a challenge for businesses! We thank you again for your kind review & look forward to having you as guest in the future.

My best regards,
Tiffany Wareing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

Marina Paraiso Hotel provided all you could ever want for a perfect island vacation. We stayed in a lovely junior suite that included a full kitchen, flat screen TV, comfy bed, great AC, beautiful tiled bath with walk in shower and a balcony perfect for people watching. The food at the on site restaurant, Barlito's, was outstanding. Barlito's also has a bakery on the property serving made from scratch bagels and paninis. The large, vanishing edge swimming pool is made for relaxing. The outdoor bar is fun and most nights there is live music. If you are into diving, there is a dive shop on the property. The hotel is close enough to walk to town or you can take a taxi or rent a golf cart. The management of the hotel, restaurant, bar, bakery and dive shop are all accommodating, friendly and ready and waiting to be of service. I will certainly plan to stay at Marina Paraiso Hotel again when I visit Isla Mujeres.

Room Tip: Junior suites are large and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Carol T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tiffany-WolrabRoil, General Manager at Marina Paraiso, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a TripAdvisor review about your experience at Marina Paraiso Hotel. We really value your opinion. We are so glad you enjoyed the property, Barlito & your stay. We are a unique hotel on Isla. The only one with a marina & a licensed dive shop onsite. We appreciate you noticing that while here.

As new managers, our goals are top notch customer service, consistency & a high level of quality care for our clients. We are so pleased that you plan on coming back for another visit. We look forward to it!

Our best regards,
Tiffany (& Brad) Wareing
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

Attended a friends birthday party in Isla Mujeres and stayed at this hotel based upon his recommendation. Had a pool view room and really enjoyed my stay. Close to town that you can walk, take a taxi or rent a golf cart. It was a very nice and safe area. Nice size pool that was well kept and great Tiki bar!! Rooms were clean and service was excellent. My only complaint is that the restaurant was going through a transition, which they didn't tell anyone about which meant they had an extremely limited menu, which was very disappointing. Also dove with Dick and Morna, which had to be one of my best dive trips ever. Will definitely be back to dive with Dick and Morna at Paradise Divers.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xenadiver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolrabRoil, General Manager at Marina Paraiso, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review about your stay at Marina Paraiso Hotel. We are glad you enjoyed diving with Paradise Divers. We do apologize that no one contacted you prior to your arrival about the management & restaurant changes. As the new managers, our goals are top notch customer service, consistency & a high level of quality care for our clients & facility. We do hope you will return to stay & dive with us at Marina Paraiso Hotel. Thank you again for your review.

Our best regards,
Brad & Tiffany Wareing
General Managers
Marina Paraiso Hotel
Barlito, bakery & market cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VA & SC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

If you are looking for a resort that isn't crowded and has a gentle atmosphere and hosts that are out are outstanding then look no further! We had the opportunity of meeting Morna & Dick at a recent trade show and from there we went to Isla on two occasions to dive with them at Marina Paraiso. The diving wasn't rushed, the sites were excellent and our tour of the rooms was exceptional. We also got to savor the food from the on-site restaurant and it was fabulous. If you want to experience the ocean take a resort course from Morna or Dick then enjoy an outstanding dive exploring the museum and reefs just minutes from the marina.

Room Tip: Each of the rooms have special qualities, from single rooms with two full size beds to suites comple...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikes351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WolrabRoil, General Manager at Marina Paraiso, responded to this review, 13 March 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to post a review about your experience at Marina Paraiso Hotel. We are so happy you enjoyed diving with Paradise Divers. Having an onsite dive shop is so very convenient for divers. You wake up have breakfast & are a short walk to the dive boat. This summer we will have a storefront for Paradise Divers on Medina in front of the hotel & marina. Our Dive Master Instructors will be able to host classes there as well as sell retail equipment for diving. We are really looking forward to expanding our dive business & so appreciate you taking the time to post a review. We hope to have you back at Marina Paraiso Hotel as a guest.

Our best regards,
Brad & Tiffany Wareing
General Managers
Marina Paraiso Hotel
Barlito, bakery & market cafe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.3 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,319 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
389 reviews
1.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
703 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,105 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
449 reviews
0.7 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marina Paraiso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marina Paraiso

Property: Marina Paraiso
Address: Avenida Rueda Medina 491, Isla Mujeres 77440, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 37 Hotels in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Marina Paraiso 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Conveniently located on the bay, Marina Paraiso Hotel on beautiful Isla Mujeres is less than a mile from the passenger ferry downtown. The only resort on Isla with a marina, a 22 room hotel, a licensed dive shop, Paradise Divers & a full service restaurant, Barlito. All rooms include A/C, wifi, satellite television, mini fridge, safe, patio or balcony, ceiling fan and daily maid service. Enjoy the views of the turquoise water from the infinity pool, the Club Islenos pool, the palapa bar or the deck dining. Marina Paraiso Hotel is truly paradise. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Marina Paraiso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing