We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“unique and wonderful! cant wait to return!”
Review of Casa Roca Caribe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Roca Caribe
Ranked #7 of 39 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 April 2012

There is NOTHING like sleeping with the breezes coming in from the ocean, and the sound of the waves crashing in on the rocks all night!  

We just loved Casa Roca from the moment we walked in the door!   Also enjoyed the crowing of the rooster that lives next door.  Wonderful house. Spectacular views of the ocean. The pool and hammock on the first floor deck are great, the hot tub jaqcuzzi on the second level deck is great; both with the wind and the view and the sound of the crashing surf. 

The area is populated with locals and is very calming and relaxing. You really get a "local" feel for this wonderful island, one that is different than the other areas; one we think is not to be missed.  And being that close to the ocean on the more natural and rugged eastern side of the island is a must in our opinion.  Also, it's a one minute walk to the mango Cafe, our absolute favorite place to eat all 3 meals on the island!

We took Jimbo's tour in his pickup truck right when we arrived and it was the smartest thing we did; gave us a great feel for the entire island and where we wanted to go.  

It's in a perfect location on the island, sort of right in he middle.  So you can get away from the throngs of people and the noise of the more touristy end of the island, but close enough to easily visit all parts of the island with a golf cart or by cab.  The golf cart we rented for the week is perfect and strongly recommended.  

My wife and I also had massages by a woman who comes to the house.  What a way to get a massage, on the deck in the warmth from the sun and with those lovely breezes off the ocean and the relaxing surf sounds.  We highly recommend this.

We visited some fancy hotels near the big beaches with their sterile, modern rooms that felt like you were in Las Vegas or New York -- not our cup of tea.  Cafe Roca Caribe is all it's advertised to be and more!

Tom Rush/Nora Whiteman 
Minneapolis, MN
Tjrush@rushs.com

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 29 March 2012

We spent a week on Isle and it was great. When checking out places to stay we stumbled on Jimbo and Karen place. I had email Jimbo and found out the the place was rented for our first 3 days, but was open for the last 4 days. Jimbo was great, he helped me find a condo to stay in for the first 3 days on north beach area and took care of booking it. He is a great resource for anything about Isle and emails you back, It gives you a great feeling of having a friend and resource on your travel.

After our 3 day stay at the condo Jimbo's son picked us up in his truck and delivered us to casa roca caribe. the place was great. It's located in the middle of Isle on the coast. A beautiful view of the ocean. We had a grocery store down the street, and several place to eat were close. Jimbo gave us the tour of the house, and showed the steps to get down to the ocean. We had a great time. When we had to leave Jimbo took us to the ferry in town.

If you need a place to stay this is it. If it is booked still use Jimbo as a reference to help you find a place.

Room Tip: we stayed on the lower level, it was great. the upper level had some great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank steve m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We took a gamble, and sent money ahead of time to secure our upstairs portion of the building without knowing anything about this location. When we arrived, Jimbo was a gracious host even though we arrived on the last ferry due to problems beyond our control. My wife and I (and our three boys, 9 year old twins and 11 year old son) were graciously welcomed and taken to our wonderful level of this great location at midnight. I would highly recommend Jimbo and Karen's Casa Roca Caribe! I have been traveling to Isla Mujeres since 1989, and have never felt as welcomed at any location in Isla Mujeres as I did here. I don't want to say much more, as I don't want to be bumped out of having the ability to rent this location, but I have to be honest as I have trusted "tripadvisor" in the past and will in the future. Keep another thing in mind...If Jimbo and Karen don't have room at Casa Roca Caribe available for your dates, they have many other rental locations that they know about, and can point you in the right direction. If you are going to Isla Mujeres for the first time, you are going to the greatest place in the Caribbean portion of Mexico. Have a great time!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kraig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

Your own private ocean views and breezes (shell hunting too) complete with swimming pool on one level and jacuzzi on the other, this central location allows for enjoying local neighborhood activities and excellent eateries (including the famous Mango Cafe) while still being close to both Playa Norte and the centro and Punta Sur. We rented the downstairs for five days and didn't want to leave. Jim is a wonderful host, helpful and nearby but not hovering, full of great tips on enjoying the whole island. Every day was a rewarding adventure whether we were walking, renting a golf cart to go further afield, such as to the Zama Beach resort, or taking an inexpensive cab to the centro with its beaches, great restaurants and shopping promenade on Hidalgo Street. Highly recommended for a real sense of island life.

Room Tip: Depending on your needs, ask Jim about availability of the upstairs or downstairs of the house, or t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shelley A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Found Casa Roca Caribe on Home Away website and it looked like everything I like in a travel destination and so I was really happy to find out that reality matched the website. Jimbo and Karen are lovely and as everyone has said and they provide wonderful concierge service. The house has a great lay out upstairs and down. we were there for ten days and originally were going to stay upstairs for 5 nights and then switch to downstairs but we loved the upstairs patio overlooking the street. Everynight we made salsa and cocktails and watched the sunset and chatted with people. One of the best things we loved about being mid island was being in a neighborhood and observing the daily lives of all of the people who lived there. And then the really best part were all of the bicycle vendors who honk and drive by with everything from pastries and breads to fruits and/or gas. Of course the setting iitself is fantastic and the crashing waves against the coral are very sleep inducing! Beaches are beautiful. Cabs are cheap and very plentiful...The food everywhere is excellent. I highly recommend a ceviche and tequila diet and of course I would love to go back ...

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

I echo all of the sentiments of the reviews prior to ours and they were part of the reason why we booked a weeks stay at Casa Roca Caribe. We were not disappointed! Enough can't be said about the value of the rental and how hard Jimbo works to make sure you have everything you need. Towels and water are replaced before you even have to ask, but unlike a hotel, someone is not knocking on your door first thing in the morning to do it! My favorite thing was being able to spend every morning enjoying a cup of coffee on the patio watching the rising sun and ending the day by watching the moon rise. Not to mention the sounds of the waves as you fell asleep each night! One thing to note is that because of the steady breeze over the ocean, we did not have any mosquitos!!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole850479837
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2011

We arrived just hours before an unexpected tropical storm! The following 24 hours were adventuresome to say the least! Jimbo was kind enough to drive us to an EXCELLENT restaurant and grocery store to stock up on supplies since we were obviously going to be rained in for awhile. He even let us raid the other unit for leftover booze and cooking spices so we could settle in and let the storm pass. Beach combing after the storm was a blast and we couldn't get enough of the incredible ocean views. The casa was comfortable and felt like we were staying in a friend's beach house. Nice little touches like bincoulars, games, Ipod dock, CD collection, beach towels, books, cable TV and free phone - you use it as if you were in the US to make "local" calls to family if needed. Plenty of filtered water with back-up bottles. Pool was cool but too cold to use. The house was VERY clean and the neighborhood was charming in an authentic Mexican neighborhood kind of way. Taxi's ranged from 20 to 40 pesos (we never figured out why it was more or less going to the same destination). Having always stayed near Centro, it was a nice break to experience something a little different. Some awesome things we saw/did? neighbor in the height of the storm on the roof (with his dog of course) reconnecting wires - who knows if it was electricity or cable but it was riveting to watch. Big iguanas in the backyard eating tortillas we threw. Chickens next door eating tortillas we threw. gekos galore. A very sweet and homeless lab mix dog named Brownie who rolled in something horribly stinky and followed us for two blocks until we escaped into a taxi. Leo, Jimbo & Karen's dog who came to visit one night and was swaddled in a beach wrap like he was a baby and everyone took turns holding him. Will definitely come back and recommend to others to stay here. I think the value for the what we received was exceptional. You could easily pay 2x more for a place like this on the beach in Florida.

Room Tip: Downstairs has two bedrooms with king and/or king/twins in second room - great for family members be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cindy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
2.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,412 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
442 reviews
2 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Casa Ixchel
Casa Ixchel
#8 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
202 reviews
1.7 mi away
Casa Sirena Hotel
Casa Sirena Hotel
#2 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
867 reviews
2 mi away
Hotel La Joya
Hotel La Joya
#3 of 39 in Isla Mujeres
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Roca Caribe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Roca Caribe

Address: Emiliano Zapata Lote 6 Calle, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £74 - £146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly remodeled Casa Roca Caribe offers guests the opportunity to experience the charm of a very quiet Mexican colonia as well as unsurpassed views of the Caribbean. A 5 minute taxi ride brings you to downtown and the world class beaches. Local restaurants and a grocery store are a block or two away. The multi-hued turquoise colors of the matchless Caribbean await you on your back terrace when you enjoy your vacation at Casa Roca Caribe.The house can be rented as separate units: The Main Pool Level, the Upper Jacuzzi Level, or the entire house that includes both levels. Each level has it’s own separate, private entrance.The property is on a very quiet dead-end residential street just down from the Church of Guadalupe, a block from the world famous Mango Cafe and on the cliff overlooking the magnificent Caribbean.Each level has a fully equipped kitchen, comfortable living room, dining room and a large terrace with spectacular views. The Main Pool Level has 2 bedrooms, the large master bedroom with one with king bed and the guest room with optional 2 twin beds or 1 king bed plus an oversized bathroom. The Upper Jacuzzi Level has 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms, the large master bedroom with king bed and the guest room with optional 2 twin beds or 1 king bed.Casa Roca Caribe provides a relaxing and enjoyable vacation for up to 6 people per level. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing