We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spa-like experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa La Media Luna Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Our 5-day stay at Playa La Media Luna was a wonderful experience. The hotel is positioned on a beautiful, smaller, beach. It is conveniently located a walking distance from the main street, as well as the Playa Norte, yet private enough to enable its guests to enjoy a restful atmosphere. The rooms are upkept daily and very clean. Staff are very pleasant :) Breakfast offered was sufficient and fresh.
Overall, Playa La Media Luna is the place to stay if you are looking for comfort, beauty, and convenience. I hope to visit again soon!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank alma_dizdar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

253 - 259 of 465 reviews

Reviewed 10 January 2012

I just got back from 3 days fishing and 4 nights at the Media Luna Hotel. The hotel was very nice, exceptionally clean with an awesome ocean front setting. The staff was very friendly and courteous at all times. My family enjoyed their stay and the fishing on the Keen M which is operated by the same family as the hotel was "SPECTACULAR" .

Room Tip: the ocean view King Suite are a great value with an awesome setting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hjmfox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The Private terrace with jacuzzi was good & had a lovely view (sun loungers need replacing - uncomfortable) bottle of sparkling wine for NYE arrival was a nice touch but generally service wasn't good, staff were disinterested & breakfast was poor.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 190,267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

This is a great place to stay. We have been going to Isla for 10 years and this is truly a hidden gem. Their are options for every budget. The poolside is great during the day and we used it lots at night as well. The staff is extremely friendly and accomodating. Less than 5 mins walk to Hildalgo and very close if you prefer to sit on Playa Norte. The only slight drawback is that you can't really swim in the ocean here - you can cool down though. And the pool is nice to have as a backup! We are definately going to be back there soon. PS: we upgraded is the Jacuzzi suite and this was a real treat!!! Hot jacuzzi on the deck after the sun goes down - star gazing and watching the waves crash in...and the odd cruise liner! Very beautiful!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Josie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We just returned from Mexico after a week's stay at Media Luna Hotel on Isla Mujeres, and it was one of the best trips we've taken. The hotel is small, very clean and safe at night. We stayed in the jacuzzi room which was fairly large, with a seating area and a view of the pool and the ocean. The bed was comfortable and there was plenty of hot water. The jacuzzi is on the very large balcony– with lounge chairs and a hammock. If you are looking for a large resort with all the amenities... then this is not for you. However, if you are like us and want a small, authentic, nice hotel—then I highly recommend La Media Luna. The only not so great things were: shampoo and soap were weird, very windy as it's on the other side of the island, (may have just been the time of year) no restaurant but a happy hour bar at the pool, continental breakfast and coffee is not so good, and it may be a little too quiet for some. For us it didn't matter, it was perfect! I didn't want to go home.

Room Tip: Upper floor jacuzzi room. 11.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank native109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We have been to Isla three times and this hotel is our new favorite! It is small, family run, well appointed and beautifully situated!! Our room was a king/jacuzzi suite which was spacious with a very large balcony with a jacuzzi overlooking the ocean. Our room was on the second floor and we loved the "gang plank " walk to our room! There could not have been a more beautiful view. The room was lovely, the bathroom modern and it was all that we could have wished for. There was a decent sized refrigerator that we used for snacks from the grocery and the lobby on the second floor was quite nice for wi-fi, reading or to fill-up one's water bottles. The breakfast buffet in the morning was perfect for us -anyone who wants more than that is expecting alot for the very reasonable prices this hotel charges!! Hot coffee starting @ 5:30 a.m., in the buffet room, was also a nice feature! We loved the staff and the family who owns the hotel -they could not have been more accommodating! We are bringing our entire family back in November because of our pleasant experience! The location of the hotel is perfect -5 minute walk to the heart of Isla for the best restaurants, etc. This hotel feels more like a "bed and "breakfast" or "boutique" hotel than your "cookie cutter" large impersonal hotel. Absolutely LOVED it!!!!!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Faye R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

This is a lovely hotel to stay in, small and unique with wonderful views from any room over the ocean. We stayed from 22 - 26 December in a King room and it was a wonderful oasis away from the bustle of the Christmas tourists.

The beach is small. It's on the Carribean side where you are not allowed to swim due to the rocks/rough nature of the sea. But it is a wonderful view to wake up to each morning. The hotel is only a 5 minute walk to Playa Norte (North beach), you can actually walk onto the beach in front of the hotel and over the rocks and you are on the North beach in minutes. It is also a 5-10 minute slow walk to the restaurants/bars.

The hotel is value for money, cheaper than its neighbouring hotels. Our room was cleaned well every day, reception was always available to help with queries, free wifi in the lobby and some rooms, including the King room, received a continental breakfast every morning. While this was only toast, fruit and coffee, it was there if you wanted it. We could leave our luggage there on checkout until we were ready to leave.

The doors are locked between 10pm and 7am but we never had a problem coming in late at night.

The pool is lovely although freezing cold so only the brave could swim in it which was a shame. There are two cushioned beds and a handful of loungers around the pool (sufficient for the amount of guests there during the period we stayed). As other reviews have mentioned, there is a small pool bar but it is rarely open...I suspect its used more during the summer months. Our room had a fridge so it was easy for us to buy our own drinks from the supermarket and drink them.

We had the best time on Isla Mujeres - I strongly recommend the island and this hotel!

Room Tip: The King rooms are very spacious, a very large bed. Big balcony with table, 2 chairs and a hammock...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranyi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,445 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
464 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
770 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#15 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
462 reviews
2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.3 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,096 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa La Media Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa La Media Luna Hotel

Address: Smz 1 Seccion Rocas, Lotes 9 y 10, Punta Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £91 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa La Media Luna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa La Media Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing