We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The rooms are OLD - good for the price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Playa La Media Luna Hotel
Ranked #6 of 40 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 May 2013

Stayed at this hotel last year. The rooms were very old. I'd recommend staying here for the price but don't expect too much.

The private beach was great. Don't expect to swim here though as there are a lot of rocks and coral and sharp things... The pool was great and was cleaned pretty well while we were there twice.

The AC units are very loud. Choose a room on the upper levels with a balcony. The breeze is nice. My friends were on the main floor and had a terrible AC unit.

The breakfast was terrible. I couldn't even drink the coffee.

The staff were acceptable. The guard on duty at night was sleeping all the time. Also, if you arrive later than 11pm the gate closes and you must show your ticket to get in. I like this but if the guard is sleeping then you just go around back and you get to the pool and into the hotel. hah... (I've heard of some trouble getting in late if you lost your ticket somewhere but we just bypassed the front door and never had any trouble.)

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are the best. Make sure your AC unit works before you accept the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JulieLongfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2013

The hotel lobby and pool areas are very nice and offer stunning views of the ocean. Pool is fairly clean. Bartender is not always available, but it wasn't a big deal for us this time. There was a nice little front porch, with a hammock, which I was not able to use, due to lack of time. Great views from the porch. Location was excellent, as the main street with bars and restaurants was only a 5 minute walk away.
The room however, left a lot to be desired. The shower floor could use some grout cleaner. The A/C was extremely noisy. It literally sounded like a small lawn mower and this was a HUGE issue for my wife who is a light sleeper. had to use the ceiling fan, but then the room would become humid. We had to raise the TV volume substantially, to overcome the A/C noise.
The breakfast included with the room was very underwhelming. Only offered coffee, juices and some fruit. We had to go out for breakfast each morning. As we approached the hotel, we saw a sign stating $35 / night. See picture. We paid about $102 per night. Would have been a fairer value at $50-60.
Internet only works in the lobby and it seemed slow.
We used Ciros gold carts with no issues.

Room Tip: We had room 1. Even though the views were nice, try another room if possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank pilozm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

great hotel for price, ocean view and great pool. Do not use ciros for golf cart, they will try the "scratch scam" on you. After returning the cart an employee starting pointing at scratches as if I had caused them. I remained firm that I had not caused them and utimately was not charged. They actually lost buisness as I would have used them two days later, instead I used coco's and they did not try the scam.

Room Tip: all standard and king have porch or balcony with ocean and pool view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 892hunter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2013

We love this boutique hotel on Isla Mujeres! It is right on the beach and is a great place for a great price. This hotel is tucked away down a quiet street but is still very close ( 5 minute walk) to the main streets with restaraunts and bars. Staff are very friendly and helpful when it comes to renting golf carts and making special arrangments for massages, tours etc. Great low key and relaxing vacation spot!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bariw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Rooms available vary significantly. We had a beautiful suite on one of the upper levels complete with small sitting room (futon) and chair. The balcony/patio is huge with two lounge chairs and a large jetted tub (takes a while to fill). View from balcony is beautiful, peace. Sunrises are very nice. Room was very clean. Simple breakfast with toast, cereal and fruits. Staff extremely helpful with recommending restaurants and activities. On a previous stay we had a regular room which has a nice balcony with hammock. Hotel is small and even when full doesn't fill crowded. Location is convenient to beach and main street. AC is loud, but we turned it off at night and open the door and listened to the ocean.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vouray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Perfect spot for someone like me who wants to be able to walk out to door to water and a great view; the well kept pool steps from most rooms is an added bonus. Simple rooms, AC a bit loud but ocean breeze negated need for its use all but one night. Breakfast basic but fine...healthy options like cereal and peanut butter for whole wheat toast. Good coffee. Front desk staff just OK, did not seem overly friendly or eager to give us tips or directions. Took us a day or two to figure out that drinks could be ordered from small bar, food from close by restaurant. There was a room robbery while we were there....that happens everywhere and after getting sloppy on recent trips we were took it as a wake up call, a reminder of the need to put all the important items in the safe immediately upon arrival. No reflection on hotel, just a wake up call. We would definitely stay there again because of the quiet location. This is a more adult spot, not a lot of kids in the pool, a very quiet vibe. Lots of European guests make for good conversations.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurousUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

We have stayed here for a couple of nights and enjoyed our own little veranda and the convenience of having a bar fridge was great as well. room was lovely and inviting. If I had to say anything it would be that maybe the air conditioner was way too noisy and the bathroom could do with a bit of a facelift around shower area in room 17... but nothing major... thoroughly enjoyed and would def come back. staff were great.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CindyAussie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.2 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#4 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,447 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
466 reviews
0.3 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#3 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rocamar
Hotel Rocamar
#16 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
464 reviews
2 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.3 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
3,102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa La Media Luna Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa La Media Luna Hotel

Address: Smz 1 Seccion Rocas, Lotes 9 y 10, Punta Norte, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range: £91 - £134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa La Media Luna Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Playa La Media Luna Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing