We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice view, nice people and excellent food. Even a (very) good price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Maria's Kan-Kin

Maria's Kan-Kin
Ranked #36 of 201 Restaurants in Isla Mujeres
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Drinks, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Antwerp, Belgium
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice view, nice people and excellent food. Even a (very) good price”
Reviewed 19 June 2014

This restaurant/people are great. Different plates then in the other places and still typical/special.
We were here alone but it didn't felt like this with the nice music on the background.

If there's something that could be better are the opening hours in the evening. It is allready closed at 8PM wich is to fast when you're dining i think.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FredericG1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    49
    22
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, Maryland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great People Great Food”
Reviewed 14 June 2014 via mobile

Sebastian wow. My parents, wife and two kids enjoyed your tremendous food. Your wife was a gracious host. We highly recommend this restaurant. If you are staying at the north end it's WORTH the taxi or golf cart ride. If your staying at the south end you are blessed. Every meal was perfect. Punta Sur's best restaurant. Best meal on the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Culinary Perfection on the Island!!!”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Let me start by saying the reviews we read previous to our visit were spot on! We visited on a Monday night and were greeted by a friendly waiter and lovely setting of an ocean view and an infinite pool surrounded by tropical foliage. We were seated at a quaint table with candlelight.

It had been a struggle on this trip to find a place with a decent glass of white wine that was actually served cold, the Sauvignon blanc did not disappoint this Texas girl!
We had the pleasure of meeting the Chef, Sebastian and he was delightful. We could hear him singing as he was preparing our meal, my SO (significant other) walked by the kitchen when going to the restroom and was impressed by how CLEAN the kitchen was!! It was obvious Sebastian takes pride in his culinary art! I ordered the catch of the day which was a cod fish, it was truly amazing accompanied by layered Au gratin potatoes artfully layered.

We topped this meal off with a chocolate mousse that was incredible!

We had the pleasure of also meeting Sebastian's wife whom was quite delightful, such a young couple that really seem to be passionate about their endeavor. She informed us they renewed their lease for another year so please go visit you WILL NOT be disappointed! We planned on dining there again this evening but our golf cart rental ended early.

Best,
Fans from Texas!

Helpful?
1 Thank Dionrene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A hidden paradise”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was like food out of a 5 star international restaurant. It was so well presented and with spectacular views whilst we eat.

Well worth making the effort to find this place. A definite hidden gem and was not very expensive, 455 pesos for red snapper main meal, catch of the day main meal, 2 beers and a Sprite. Back home this would have cost us at least double the price.

Look out for the sign on the right hand side, on the way to Garrafon in the south of the island.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank achin27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Support Sebastian!!”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Sebastian is the new chef from Argentina and he has tremendous talent!! The red snapper and the white fish my wife and I had we're amazing. The restaurant is secluded, romantic, and perfect for a quiet evening. Highly recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jtms33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Maria's Kan-Kin also viewed

Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 
Isla Mujeres, Quintana Roo
 

Been to Maria's Kan-Kin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing