We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overall the property is functional and suitable for the right people.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Playa Gaviota

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Isla Mujeres
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Playa Gaviota
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Overall the property is functional and suitable for the right people.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2011

My wife, 5 month old son, and I spent 10 days in the beach house at Playa Gaviota in January 2011. The house is right on a nice semi-private beach, it’s spacious, has a well equipped kitchen, and is adequately furnished with a dining room table, small sofa, chair, coffee table, a double and single bed both up in the loft bedroom, dresser. Roughly half of the windows have screens, there is local TV, and a small safe. The house is fairly clean but the cushions on the furniture feel dirty to the touch and most are ripped, stained, and/or have cigarette burns on at least one side. The shower has decent pressure and the house has its own hot water tank. The sink in the bathroom has only cold water as the cold line splits and serves both hot and cold taps. The grout and mortar decay throughout the house provided many cracks and gaps which harboured ant colonies, cockroaches, etc, and allowed mosquitoes and noseeums easy access. At certain times of day there would be ant trails going right through the living room. We killed a few cockroaches every day and woke up every morning to fresh mosquito and noseeum bites.

The beach gets great afternoon sun and beautiful sunset views over Cancun. There is also a freshwater shower outside in front of the beach house to cool off or rinse the salt water. However the water is very shallow and the bottom is mostly covered in sea grass. It’s not a great place for swimming and snorkelling.

My wife and I have travelled all over Mexico staying in all manner of hotel, apartment, or B&B. Playa Gaviota, despite its beautiful beach, will stand out as most poorly kept and buggiest property we have ever encountered. After 10 days we decided to go elsewhere and had no trouble finding better, cleaner, and cheaper accommodations on the island. Vicki at Lost Oasis was very professional and courteous, as always, and refunded the remainder of our scheduled stay. Jose Luis, the ‘Property Manager’ was very friendly, polite, and is moderately fluent in English. His son Vladimir is also very friendly, less fluent in English. Vladimir lives on the property. We rarely saw him but he did immediately bring us a fresh jug of water upon request. The maid was nice and did a decent job cleaning everything except the shower which she did not clean even once in our 10 day stay. We did get clean sheets and towels every day.

Overall the property is functional and suitable for the right people. It’s unlikely that we would ever return but with some improvements and the right management it could be quite nice.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rube99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    6
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
6
9
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2011

A group of sixteen Austin friends spent a week on Isla Mujeres from December 1st until the 8th recently. My wife and I had been to Isla 3 other times but most folks were on their first trip to this part of paradise. This was our first time staying on the south end away from downtown and we have stayed at Roca Mar in the 1980's and Posada del Mar two years ago.
Even after reading mixed reviews on Tripadvisor, we took our chances and the advice of one couple that got married a few years back at a property near Playa Gaviota and booked the whole complex for the week. We drew straws for room assignments and fairness (random) is the only way to go in this type of plan. We were lucky enough to get one of two beach front cottages with full kitchens in front of the bedroom.
I could see where folks that have never travelled in Mexico away from four star resorts can question the accomodations but if you have stayed with family in Merida or in a more mom and pop setting, you will tolerate little things to get the big picture. The picture here is the water. Your view, the palm trees, the sand, relax. We met Vladimir, the onsite manager and his father (whose name I am blanking on ) and they are great hosts. They are Islenos (which matters) and try very hard to make your stay comfortable. Demi takes care of the housekeeping duties and Cheyo keeps the outdoors looking great.
You will have to learn how to adjust the hot and cold water in the showers, it's actually easy by using what I thought was a spigot to fill a bucket in the shower but is actually the diverter. You get the temperature right while the water runs down on the tile and then turn the handle closed like you were shutting off a hose and voila, you have pressure and temperature. Some folks in the upper apartments (5 to 8) had issues with the water heater turning off when the pilot light blew out with the north wind but Vladimir got it back on track. A simple issue like that wouldn't happen at a four star resort but then you'll have the resort prices and rules.
I highly recommend this place if you are a seasoned traveler willing to live like the locals and have the beach all to yourself!

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pbrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2010

I rate Playa Gaviota as "excellent", since it was excellent for us. I've read all the reviews about this place before choosing it, and I must admit I was a bit worried at what I would find. But Playa Gaviota exceeded our expectations (which granted, were low!) and we had a perfect, peaceful, and beautiful family vacation there.

We were 7 adults and one baby (~2 yrs old), all part of a family. What we loved most is to spread mats and fabrics on the beach and lounge around all day, reading, relaxing, chatting, and making our own snacks and cocktails. For us -- this place was perfect. The beach is beautiful, although the water is full of seaweed and not nice to swim in. It was OK to dip in to cool off. However, we toured all the beaches on Isla Mujeres during the week of our stay and our beach was one of the most protected (it was very windy during that week). The beautiful north beach was too windy for us every time we ventured out there and we always ended up going back to our private beach and being much more happy there.

So yes, the beach is private. It is walled from both sides all the way down to the water, which takes away the wide open feeling of a big beach, but gives you tons of privacy. It is a white-sand beach sprinkled with coconut trees and plenty of beach chairs, a couple tables, and a couple hammocks. If just the seaweed was not there...

It is true that the owner is not often around, so getting help with any maintenance issues takes time. We stayed in beach units 1 and 2 (unit 2 is the best) and in apartment 3. The apartments are newer and in much better shape, but you can't beat being right at the beach, so we tolerated the crumbling doors and screens, ants, and older slightly run-down kitchen. The toilet broke once during our stay, and it took a day to be fixed. But overall -- the room is provided with everything you need, including filtered water and daily cleaning service (which changed sheets and towels too every day if you wanted!).

We walked to the super market north of there and got lots of groceries, filled up our fridge, and ate many meals right on the beach. The rooms come with a gas range, ,a refrigerator, a coffee maker (bring your own coffee filters! none to be found on the island), a toaster, and a blender, which got lots of use making fruit smoothies with rum. Like others have said in their reviews -- it all depends what you expect. We have traveled in Thailand and remote locations where we had huge bugs in our rooms, no towels, no hot water, and certainly no kitchen or cleaning service, so for us this place was luxury! We did not see any bugs except ants and a small gecko, and there are a couple big iguanas and two dogs that visit the the beach often.

We chose Playa Gaviota because we wanted to be right on the beach, and away from too much hassle and partying. I would recommend this place to any one who likes to stay in more rustic and simple places that give you all you need for a great price.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Israeli-winelover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrie
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2010

My husband and I, with our 6 month old daughter, rented the beach house in Playa Gaviota. We went with little to no expectations and were happy with our vacation. After reading some of the reviews on this site, I can imagine there would be few people who would feel the way we do about Playa Gaviota. No offense to those with high expectations, but if you want a North American vacation then go to the Holdiay Inn in Florida.
I'm not quite sure what people expect when they rent a beach house/room on an Island like Isla Mujeres. Of course it's dated, but for $75-$95 a night (maid service incl.) what do you expect? There were ants everywhere, this is true, but it's a tropical country! Again, what do you expect? It just makes me laugh to see what people complain about.

The beach was beautiful, well maintained, and very private. Every morning my beach chair was right where I left it. There were never more than 6 people on our beach at once. We brought our baby monitor and, while she napped, my husband and I relaxed just outside her window in the sun. It was a great place to bring a baby.

My only complaint would be that the ceiling started to crumble at one point all over the counter. My husband told the manager's son (who lives in the rental office), and he told us it would be fixed that day by the maintenance workers. Anyway, my husband ended up doing his best to fix it as the maintenance guys never showed up. We're pretty relaxed people and have travelled enough to know that getting all worked up about something like that defeats the whole point of being on vacation. The manager's son was actually pretty entertaining because he literally just fixes his car all day and hangs out with his friends. It wasn't anything that bothered us (except when our daughter tried to nap during some kind of muffler experiement taking place outside).
:)
I would definitely recommend this place to people who are tired of the all inclusives and want a change. Exploring the Island in a golf cart is an absolute must as is walking to La Bruja for some amazing mexian food. If you're picky and high maintenance, don't go to this hotel...you won't like it.

We loved it and will be returning next year!

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank IslaGrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montréal
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2010

We stayed twice at playa gaviota. The resort is a little tired and dated, as someone said before.

The appartments near the street are big with a kitchen and a private terrasse with a nice view. The cleaning lady comes every day except on sunday. Be careful though for the street noise specially on the third floor.

If you rent one on the beach, you will have people from the appartments come to sunbathe or read in front of your door. So there is no privacy.

Also the fridge in the big villa is very old and makes a big noise so you may be awaken during the night by this. Don't forget your insect repellent for night time ;-)

When we were there, the manager had allowed camping on the beach! as there are no facilities, we could ear people talking even at night time and they would wash there dishes or shower right in front of our door using the shower in the garden. You could also see them walk on the beach with there toilet paper ...

Be aware that you cannot swim at that beach, the water is full of seeweeds. You have to go to north beach by taxi which costs 45-50 pesos one way.

You can find better for the same money or even less on the island.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank FfromMtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2009

My spouse and I are well travelled and have experienced a large variety of Carribean accomodations so we are accustomed to 'unique accommodations' so this isn't just a rant from some inexperienced traveller.
We stayed there from Nov 1-12/09 while attending a friends wedding, and athough this resort was recommended by aquaintences, we were very disappointed with the accomodations, (we happended to be there during huricanne Ida Nov 5-8/09, so we experienced some of the worst weather conditions available over that weekend). Overall the resort is very tired and dated, it really needs a complete refurbishing expecially the beds and bedding (rock hard) worn out sheets and pillows. Our room had a kichenette, it was 'OK' but with just the minimum amount of equipment. We had to tell them to turn on the propane to cook and to heat the water for showering (you would think that would be done automatically when you check in, as we were the only guests at the resort at that time). The room had a bare minimum of towels, we received more upon request. The bathroom fixtures were extremely corroded, and there was always a faint septic smell from the drains. There was no dressers to store your clothing, no shelves in the bathroom just a large closet with not enough bent up hangers. The curtains were droopy, dated and water stained, the air conditioner worked via remote control however the batteries in the remote needed attention. We were on the top floor (of three) in room #5 the best view, our friends were beside us in room #6, the beach area was very nice, however due to weather conditions we didn't get a chance to really use it. We experienced alot of rainfall and wind during our stay and most of it came thru the door sill so our floors were wet most of the time. The cleaning lady (Demmi) was very good, very friendly and was appreciated greatly. I would not recommend this resort unless someone really liked 'rustic and dated'

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SammythePirate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Isla Mujeres hotels

Inland Northwest, Us
Level Contributor
254 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2009

The rooms are adequate, not really decorated but they are very clean and have air conditioning. The kitchen is well equipped. The only thing that would have been appreciated was screens on the windows and the sliding glass door to the patio - to keep bugs out and let the wonderful breezes in! The view from the patio is amazing - overlooking the tops of the trees to the beautiful waters seperating Isla Mujeres and Cancun. The apartments have a private beach with a fantastic view. While the water is clear and beautiful, it is shallow and not really deep enough for snorkeling. But it is a perfect location. Quiet, secluded and clean. A walk further south will take you to Garaffon Hotel, where you can snorkel all day for $4.00. Or you can walk one driverway further South to Garaffon Park and snorkel, swim with dolphins, take a zipline trip over the water for $50.00 a day -per person.
Walk a little further and you reach the temple ruins with a fantasic restaurant on the property. Lots of Iguana's sun themselves on the limestone cliffs near the ruins.
Outside the apartments, if you stand on the street for usually a just a minute or two, a red taxi will stop and take you to town. Or just a short walk North and will take you to the bus stop. Two amazing restaurants are just South of the apartments -Marie's and Casa O are located next to each other and are wonderful locations to watch the sunset and eat incredible food.

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildsongs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Isla Mujeres hotels
0.0 mi away
Francis Arlene Hotel
Francis Arlene Hotel
#28 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
Mia Reef Isla Mujeres
#7 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,941 reviews
0.0 mi away
Privilege Aluxes
Privilege Aluxes
#4 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Zoetry Villa Rolandi Isla Mujeres Cancun
0.0 mi away
Isla Mujeres Palace
Isla Mujeres Palace
#3 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,065 reviews
0.0 mi away
Ixchel Beach Hotel
Ixchel Beach Hotel
#5 of 38 in Isla Mujeres
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Gaviota? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Gaviota

Property: Playa Gaviota
Address: Carretera El Garrafon, Isla Mujeres 77400, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Isla Mujeres
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 39 Speciality Lodging in Isla Mujeres
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Playa Gaviota Hotel Isla Mujeres

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing