We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“5th year and counting...”
other travellers have booked this property
entrance
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
entrance
sign terrace
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
13 reviews
entrance
sign
terrace
sun chair
passageway
passageway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Isla Mujeres, Yucatan Peninsula

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Very good - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
islablues
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“5th year and counting...”
Reviewed 15 March 2013 for a stay in February 2013
17
people found this review helpful

I've just returned home from my 5th stay at La Rinconada. I made it my home for 3 months this winter. It is located in a traditional Mexican Colonia which I much prefer rather than Centro. The owners, cousins Claudio and Fabio will make you feel right at home. The 5 apartments are spacious and well decorated and
the grounds have a garden-like feel. The rooftop palapa is well furnished with great views. Taxi fare to Centro was only 20P and there are a wide variety of restaurants and grocery stores within easy walking distance. Located just across the street is the East side of the Island and the view is spectacular. Highly recommended!

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
karenkaye
Isla Mujeres, Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 2 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013
13
people found this review helpful

We loved everything about our stay at La Rinconada. The building is owned and managed by two delightful gentlemen. Booking and pre-arrival communications are handled flawlessly by Fabio and everything on site is prepared for you and every need handled by his cousin, Claudio, who also operates a great little restaurant in El Centro called Q Bravo. It works very well! We loved our little apartment and were lucky to have wonderful neighbors with whom we shared our patio and meals and activities. We love the neighborhood which is dominated by locals and filled with fabulous and inexpensive food. The apartments are basic but clean and well maintained and we had everything we could have needed. We highly recommend La Rinconada!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: mattress --typical of most mexican mattresses, they are hard...but a good bed, if that makes sense!
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shelnsan
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Local flavor, but far from the swimmable beach and LOUD”
Reviewed 7 September 2012 for a stay in August 2012
22
people found this review helpful

We stayed at La Rinconada for a week in late August of 2012. While the apartment was big enough for the two of us and our 12 year old, there were several things we wish we knew before the booking. It is off the beaten path, in a residential neighborhood, so there aren’t that many tourists. But if you came for a beach vacation, it is not the greatest place to stay.

We decided to book the place primarily because of the positive comments from Trip Advisor. The price was more than affordable, and the great reviews made it seem very appealing. But –

It is not walkable. Anywhere. Think how hot Mexico in August can be! You can walk to Monchi’s (which serves great food, but is open only for dinner in low season, and not even every night), and to Mango Café (another great place to eat, highly recommended). From La Rinconada, the supermarket Chedraui is reachable by foot, but do you really want to carry the groceries for 10 minutes? We did it once. For everywhere else we needed a taxi, because the weather was not conducive to long walks.

Taxis cost 13 pesos (one dollar), but only if you are local. Fabio mentioned that price, and several unrelated locals confirmed. But every time we hailed a cab, they asked for 30-40 pesos. It is not about 3 dollars, but about the bad feeling of being ripped off just because you are a tourist. It was not always easy to find a cab, it was unpleasant to haggle, and the second day of our stay we decided to rent a golf cart for a week. So, when you are renting La Rinconada apartment, think that a golf cart will be a necessity, and add that cost to the rent. We could have stayed in Downtown, closer to Playa Norte, and not in the suburbs.

We came for a beach vacation, and it was annoying to drive back and forth daily, sometimes twice a day. The beach that is “close” to La Rinconada is not the nicest, swimmable beach, so we spent most of our time in town anyway, and came to La Rinconada to shower and sleep, and for an occasional mid-day siesta.

The neighborhood is very colorful, the locals are friendly, but you can experience that just driving once to Mango Café for the greatest fish tacos.

The balcony at the apartment was small and it wasn’t what we hoped for. It is right above the street, and the street noise is overwhelming: mopeds are farting loud and often, on the nights Monchi’s is open the music is loud until late, people are loud, dogs are barking, roosters are crowing at all times of the day… In short – it is NOT a peaceful and restful place.

The toilet tank was not working for the first several days, and we had to pour water from a pitcher into the tank every time we needed to flush. The shower pressure is week (rain drizzle) and the shower "cabin" is a hole in the floor with no curtain. You will do a lot of mopping.

We had ants, everywhere. In the bed, on the table, you name it. Claudio gave us bug spray, and that temporarily helped. There was also an occasional roach.

During our stay Fabio was away. Claudio was very nice, and we really don’t feel good trashing them. We just wish someone who stayed there before wrote all of this. Had we known what we know now, we would most definitely choose to have a peaceful beach vacation elsewhere instead of roughing it at La Rinconada.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The neighborhood restaurants (Mango and Monchi's)
Liked least: Distance from town center/beach, and the constant noise
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IL
Reviewed 2 August 2012 for a stay in November 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ontario, Canada
Reviewed 25 June 2012 for a stay in March 2012
3
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Illinois
Reviewed 10 April 2012 for a stay in February 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Older travelers Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Atlanta
Reviewed 9 April 2012 for a stay in November 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$65
/
Night
Week
Month
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing