We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome Quiet Getaway with Hospitality to boot!”
Review of Bahia Tortuga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bahia Tortuga
Ranked #7 of 37 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
DALLAS
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Awesome Quiet Getaway with Hospitality to boot!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Bahia Tortuga's rooms are each individualistic in style, they are large with a very nice shower and sink. They are other amenities such as fridges and fans as well. There are shutters and curtains for ultra privacy and every room has a great view of the island from the front, or the pool and Marina on the back! There is a bar that is very popular and a full food menu, so you don't have to travel far if you don't feel like it! There are also a variety of live bands and sports coverage for special events. The owners are extremely nice and fun to be around which creates a great atmosphere all around, I will be returning here at some point on my next visit to the island!

Room Tip: All rooms have easy access and great views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JUANA C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga, responded to this review, 21 February 2012
Thank you for providing your feedback. We're happy you were pleased with your stay and we hope to see you again during your next trip to Isla.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    15
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
60
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
56 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Danny and Rhonda are gracious hosts, the hotel is nicely appointed, clean and the place to stay if you visit Isla Mujeres. A short ride to downtown Hildago. The bar has a large drink selection to make any vacationer happy. Bahia Tortuga had a band several evenings and beautiful views. The swimming pool is great as well as all the amenities. This is a must stay location.

Room Tip: All rooms open to the courtyard with views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N728PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

I have been coming to Isla for some time now and watched Bahia being built. Danny opened this year and the change from last year is amazing. It is clean and cozy, huge rooms all newly finish in beautiful Mexican tile with your own pool by the huge palappa with bar and kitchen. Stopped in and had a Philly steak cheese which was fair price, huge and delicious. Danny and Ronda the managers are accommodating warm and friendly. Beautiful sunsets right out the back yard. This is definitely a place to consider when visiting the island.

Room Tip: Rear room will give sunsets to view from your room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2012

Situated a short walk along the ocean from town, Bahia Torguga has just about everything I want:

• Clean, well-appointed rooms with a killer view;
• A beautiful hotel that's near just about everything on the island without feeling like you're stuck in the hustle and bustle of a hotel closer to town;
• Two of the most welcoming proprietors on the island, and;
• A fun-filled bar and restaurant situated a few feet away from the ocean.

We stayed at Bahia Tortuga over Christmas in 2011. The place embodies everything I love about Mexico. Danny and Rhonda, the proprietors, went out of their way to make us feel welcome.

A few travel tips:

• Be sure to head up to the rooftop deck to catch the sunset over Cancun (or if you're an early bird, the sunrise over the Caribbean ocean).

• JJ, the bartender, makes an excellent Golden Margarita.

• If you have a few hours (not really, but it is an interesting story), ask Danny or Rhonda about the trials and tribulations of building Bahia Tortuga.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jjustinwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My husband and I stayed here for our honey moon last year for 10 days. We just returned this month for another 12 days. We love the beautiful sunsets that you see from Bahia tortuga. It's very clean, great staff, and great location. We felt very welcome by the owners and cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KendraBlkbrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
winnipeg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 January 2012

My first visit to isla mujeres and wonderfull welcome by danny and rhonda.and staff.I was given a tour of the property.from the ground up., it was really well done.My room was very large and decorated beautifully.From the roof top you can see cancun and downtown..It is only a 20 pecos ride from hotel tortuga.to downtown.Danny offered me his vehicle to go where ever i wanted.There is a small pool to enjoy This hotel just opened up 10 days before i got there.and i loved being there.The staff,,JJ,AMILLIO,VICTOR and HEMMA were awesome.. There was live music playing and JJ birthday party.Everyone was having a fun time.at the newly built bar...I am looking forward to coming back here..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wayne b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altoona, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 January 2012

There was a large group (16) of us from Wisconsin vacationing on Isla Mujeres together over New Year's. A few of us stopped in for a drink to check it out and had a great time. (Have JJ make you Habanero margarita!!) Danny, Rhonda, and the rest of the staff were wonderful. We brought back all 16 of us the next night for a few more drinks. Looking forward to stopping back next year. Took a tour of the rooms and they are very nice. Great view of the island and Cancun from deck up top.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kreez-1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
1.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
1,319 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
703 reviews
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
2,105 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
167 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
Hotel Bahia Chac Chi
#10 of 37 in Isla Mujeres
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Tortuga

Property: Bahia Tortuga
Address: Av. Rueda Medina s/n | manzana 88, lote 11, Col Bahia, Isla Mujeres 77409, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique 5-room "boutique" hotel and marina with an on-site water-front Palapa Bar and Restaurant that offers exceptional food and thirst quenching drinks... Just a leisure walk down the boat anchorage to town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing