We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Second Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bahia Tortuga

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bahia Tortuga
Ranked #7 of 36 Isla Mujeres B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
East Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Second Honeymoon”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

Danny, Rhonda, JJ, Emaniuel and the rest of the Bahia Tortuga staff were great. We wanted a relaxing vacation/honeymoon and we got it. We stayed in room #5, on the top floor. Beside several opportunities to take in pristine sunrises and sunsets, the room has a large bathroom, comfy king-size bed and large sleeping area as well. There is great snorkeling a kayaks ride away from the hotel. The hotel it self is about a 10 to 15 minute walk from the ferry and the rest of the northern beach area. The food and drink were also excellent at the bar/restaurant. Went to some other places around the island to eat as well. Soggy Peso is right next door and they have excellent ribs on Sunday. Mango Cafe is further south on the island, but worth it. Olivia's is Mediterranean and is worth making a reservation at too. All in all, very relaxing, plenty stuff to do and see and make sure to listen to Danny and Rhonda's advice if your unsure about what to do and where to go.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    117
    15
    1
    0
    3
See reviews for
20
60
11
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pewaukee, Wisconsin
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

A last minute find, and pleasant surprise. Danny and Rhonda have done a great job getting this place up and running. (It is only a year old.) They and their staff work very hard to make to make your stay enjoyable. Nice central location, right on the water, with many amenities. Very clean and comfortable. All of the staff was great, and after a week, we felt like family. All of the staff are islanders and most speak English. Very good food and full bar service with reasonable prices. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maureen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
95 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2013

This is a gem amongst hidden treasures that I should not even be speaking about, although I am because the owners so deserve to be spoken about. If you are really wanting the Isla experience, this is where you need to stay, small, American owned, clean and what a bar to hang out in with pool! And the food is good!

Room Tip: Any room will do
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lettucecook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
edmonton,alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

The Bahia Tortuga is really Hotel California..... You check out but you never leave!!!!!
We were 2 50ish couples that spent the first week of Dec. at the Bahia Tortuga, From the minute we checked in Rhonda and Danny made us feel extremely welcome and comfortable!
The location is ideal! It is about a 15-29 minute walk to the downtown,north beach area.
We had the 2 poolside rooms and they were outstanding. Very clean and comfortable.
Can't say enough good things about the staff!!!! J.J,Emillio, and Alex do a great job at the bar,Freddie and Jorge keep things fresh and tasty in the kitchen with HUGE portions!Mario,the maintanance man goes above and beyond making sure your stay is special! The restaurant does not open til noon and Mario,who's wife works at a cafe down town, asked his wife to deliver breakfast to us and he set up a table and chairs on the end of the pier for us to enjoy breakfast over the bay!
Rhona,Danny,and Chippo also were there for anything else needed,from picking up and dropping off rental golf carts,Island information, anything at all!
We were lucky enough to have live music 3 nights that week. Lots of fun and Rhonda has pictures to prove it!!!
I could go on for pages on how great the Bahia Tortuga is,but as I said at the beginning,You check out but you never leave!!!!
Thanks to the entire staff for making our vacation SPECTACULAR!!!!
We will be back!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rictur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Middleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2013

We stumbled upon the Bahia late in our search for a hotel on Isla--but we really lucked out. Rhonda and Danny could not have been more accommodating while Emilio and JJ were outstanding behind the bar. Overall the staff was excellent--turn down service was great, food was great, people were great.

The location was good, a brief walk to downtown but only two doors down from the Soggy Peso--a fantastic compliment to the Bahia Tortuga. We swam off the pier multiple times, the water was great even in December. The one downside to the location was the fact the hotel is situation so close to the road. I liked to read by the pool in the morning and it was a distraction. However, after the day's activities get going (music, other guests) I never seemed to notice the road much at all.

The view from the roof is excellent as well.

Room Tip: Top floor is best
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pulvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

The place is a gem with real comfortable beds and both local and USA/EU ambience. A five minuite ride, from the Ultra Mar terminal, or practically anywhere on the island. Great for golf carts or cabs........if traveling light a short walk, Safe and fun!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
We are so happy you are back again and staying with us! We always enjoy you and your laughter! We are looking forward to your next stay with us in September!

Happy New Year!!!
Danny & Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

My buddy and I met proprietor Danny on the ferry over to Isla Mujeres from Cancun at the beginning of our long week on the island there at the end of this past summer (August, 2012). Danny invited over to the restaurant for a drink and when we came, we immediately decided to move our accommodations there for the rest of our vacation. The set up is just perfect with the very welcoming and comfy bar/restaurant, the beautiful pool, lovely rooms, a great location on the island and, above all, the warm, graciousness and professionalism of the owners and staff. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christophermurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhonda B, Owner at Bahia Tortuga, responded to this review, 27 December 2012
Wow, thanks so much for writing a review on your stay in August. We really appreciate you remembering us! And we are VERY pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at Bahia Tortuga! We hope you'll be back to see us soon!

Thanks again! Happy New Year!
Danny & Rhonda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.9 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
1.3 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,010 reviews
1.1 mi away
Nautibeach Condos
Nautibeach Condos
#1 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marina Paraiso
Marina Paraiso
#14 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
2.7 mi away
Casa de los Suenos
Casa de los Suenos
#6 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahia Tortuga? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahia Tortuga

Property: Bahia Tortuga
Address: Av. Rueda Medina s/n | manzana 88, lote 11, Col Bahia, Isla Mujeres 77409, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique 5-room "boutique" hotel and marina with an on-site water-front Palapa Bar and Restaurant that offers exceptional food and thirst quenching drinks... Just a leisure walk down the boat anchorage to town. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing