We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Playa La Media Luna Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Lafayette, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Vacation”
Reviewed 14 April 2012

My husband and I stayed at this location for the 5th time. We love their little rocos rooms. They are around the corner from the main entrance, very quite and comfortable, if you want fantsy don't stay in these, stay in the main hotel. The people and service is wonderful, just wish we could have spoken better spanish to help the communication barrier a little better. If you don't mind walking or taking a cab to get around this a great place to stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cindy50325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

444 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    153
    189
    59
    23
    20
See reviews for
72
228
16
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hampden, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2012

Our second visit to Playa La media Luna Hotel was quite a surprise. Since our first visit in 2005 they added memory foam mattress toppers (in our standard room anyway). That is virtually unheard of in Mexico. Still a great location and value.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Spiney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

We stayed at Playa at the end of May and it was perfect with the cool Caribbean breezes. We had a ground level room that made it easy to access the pool or beach without the need to travel through the rest of the hotel. Since both the rooms and pool face the Caribbean, it was a great retreat to come and hang out after a hot day at North Beach or around town, which is about a 5-10 minute walk depending on which way you go. The room was nothing special, but with a place like Isla, who spends that much time in there anyways? The bathroom was nice and clean with a pretty good shower which helped when it came time to rinse out our swimsuits. It is close enough to town to walk for dinner or gelato, but far enough away that it's quiet any time of the day. It was a bit interesting finding it at first since it's behind the old convention center and around a winding, somewhat wooded path, but once you have it figured out it's no problem. The breakfast could have been a bit more authentic...we loved the wonderful mangoes and coffee, but the white bread w/ butter got a bit old. The staff was great and helpful when it came to getting back off the island and any other questions we had. We ordered the chips and salsa at the pool, which actually came from a restaurant off of North Beach, but it was so tasty and a perfect way to stay in on a day that was just too hot to venture out. Lots of options for sitting around the pool and a great view any time of the day!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skersley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

Exactly what we were looking for: quiet, small hotel, nice rooms, close to town but not too close, nice pool and awesome ocean views. Perfect getaway for reading a good book, eating well in town, and simply relaxing.

Room Tip: We stayed in the jacuzzi suite - spent a lot of time on the deck, tho not a lot in the tub as it too...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorGreg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Wonderful hotel & services! We recently had our wedding here & the whole experience was more than we could have ever hoped for! The hotel & services come highly recommended whatever the occasion (: We will definitely be coming back!!!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate00014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grapevine, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

We have been traveling to Isla for years. I have always wanted to stay at Media Luna. This time, the last part of our trip we stayed there. The hotel was and is.. awesome. They lock the doors at 10pm for security and you have a wrist band to get the guard to let you in. One small problem.. if you get your purse taken by the bandito's on a moped (as happened to us) or you just happen to lose your key.. The guard does not speak English, very little Spanish, can't read anything or even use the phone to call for help. After 2 hours of trying to get into our hotel, with the help of a student from the Hostel that spoke excellant Spanish, and then finally the policeman who dialed the phone for the gurard was someone finally contacted to let us into our room. The guard would only say come back tommorrow at 7am. He is Mayen and I guess that is a different language. Very frustrating. And management's comment the next day only sorry, we will fix the problem. Would have appreciated a little something for our major ordal. Anyway.. It is a lovely hotel.. Hopefully we are their first for this experience and they will fix it.

Room Tip: The rooms on 2nd level have a better view and a little less sand. We stayed in both. Prefer the uppe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank T b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince Albert, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Excellent hotel. Very quiet and relaxing. Close to central Isla Mujeres, but far enough so it is quiet. Beautiful beach close to hotel. Beds are extremely comfy and the rooms are very clean. Most guests seem to be Canadian or American. Staff are excellent. I would highly recommend this hotel to any one who wants a nice quiet getaway!

Room Tip: All rooms are great except for the rustic rooms. you get what you pay for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,340 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
714 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#8 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
401 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.2 mi away
Na Balam Beach Hotel
Na Balam Beach Hotel
#12 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
856 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#13 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa La Media Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa La Media Luna Hotel

Property: Playa La Media Luna Hotel
Address: Smz 1 Seccion Rocas, Lotes 9 y 10, Punta Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa La Media Luna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Playa La Media Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing