We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent dinner location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lola Valentina

Lola Valentina
Ranked #13 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$25
Cuisines: Mexican, Caribbean, Latin, Central American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: For food lovers looking for creative Mexican and Caribbean using local and the freshest of ingredients. This restaurant puts out some of the best plates on Isla Mujeres. We also have lots of vegan and gluten free options. Stop by and taste the difference everyday 8am-qpm & 5pm-10:30. Smiling faces await to serve you!
Stillwater, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent dinner location”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

Stopped for dinner last evening the food was delicious, the presentation was beautiful and the price reasonable. Also great breakfast menu. Worth checking it out.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jrwubs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,290 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    930
    224
    80
    33
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“May be the most sophisticated cuisine on Isla Mujeres”
Reviewed 26 November 2013 via mobile

We ate here last night, and the food was astonishingly good. We had the coconut shrimp and the stuffed red snapper, both served over rice prepared differently to compliment each dish. Portions are pretty small, which is good, in our opinion.

The special Margaritas were a mix of good fresh juices with unusual flavors served with so little alcohol as to be almost impossible to detect. Better to stick with the wines. But if you want a fine meal in a romantic setting on Hidalgo, this may be your best bet.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank savvy_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NJ, USA
Level Contributor
60 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Soooooooo Good!!!!!”
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Watermelon & Jalapeno margarita - DO NOT PASS THIS UP. You will definitely want more than one! Had the stuffed jalapeno peppers for an appetizer - it was amazing. It had some sort of marmalade spicy sauce... so good. As entrees, my wife an I got the coconut shrimp and the chicken tacos with peanut sauce. BEYOND AMAZING FOOD!!!! So good.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mitch V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

On Isla, we expect simple food, well-prepared. We don't expect innovative or imaginative cooking. Eating at Lola's has changed that perception. Guacamole with bacon, green apple and little balls of deep-fried goat cheese?! Sounds crazy but it sure worked. We both had shrimp dishes; one with a coconut-based sauce and some pineapple and chipotle, the other with garlic and a smoked chili and coconut salsa with jalapeno. Both were executed perfectly with the flavors balanced, the shrimp grilled just right. Lola herself was welcoming and charming and is obviously committed to her craft. It is a pleasure to see someone raising the standard of dining on Hidalgo. If you want something well beyond the usual fish filets, fish tacos, ceviches and enchiladas sold up and down the street, Lola's is the place for you.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria
Level Contributor
118 reviews
69 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“my favourite dinner on isla mujeres was here”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

I had the snapper stuffed with shrimp, two of my favourite things. It was done to perfection, and the presentation on a bed of rice was beautiful. The unusual margaritas were delicious and fun to try. The restaurant is open and airy, with a nice view of people strolling by. We had a great evening and I would go there again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jamuca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lola Valentina also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Lola Valentina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing